We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Drawer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top Drawer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here last time for family occasion. Always a treat and your always made feel like your as important as some of the celebs who may frequent this establishment.This Hotel is a blueprint for any establishment. "Treat all your Guests as Royalty."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
It was a pleasure to look after you and your family on your recent stay. At The Shelbourne Hotel we strive to make each of our guests feel special, I am delighted to hear that you felt this. On your next visit to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact myself or any of the Guest Relations Team as it would be our pleasure to look after you and your family again.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    673
    300
    126
    63
See reviews for
699
1,535
109
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here 17 years ago and it's still a pleasure. We had a lovely room and the service was excellent on the whole. Dinners in the restaurant were very good, although we missed the opulence of the old dining room. Staff are invariably pleasant. Location is very important and the hotel is situated on the lovely St Stephen's Green and a short walk from most of the places you would want to visit. Only caveat I have is that it is too obviously determined to cultivate an American approach to everything - I do not expect to have to ask for a translation when making a choice of the way I like my eggs cooked at breakfast ! Ireland should be proud of its own heritage and not be so keen to offer visitors from the US a 'home from home'.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was delighted to read of how our central location really benefitted you during your stay. After 17 years it is great to hear that we can still create an enjoyable stay for you. At The Shelbourne we are always striving to improve, we appreciate feedback and utilise it all the time.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband brought me here for the night as a birthday surprise. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was just lovely. The hotel was spotless, warm and very welcoming. The breakfast delicious and overall we had a really nice time. Obviously the location is just superb on many levels. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday surprise and that our hotel had the opportunity to add to your special occasion. We strive to provide each guest with a warm welcome and I am happy that you felt this at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Superb location right on St Stephen's Green in the centre of the city. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, beautiful bars and public areas - especially the Horseshoe! Our room was extremely luxurious and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and the selection very wide. Love this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qatargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
I was delighted to read of your enjoyable stay. We are very lucky with our location and I am happy that this added to your experience. Our staff will be pleased to know that they also played a role in creating a memorable stay for you.
On your next visit to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be a pleasure to assist you with your next reservation.
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here for a night in Dublin, really nice hotel.RIght in the center of everything,take a right and your beside the grafton street,Dawson street,Kildare street all the tourist sightseeing venues before your eyes.Across the road is st Stephens green beautiful park in the heart of dublin full of people just walking around,having lunch or just lying down and relaxing, really beautiful.Take a left your beside merrion st, big museum here, or just wall to baggot st,alot of nice bars here. The hotel itself was really nice the room was spacious, the view wasn't great, but it was really busy there at the time there was some horse show event on.THe staff were very polite and professional,the bar downstairs was amazing and full of all types of people, great vibe in it.The best part was breakfast the next morning, the buffet was amazing,full Irish breakfast, fresh squeezed juice, omelette made to order, different breads, fresh fruit, teas coffee, everything you could want.A wonderful experience and would recommend the shelbourne to anyone staying in dublin.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.
It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments about your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed everything, and that you found breakfast to be such a treat.
On your next visit to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact me directly as it would be a pleasure to assist you with your next reservation.
Best Wishes,
Yasmin Bergin
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you book through one of the websites that offer special discount deals you are in for a shock.
Special discount equates to poor accommodation.
The room was at the very back of the hotel,tired worn look and a night time surprise of some friendly bed bugs.
At breakfast we were shown to a back room even though there were tables near the front close to the self service breakfast,I was told these tables were reserved for tourists from the USA.
Breakfast was of poor standard with the self service in a very confined space
Save your money and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OlderandWiser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read of some of the experiences detailed in your review.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly to further investigate some of the issues raised. If you could please provide me with your reservation and stay details, that would be much appreciated.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Marriott points.

The hotel is quite beautiful and blends the new with the historical features of the hotel. When I arrived at the hotel, the hotel staff assisted me with my bags and escorted me to the check-in area. The woman who assisted me with check-in was less than friendly and acted as if I were interrupting her. I authorized my credit card for room charges and received confirmation. I was given my room key and two complimentary beverage coupons, and then attempted to go to my room.

When I opened my room door, the room was in disarray; it was quite clear that this room was undergoing renovations. The furniture was pushed into the center of the room, the lighting was disassembled and paint buckets were everywhere.

On my way to the hotel lobby, a hotel staff person found me and apologized for the mistake and took me to my new room. After seeing the earlier room, it was quite clear that I had been upgraded (I'm not sure if it was because of my Marriott Elite Rewards status or because of the mistake; either way, I was appreciative).

The hotel room was beautiful and comfortable; my only complaint was that the mini-fridge was not usable for anything other than the pre-stocked items.

There is no executive lounge at this hotel for Marriott Elite Rewards guests so I went to the bar to use my free beverage coupons; when I tried to pay the tab, I was informed that there was no credit card on file and I was not authorized to charge to my room. This was quite embarrassing and frustrating since I had authorized my card earlier in the trip. I had to leave my traveling partner at the bar while I went to the reception desk to present my credit card for the second time.

As a Marriott Elite Rewards guest, breakfast was included with my room. Breakfast was very nice and offered a variety of options. To note - this is not a casual breakfast environment. I felt out of place without a collared shirt. In general, I did not feel comfortable lounging in the hotel lobby or bars in casual clothing.

I made use of the fitness center and it was impressive. There were actually three rooms, each offering different types of equipment. Of all the people I encountered at the hotel, the fitness center staff was the friendliest and most helpful.

Overall, I don't know that I would stay here again. I think I would have preferred to stay in a less "luxurious" hotel where I would have felt more comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the park (St. Stephen's Green) have the best views, although I'm almost cert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCSuburbsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and is an excellent tool for us to learn about our guests, and to continually provide a service and stay that you will always remember.

I would invite you to contact me directly with your reservation details, to enable me to investigate fully some of the areas brought to my attention.

I can assure you that the matters raised have been discussed with the relevant managers to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

It was pleased to read your comments regarding the Health Club and the team that looked after you. The team will be delighted to read of your experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I will look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Best Regards

Sophie Hird
Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Marriott, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing