We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location, can be very noisy at times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location, can be very noisy at times”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We got this hotel on Priceline for $145 a night. The hotel is located very centrally, and especially close to the main shopping area. Because we booked the room on Priceline we were given a very small room, facing the back and above the kitchen. When we opened the windows to our room we could smell the kitchen fumes. The airconditioning/heating system was broken (it was way too hot in the room) in the room. They sent someone to fix it though. At night we realized that our room was also right above the party room. There was a wedding party going on which made it impossible to sleep. We complained a few times about the noise and were given a free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast room was really great.
This is a very trendy yet classy hotel. I think we got a bit unlucky with our room, and given that it was Valentines Day weekend the hotel was at full capacity. It would definitely return, but not with a Priceline reservation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfoxy82207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,405
    692
    314
    129
    64
See reviews for
734
1,588
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The Shelbourne is very well located in the centre of Dublin, ideal for a quick holiday. The bars, whilst busy had excellent service and the lounge was very welcoming with a roaring fire and comfortable chairs. Service throughout was extremely professional, with staff showing a high degree of care.
We stayed in a smaller back room, but the price at around 100 euors was fine for two and gave us access to everthing the hotel has to offer.
A true 5 star plus hotel.

I will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmurphAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

On arrival we were well looked after with valet parking and the reception lady was lovely, she looked middle eastern and could not have been nicer.
I have stayed in other 5 stars and I was disappointed that the horse shoe bar was closed on a Monday night, I was so looking forward to seeing this famous bar but unfortunately not on this occasion.
Breakfast in the saddle room was beautiful, we were seated by a nice lady and ordered coffee but we were not offered toast and there was no sight of butter anywhere. The staff were nice but could have explained to us the layout better.
The room was "Cosy" but I liked it compared to the big cold feel of The Four Seasons rooms, however if I was been pickey the air-conditioning unit needs a bit of a clean, not bad but would not be accepted in 5 star circles
I know this might sound crazy but the windows are something that I can only assume you would find in a Run down hospital. It was a lovely stay and the hotel has a lot going for it. I maybe a little harsh but I was really looking forward to the horse shoe bar. Overall very good will be back !

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Went for NYE and both the location and the staff were excellent! It is within a couple of blocks walking distance to all the key shopping centers and city center. One night we were craving Chinese, but there were no delivery locations. The bellman brought us menus and offered to go pick it up himself so we could still lounge in our pjs! The staff also booked a car for us in order to explore further south. They had the car delivered to the hotel and picked up from the agency from the hotel. Service was above and beyond in every regard.

Rooms are ample sized with American standards (two queen beds!) and American plugs on the desk. Bathrooms are marble with full tub and shower, but with the toasty European towel racks. The lounge is a bit difficult to find but comfortable once there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MphsQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I have to say for all the staff and grand rooms this hotel let's itself down on the staff whether they are badly trained or just plain lazy I can understand it. Sat I. The lord mayor lounge for 25 mins without a single person taking our order. Not a single tray used and got to the point where we just left. I'm off to the Merrion where they treat guests like guests. Never coming back

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublinstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Outstanding service. Exceptional staff. HUGE bathrooms and very comfortable beds. You don't have to leave the hotel to enjoy yourself. The bars were a wonderful place to spend time. The staff at this hotel is beyond compare. Saddleback food was excellent too!

Only one complaint, the heat. It runs non stop, we had to run A/C in the room AND open the windows. It's suffocating in the communal areas of the hotel. Turn down the heat. It's uncomfortable in the Saddleback restaurant, you feel you're being cooked alive :(

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ditzzeechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Our trip began at this hotel. We chose it with the help of our travel agent Kathi Sheridan from Altour International (a Conde Nast specialist for Ireland). We had a choice between this hotel and the Merrion but we chose the Shelbourne. We were extremely happy with the hotel service, breakfasts (more smoked salmon than I ever ate), the room, and especially the concierge. The location was great and we had the special treat of having Tony Blair stay on our floor during his aborted book tour. Got hassled by his secret service at first on the way past his "area" but made friends in the end. My wife and I would highly recommend this hotel as your base in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing