We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The general atmosphere is this hotel is stately elegance. The entrance lobby is shouldered by three restaurant choices, and all have good food. The rooms are on the small side, but what you would expect in an older, centrally located, building. The best part of this hotel is the location. All of the main sites in Dublin are well within walking distance. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank rocky-mtn-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your stay and for taking the time to do so. It was our pleasure to host you on your recent trip to Dublin. I am delighted that you enjoyed the location and the proximity to the main sites in Dublin.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne hotel, Dublin’s Most distinguished address. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 3,904 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay for a week at the Shelbourne Dublin. The service was amazing and the rooms were a little small compared to US standards, but they were very posh and comfortable. The lobby area was beautiful. The gym and pool were really nice too. The location is very convenient. The concierge was very helpful and room service was awesome. I really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. I can't find a thing to say that would have made our stay better!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel, I was glad to read of your experience and that you had thoroughly enjoyed it. Our team of associates will be delighted to read your kind words.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

About an hour before we checked out of the Shelbourne we received an e-mail asking us to review it. There weren't hours enough left in the day. Now, a week later, I have time for - to paraphrase Wordsworth - frustration recollected in tranquility.
After an early start and some tiring travelling we arrived at the hotel at check-in time - 3pm. But our room wasn't ready, nor would it be for a while. So we kicked our heels for an hour and a half, after which time - you've guessed it - the room still wasn't available. So we lurked. The receptionist made some mention of a room upgrade; to be honest, I don't know whether or not she gave us one but she also asked if there was anything which might take the sting out of our inconvenience once we were finally in the room. We suggested a cold bottle of dry white wine might help. After we'd been in the room for a while ( very nice, rubbish view) a waiter arrived with........a small bottle of lemonade and a bar of chocolate. Eventually our wine came and indeed the (empty) bottle and the cooler were still in the room 2 days later. Some while later we were reunited with our luggage. Too tired to go out for dinner, we chose to eat in the hotel and in fact had asked when we booked the room if we should book for dinner - no need, we were told. In the restaurant, we were given menus by a waitress and seated temporarily in the Oyster Bar while she went in search of a table for us - which she said would take 2 seconds. She also warned us that there were no oysters available that night. About 15 minutes later, hungry and losing the will to live, we gave up on her and decamped to the bar, where the waitress confirmed that 'of course' oysters were to be had! Er?
The following evening we gave up on the hotel and went in search of dinner elsewhere in the city. But thought, in our innocence, that it would be pleasant to have a drink in the hotel bar first. No danger of that. 2 bars were absolutely heaving with happy Friday night party-goers - presumably non-resident, and there was not a seat or a quiet corner to be had. I wish them joy with their merry-making but not to the exclusion of people who have paid serious money to avail themselves of the hotel facilities.
What was really efficient however was the very early delivery of our bill to the room the next morning. Cleverly it charged us for the 2 nights' accommodation for which we had pre-paid. 'Oh, you shouldn't have seen that' was the receptionist's response when we pointed it out. Too right we shouldn't.
So we bade farewell to the Shelbourne; the classic iconic hotel which was once a byword for all that was brilliant in the hotel world. A positive word: the staff were uniformly pleasant and friendly. The food - when we got it - was excellent. The room and its facilities were terrific. But nul points for smooth running and streamlined service. Comparisons with Fawlty Towers are probably a cliche in review territory, but cliches only become so because they are true. And this wasn't far off. Would we spend that sort of money to go there again? Probably not. And, in a way, that saddens me.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mrsmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. I would like to investigate your stay in further detail. Please email me at your earliest convenience, my email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com.
I am glad to note that you enjoyed the quality of service and that it was consistent through your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully restoring your faith in The Shelbourne Hotel.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a gem, proper five star without the pretentious bull.. Rooms are a little small but nothing to worry about for city location. The Bar is fantastic, great service and prices are very reasonable considering! Check in was impeccable, so professional but the highlight for me was breakfast. It was surperb! The best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefffadhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and that your highlight was the breakfast. Our Chefs and kitchen team will be delighted to read your comments.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have stayed at a better hotel. Everything was absolutely perfect; the staff, breakfast, room and location. I would certainly look to stay here again.

The experience is one of being treated like a truly valued customer by all aspects of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank PhilipGorman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on you recent trip to Dublin.

Kindest regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Although I have no other frame of reference, I can't imagine a better place to stay in Dublin. The location was perfect, right by St. Stephens Green and minutes to walk everywhere. As we pulled in, a nice in a top hat took our bags and escorted us inside. The lobby was beautiful and all staff were EXTREMELY helpful. We ate breakfast here twice and it was AMAZING...delicious food, fresh juices, etc. Our room was clean and comfortable. Oh, and the bar is fantastic!!! So beautiful and fancy, yet the staff was very nice. Having wine in the bar at the end of the night was perfect. I really can't imagine a better place to stay in Dublin or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaycecloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the service provided and that you also enjoyed our No.27 bar. It was a pleasure to host you during your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. It was our pleasure to have you with us. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the past 4 months & I have enjoyed every minute. From the minute we stepped out of the taxi at the front door we felt we were in a very special place. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size and very clean. The food was as you would expect - excellent !! Always plenty of people around - a great buzz around the hotel and yet you know you were safe. The leisure facilities are new, clean and relaxing - right in the centre of the city, its hard to believe there could be a place so relaxing. Can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade - sure if they can't facilitate you, what harm. It always pays to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinners66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to returning. It was our pleasure to host you during your visit. Our team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed the service provided.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,194 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $228 - $1,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing