We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,146)
Filter reviews
4,146 results
Traveler rating
2,797
773
354
148
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,797
773
354
148
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roombeautiful hotelfive star hotelst stephensmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetrinity collegetemple barmarriottconciergeirelanddoormanluxuryslippers
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 4,146 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2017

From our arrival to departure this was a highly enjoyable stay.
The hotel is beautiful and the room we had was perfect.
Its extremely comfortable and well looked after.
Breakfast is excellent and very good quality.
Afternoon tea is a real treat and was really nice.
I have to specifically mention a Manager called David Murphy who acted above and beyond the call of duty with regard to a housekeeping issue we had. He was extremely helpful and very understanding.
To stay in the Shelbourne is an experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnire01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aidan_Dempsey, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Dear johnire01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Shelbourne Hotel with the Tripadvisor community.

I am delighted you had such a wonderful experience here at the hotel.

Our warm, friendly associates are one of the things we pride ourselves on here at the hotel so I am pleased your experience was reflective of this.

I will be sure to pass on your very kind feedback to David and the entire team here.

Kind Regards,
Aidan Dempsey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2017

The Shelbourne Hotel, founded in 1824, is a Dublin institution located opposite to St Stephen's Green and a stone’s throw from Grafton Street. It is steeped in history and is the premier city centre hotel. During the 1916 rising against British occupation the hotel was occupied by British to counter the Irish Citizen Army and Volunteer forces, some of whom had taken up positions in St Stephen's Green. The hotel is very popular for meetings, weddings and other celebrations and is well equipped with classically-designed meeting rooms. Our bedroom was tiny but elegantly appointed with comfortable bed and deluxe amenities. However, beware of the expense - afternoon tea may cost over €40 for snacks and the evening meal tastes great but is rather high. The Horseshoe Bar is part of the Dublin social scene; great for a night cap. The no. 27 bar is famous for its cocktails - the no. 27 signature drink is recommended.

Room Tip: Perhaps have dinner in nearby restaurant, to save cash
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aidan_Dempsey, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel.

It is wonderful to read you had such an enjoyable stay and you were able to enjoy the rich history the hotel enjoys and which we are so proud of.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Aidan Dempsey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

We stayed in the Shelbourne last night & were not disappointed with our lovely room - we were upgraded to one of the heritage rooms on the 6th floor which looked out on Kildare St - it was very spacious - spotless and had lovely little touches.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and we enjoyed drinking cocktails in the Horse Shoe Bar before dining in a restaurant close by called Hugo's - that was great too !
On our return we had another drink in the room reserved for residents while enjoying the Christmas decorations and Christmas tree.

Breakfast was busy and we initially were seated quite far away from the buffet but were moved closer to it when a table became free. My husband enjoyed a little bit of whiskey on his porridge. There is a good choice of lots of fresh fruit and hot food and pastries / cold meats / smoked salmon and cheese. One thing I could not locate was natural yogurt but maybe I just missed it.

It's always a treat to stay in the Shelbourne especially at Christmas time.
We walked in St. Stephens' Green before our breakfast and enjoyed watching the ducks slip and slide on the frozen water.

We will be back. Happy Christmas to all the wonderful staff !

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LovesTennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aidan_Dempsey, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Dear LovesTennis,

Thank you for sharing your experience in this platform. I am delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations during your last stay with us as one of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of service.

The entire team will be thrilled to know that their efforts have provided you a pleasant and outstanding stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Aidan Dempsey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Arrived on Sat for an overnight stay to attend Trinity College Dublin Open Day .Its the best address in Ireland and it is worthy .Great Staff, Huge Buzz in the Hotel Fabulous Food and our Suite was 7star congratulations to all will be back soon

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aidan_Dempsey, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Dear Patrick B,

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. At The Shelbourne Hotel we take pride in providing excellent and outstanding service, and it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding your experience with us.

I will certainly make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team. In the meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Aidan Dempsey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

We stay in the shelbourne every
Christmas & this year one again our stay was spectacular
Location is fantastic. The ease of pulling up outside the door & not seeing car until departing Sunday at door for us again. 2 minute walk to Grafton Street.
The atmosphere in the hotel is unique. Great buzz. Staff very happy
& attentive
We only ate breakfast in the hotel as was out most of the time. Breakfast was excellent. Be prepared for a delay if you like us took advantage of a lie in & last minute arrived for breakfast. We had to wait 10 minutes for a table but coffee was served so not a problem

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aidan_Dempsey, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Dear Eileen F,

Thank you for sharing your experience in this platform. I am delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations during your last stay with us as one of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of service.

The entire team will be thrilled to know that their efforts have provided you a pleasant and outstanding stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Aidan Dempsey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews