We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Comfortable Bed in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Shelbourne Hotel is a beautiful building in an excellent location right across from the beautiful park, St. Stephen's Green. Breakfast was not included in our rate and after seeing the cost, which was 21 euro for the cold buffet and 29 euro for the full buffet, we opted to walk just down the street to the St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre where we had a wonderful breakfast at Kylemore on the 2nd floor overlooking the park at a great price (around 10 to 15 Euro for 2 people depending on your selection). We could walk to the Temple Bar area in about 15 to 20 minutes and Grafton Street is right around the corner. We traveled in Ireland for 15 days staying in 9 different places and I do have to say that the bed in the Shelbourne was absolutely the most comfortable in all of Ireland. I would without a doubt stay here again. To sum it up....Great Location, Great Historic Building, and WONDERFUL BED!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,703)
There are newer reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,416 - 3,422 of 3,704 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2009

Excellent stay at this great hotel. Staff friendly and efficient, lovely rooms and great location. Evening meal and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed for four nights using Marriott (platinum) points. We have to guess at value, since we didn't pay. The room was small and looked out only on the side of another building. The hotel itself could use a little sprucing up, e.g. the hall carpets on our floor. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We had a super breakfast buffet in the dining room during the week--thanks to the Platinum level--the executive lounge was closed on the weekend. The hotel's location is convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed here for 2 night and it was great! The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to everything, it is beautiful and the staff was wonderful. The bar is a lot of fun at night, as well.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katcough77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

My family has been staying at the Shelbourne for many years. We knew the doormen and requested favorite rooms. The hotel closed for two years after Marriott bought it and did massive renovations to the 185 year old hotel. While we preferred the hotel in it's older version, it is still lovely. We have been upgraded upon both of our two recent stays. I can not have gluten and they have accommodated me wonderfully. They even have a gluten free high tea with cupcakes and all! The price is dear; but you will understand why Yeats, Joyce, DeValera, and Michael Collins preferred to stay and do their work at the Shelbourne. It is truly inspiring.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bouldertodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I stayed for 5 nights and this is a very beautiful and historic hotel. The rooms are a tad small but lovingly redone. The service is great and the bar downstairs is very charming and buzzing. No free internet in the rooms which was too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWTTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed at the Shelbourne this week and had an excellent experience. Our upgraded Hertiage wing room was ready for early check-in at 8:30am on Saturday after our early AM arrival from the states. The service was top notch, with turn down and chocolates nightly. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was incredibly spacious. The Heritage lounge was also beautiful; however, the opening hours and appetizer and beverage choices left a lot to be desired. Still can't complain though, since the rate we paid was less than other area hotels that didn't even have such a lounge. All and all a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $283 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing