We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Shelbourne is a lively and elegant hotel close to the heart of Dublin.

It is clean with excellent staff, in walking distance from the city centre, from the sports stadiums and from the new concert hall and canal quay.

The rooms are clean and very pleasant but for the price paid - it would have been nice to get free wifi. Can't have everything I suppose!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colonelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,389 - 3,395 of 3,823 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

We recently stayed at the Renaissance for a family vacation. The location is fabulous. We felt very comfortable walking in the area at all times of the day and it was close to many amenities. We were upgraded to the Heritage premium rooms with access to the Heritage Lounge. I would not suggest that paying for the lounge access was beneficial unless you needed a quiet place with internet access. The room size was fabulous and the beds were very comfortable. We overlooked a roof so no view but very quiet! The bar and food prices were very expensive but that was expected. We only had 1 drink here because of the prices. If you can get a fair price for the hotel, I highly recommend this location. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Lovely hotel in a great location for bars shops etc ..... bedrooms ok beds so comfortable... wish that there was a Spa there ....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergusKillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Spent one night at the Shelbourne as part of the Royal Irish tour group. This is a beautiful hotel with the most comfortable beds in Europe. Unfortunately there was a mix-up with our names and room number which resulted in the hotel staff neglecting to give us our wake-up call. This was the worst morning to miss the wake-up call, as we were flying home that morning. I discussed the issue with the desk clerk in the morning. She appeared quite upset--I don't think they are used to handling complaints. She apologized and I forgive them, as the rest of our all-too-brief stay was above average.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We went here for our "baby moon". We used that as our excuse! But what a hotel, luxury def a 5 star. Location was good not far to walk to shops and lots of restaurants. We were in room only basis so cant comment on the food. Service on the front desk was excellant and great tips on where to visit. Paking valet was very efficient and didnt have to wait long for car. Have been in Dublin a number of times but this has been the most luxurious hotel we have stayed in.
If I was to pick out any negative points it would be they have no spa or beauty salon, but i did go to a nearby hotel for my massage!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAddictBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in the Shelbourne on a Saturday night. The hotel is beautiful and luxurious. We had a room in the Heritage wing which was lovely and had a large bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The service was excellent from check in to check out and all staff were friendly and courteous.
The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of everything.
We had the buffet breakfast which was included in the room rate, however I wouldnt pay extra for it as it was just ok, the hot food was just lukewarm and for the 29 euro each cost should have been better. I would definately stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellbelfast_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I felt compelled to write a review of the consistent poor service in the Shelbourne bar. Given the ridiculous prices charged, you'd hope the Shelbourne would, at very least, have a high standard of service.
They are slow, rude and inconsistent - it's really not good enough in these days!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_cairnduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $273 - $1,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing