We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in city centre”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Shelbourne hotel in Dublin and what a treat it was. The service is outstanding, each member of staff being professional and polite. The rooms are beautifully appointed with soft colours ensuring a relaxing environment. The bathroom is a little small with the shower intergrated into the bath. The spa was wonderful, with a beautiful relaxation room overlooking St Stephens Green. We enjoyed the pool faciities also. There is a great variety of places within the hotel to relax and have a drink. The Lord Mayors lounge serves a great supper and is a really nice experience. Breakfast was excellent with wonderful choice, even the porridge is available with milk or water. A truly enjoyable experience. We will certainly return to this great landmark hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially appreciated the service provided.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    676
    304
    128
    63
See reviews for
711
1,551
113
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Really beautiful and historic hotel in the city centre. Check in and out was fast and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool is a lovely oasis in the city centre and was very quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed a couples massage in the spa, I would totally recommend the spa as it was so relaxing and a great end to our stay. The room itself was pretty small but it had everything we needed.It felt very small as myself and my husband were getting ready to attend a wedding and we both kept getting in each others way. We stayed in a standard double room which over looked a court yard area. Breakfast was included and had something for everyone!

Room Tip: Some standard doubles are quiet small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtravelled09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially enjoyed the Spa. I would recommend that you try our Heritage class rooms on your next stay.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip and I hope that you both enjoyed the wedding. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked this for a special lady to mark her 70th. The room was elegant and beautiful. The girl looking after us was very inexperienced and it made us nervous. She handled our cups without using the handle etc. She had as much grace as shrek! My tea was cold, thought it was too much milk, poured more but still cold, my two companions sent their coffee back for same reason. Disappointing all round. Lady playing the piano was a nice touch. Then to depart they gave us a box in a bag with unused scones/desserts. When we got home they had all mixed together. Very annoying. It's the little things that make a place stand out. This lacked the finesse of a 5 star hotel. Would recommend westbury for a better afternoon tea experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in The Lord Mayors Lounge. I was disappointed to read of this. I would ask that you contact the Manager in charge so that we can investigate this in depth. Please email Ivan King at Ivan.king@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on this trip. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed in Shelbourne recently for my granddaughters 16th birthday, from the moment we arrived it was a first class experience. Check in was quick and efficient while still being friendly. The glass of homemade lemonade was a nice touch? the bar staff were excellent as was the food. the rooms were bright and spacious with fantastic views of stephen's green? Breakfast was all you would expect of a Marriott, again served by friendly efficient staff. my only regret is that we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities...next time hopefully. the bathroom was huge and had everything including separate shower and bath tub. Beds very comfortable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesolodublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I was especially enamoured to see you enjoyed the Health Club and the spacious rooms.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Shelbourne for the third time in March and it was a great experience. The Oyster Bar is superb the Lounge relaxing with great service and the Saddle Room excellent fare (albeit the door attendants a little unfriendly). The Spa was very restful although the massages need to be firmer. Overall a good place for a weary traveller.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tpy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted to read that this was your third stay with us to the hotel. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed our Oyster Bar and Saddle Room Restaurant during your time with us. Likewise we welcome your feedback, and it has also been highlighted to our Spa Manager for future guests in our Spa enjoying a treatment.

The team and are are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne. It would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everything a tourist could want within the hotel or walking distance. It's in a safe area and the staff was helpful and professional. It's no cheap but so worth it if you want a nice place to stay. This was a girls weekend and the spa was nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I was delighted to read the excellent comments about our team and that you enjoyed our Health Club and Spa facilities.

I would be my pleasure to personally take care of any future reservations for you. Please feel free to contact me directly. The team and I will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Really nice restaurant and bar. Room was great with comfy bed. Room service was really efficient. Location is excellent for wandering the city. Staff was very helpful. Great place to stay and to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel.

I am delighted pass to the whole team your great feedback. I hope that next time you are in Dublin for a vacation we will be your first choice of hotel Please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards
Sophie Hird, Guest Relations Executive
rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,797 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing