We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$179
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$198
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$263
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$185
Buswells Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Merrion Hotel(Dublin)
$316
$298
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,955)
Filter reviews
3,955 results
Traveler rating
2,640
756
343
145
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,640
756
343
145
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaddle roomlord mayor's loungeheritage roomirish constitutionbeautiful hotelfive star hotelst stephensmain bargrafton streetturn down servicetrinity collegetemple barmarriottconciergeirelanddoormanluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,331 - 2,336 of 3,955 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for three nights while we were in the city for the "Country To Country" concert featuring Zac Brown Band. This hotel is gorgeous! The dining rooms/bars were plush and comfortable and had a very classy feel to them. The staff in the dining/drinking areas were great; they were friendly and attentive, very professional, and were very accommodating to all of our special requests. Our room was very nice and very clean. The bathroom is clean and had great water pressure (something few hotels seem to have). The soaps smelled soooo good! The website said the room was equipped with a refrigerator but it was actually a mini-bar, so we had to keep our milk (for tea) in an ice bucket. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were horrible. The pool/fitness center was clean and well maintained and attended with staff at all times. I must say, though, that the hours were very limited-opening late and closing early. Consequently, we used these facilities only once during our stay so I felt a bit cheated. Also, if I may recommend, Please, management of the Shelbourne, post that clothing is required while in the sauna/steamroom! Clothes are a good thing! Back to positive things: We were greeted at the door and assisted by the doorman. Checkin was quick and easy with four lovely young women waiting on us and offering fresh lemonade and delicious cookies during the process. Staff assisted us with our luggage all the way to our room and oriented us to the functions of our guestroom. We used the services of the concierge desk several times with great success. The location of this hotel is across the street from the opening of St. Stephen's Green, which is a lovely (and safe) place for a romantic stroll (or morning run, or place to air out the children, etc.). The flowers were in bloom on our relatively warm but very breezy St Patrick's Day Weekend stay! Just down the road was the fantastic shopping area "Grafton Street", and Trinity College, and Temple Bar. We never had any trouble finding something to do or somewhere to go. We burned off many Guinness calories walking just about everywhere. But we also used the Taxis, which are numerous, and the buses, even more numerous. I love Dublin; it is a great city with important and interesting history, beautiful art, delicious food, phenomenal Guinness and Jameson, fun pubs, and lovely people! I look forward to my next visit to Dublin and I hope I get the chance to stay at the Shelbourne Dublin again! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking an elegant, relaxing, and pampered experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderfully extensive review of your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and see that you enjoyed many of the facilities and services on offer. Many of the departments will be delighted to see that you enjoyed their services. I have also taken note of your feedback where you have made recommendations.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a marvellous stay in this lovely hotel for St Patricks weekend. We had supper (3 courses)in the "supper club" on sun night, good value for this class of hotel (€25 -€30 for adults, €8.95 for kids) and very good food.
The swimming pool was very safe 1.2m deep all over and not at all busy while we were there. The changing rooms were super, with shampoos, body lotion, deodorant, hairspray etc provided.
Our room was in the heritage part of the hotel and had great views over St. Stephens Green. Breakfast was an experience in itself!
We finished off our trip with afternoon tea in the Lord Mayors Lounge at the front, an experience not to be missed. at €32.95 a head it was worth every penny and they even do a kids afternoon tea for €19.95 which had a coke float! and nutella sandwiches among other things like a cheese sandwich and ham sandwich. A real special treat for a child. The location was great too as its just beside grafton st. area and within walking distance of most places you might want to see. Also the valet parking at an extra €25 was good value considering the rates charged for parking in this part of Dublin. We never made it to the famous "horseshoe Bar" so will have to go back!
An amazing hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: The Heritage rooms are amazing and a view to the front of St Stephens Green would be special.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aireagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed so many of the facilities on offer at The Shelbourne Hotel. The Traditional Afternoon Tea and the Shelbourne Supper are experiences not to be missed. I was glad to also note you have left yourself the opportunity to return to the hotel for the famous Horseshoe Bar.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The shelbourne Dublın,located center of the cıty.The rooms are so good,clean and well decorated.In general the staff ıs workıng hard and they are all young and,kınd and posıtıve people.The breakfast buffet ıs really nıce.Perfect place for famıly.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doğaduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your positive words about the hotel. The team will be so please to see that you enjoyed their service.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Only got to spend one night in this beautiful place, but heard from a couple of taxi drivers that it was "the best hotel in Dublin"
Great service from the minute we got out of the taxi, the butler/doorman came and greeted us, helped with our luggage and directed us to the front desk, we had reserved two rooms and one was ready even at 10am, which was perfect for us to put our luggage away, clean up a little, and head to town…
We opted for ordering breakfast in the room the next morning, tray came with everything so fresh and delicious, and a great presentation.
Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. We were delighted to have you with us. Thank you for awarding us the highest marks. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the breakfast in the comfort of your room. I will pass your kind words along to the departments involved.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the shelbourne for our third time, in February. First of all, the location is perfect. It's easy to go on foot or take taxis to anywhere close by. The service provided by the staff at both the check-in counter and at the restaurant is friendly and helpful. Only complaint is that the hotel is so popular with travelers and locals that we sometimes have trouble getting a table in the lounge or bar area. That's an indication of how consistently good the service,food, and location is at the Shelbourne. The conceriege staff helped us get a dinner reservation for the same night at a nice seafood place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylouVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel consistently friendly and helpful. Our concierge team will be delighted to read that you appreciated the service provided and that you enjoyed their recommendation.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews