We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a family of worth, it was worth the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“For a family of worth, it was worth the price...”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

First of all, I have to say, we are not picky people...in fact, we love unique experiences - even if they aren't perfect - that make for special memories. At the time of our trip planning, the rates for a family of four to stay in a Dublin hotel were much higher than the price we paid for a Trinity dorm suite. Apparently, we got lucky with the location of our unit within the campus...we were in the historical section overlooking the tennis courts. Adding to the quirkiness of the experience was a three story hike up creaky wooden stairs with all of our bags. The room was definitely bare bones, but for us having a kitchen (no eating out every meal!) and three bedrooms (kid separation!) was priceless. Breakfast was also college style...average and lacking in atmosphere. A B&B this is not! The location within Dublin is excellent...we were able to walk everywhere that I had on our travel itinerary (with the exception of Europcar!). If you want a unique experience and you have kids that will appreciate the college experience, I would say this is worth trying out.

  • Liked — The location within Dublin
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingEXHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    198
    108
    39
    16
See reviews for
65
125
99
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

You're better off paying for a hotel as you don't get much for the price you pay. No TVs in rooms, no telephones - all you get really is a towel, soap and some tea-making facilities and the tea's not even good. Paying that much you'd at least expect a proper breakfast but all you get is a continental and have to pay extra for a fry. Room was a trek from front of college - not what i'd call campus and there were noisy building works going on next door. Don't know how students live here year-round as it's a completely shoddy place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bad value for money - should be €20 per night or less
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank honeynutloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The room I was staying in was a bit of a trek from the accommodation office and the main entrance. Would have prefered to stay on the historical campus as opposed to goldsmith hall. I had fun there though- the staff in the office were super friendly and helpful. One in particular, a guy named enda it think was really sweet- i just wanted to pick him up and put him in my pocket! I loved his northern accent too- Ireland is full of such interesting people! I'd reccommend staying here :)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lonely_traveller234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Welcome to Trinity College Student/Visitor accommodations-Goldsmith Division

For a small fare of 95 Euros a night you will be treated to a minuscule one bedroom dorm that has neither a bathroom, toilet, telephone, and any other amenities that one should expect of even the most modest of hotels. Notwithstanding, you will be located in a beautifully remote location of the college which is a twenty minute walk from the only entrance/exit to the city itself. The building is located on the second story of the Chemical research facility so that your air will be perfumed with a glorious industrial aroma. You will also have a spectacular view of the Dublin railway system which will more than likely run past your room several times every night. Moreover you have no need to fear a fire emergency, for as there is no access to an emergency phone, stairwell. However, in the event that a fire does occur, large glass windows have been provided so that you may conveniently leap to your death, witch will be most certain for you will be at least 3 stories above ground to a maximum of seven.

Remember, if you have any questions/complaints please feel free to ask the staff for assistance, they will be happy not to attend to your needs. This is because they are all full time students and have more important things to think about such as Midterms, Finals, and beer pong.

Thank you for choosing Trinity College

  • Liked — The fact that I could check-out
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJWILD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Shoddy effort; run by students I guess.
Even their booklet sends you to the wrong entrance door after hours.

There is no way to book a particular room--allocation on day only.
Lottery.
We arrived 11am and still ended up with a dark north facing ground floor room beside the main entrance door which banged shut. GOOD NIGHT & GOOD MORNING.

We forgot shampoo and there was none provided. Nice.

The only reason to stay here is because of the location; but if you end up in the 'bunker' you'll wonder if you were thinking clearly.

And then there's the price; 124 euro for a twin room (there are no doubles). Rip off Ireland in the Ivory tower too.

Romantic notions of 'college' life are shattered by this experience; perhaps therein lies the value.

  • Liked — location in city centre
  • Disliked — Ask me an easier one.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalwayEman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Unique, special, a fair value indeed. The students who work in the Housing Office went out of their way to help us with our luggage across the cobblestoned courtyard to our rooms, which were in an old structure, with its charms and its decrepitude. The charms outweighed the decrepitude, although it would be great to work on the mildewey smell in the bath. Beds were very comfortable, it was surprisingly quiet, and the location is absolutely fantastic. We had the two bed suite with one bath and a reception/kitchen combo overlooking the tennis courts. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mclib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Just the fact that you get to stay on the Trinity campus right in the center of Dublin makes it worth trying to get a room here during the summer.

The price is fair. I stayed in one of the single dorm rooms. The room itself was absolutely enormous with very high ceilings, a twin bed (you could fit a king!), a leather sofa, coffee table, desk, bookshelves, a non-working fireplace and a very large wardrobe. I did not get a room with a private bath, but had a sink and mirror inside the room.

My room was on the ground floor near the front door, so that made it much noisier as you could hear the front door slamming shut at all hours and the cleaning staff comes in pretty early. Earplugs worked well so I didn't bother asking to switch rooms to something upstairs. Also, ground floor rooms can pose a security problem - windows in my room did not lock and it'd be pretty easy to climb inside to steal something. I kept my belongings locked in the wardrobe at all times.

Wish I had paid extra to get a room with a private bath. The toilets and showers were 2 flights up from ground floor. Actually, only 1 shower and 1 bathtub to be shared by all rooms in my dorm building (approx. 12 rooms), so get up early to avoid waiting for shower. Shower is pretty gross, so bring cheap plastic sandals.

I also did not pay extra to get the hot breakfast, but the continental breakfast included in the rate is more than enough food to get you through the day.

They have one on-campus laundry center which was pretty far from my dorm and kind of a pain because the Front Desk requires you leave your room key with them to get an entry card into the laundry room. They also didn't have change for the machines - so go to Spar Market across the street and they'll give you coins.

Internet cafe and airport bus stop are only 2 blocks away.

All in all, it is a beautiful, historic campus and the location cannot be beat as you can walk just about everywhere

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Computer Room with Internet would be nice for travelers.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank GoneTravelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
1,024 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
571 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Property: Trinity College Campus
Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing