We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel at the heart of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Newry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel at the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a romantic break in this stunning hotel. From entering the hotel with the courteous staff in the foyer to the busy reception staff we could not have been treated fbetter. We arrived at around 4pm and the foyer was really busy with people checking in but this was dealt with as quickly as possible with trays of fresh juice being brought round to those who were waiting in the queue to check in. We then went off to our room which again lived up to our expectations. It wasn't huge but it was very tastefully decorated and had the most comfortable bed I have slept in in any hotel I have stayed in. We dined in the The Saddle Room restaurant and enjoyed fine dining with efficient, friendly service. The breakfast was also served in the Saddle Room restaurant and the choice and quality of the food was again faultless. Really enjoyed this break, unfortunately it was only for one night but will definitely be looking for a return trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scorpionewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read of your stay and that enjoyed your experience with us. It was a pleasure to host you for your break away and I was also delighted that you enjoyed the fresh lemonade and cookies on check in.

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing The Shelbourne hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kinds regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    673
    300
    126
    63
See reviews for
699
1,535
109
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for a Valentine's Day surprise with my husband. The room was fantastic, the atmosphere is wonderful. I had a fantastic 1hr massage in the spa. We went down for dinner and to be honest I was very disappointed with the service. The food was nice however the waiting staff were all over the place, there didn't seem to be a cohesive system in place. We were left quite a while to order our food, had to ask for bread and then I counted ten times that a member of the waiting staff walked by our table once our dinner was finished (knives and forks arranged accordingly) before I asked to speak to a manager and finally the plates were taken away. The manager said that "they were under pressure" but I really felt that was not good enough given the large number of tables and it being Valentines' night. The manager came over a few minutes later to offer a free glass of wine and assured that all would be ok after that. However after finishing dessert, still left sitting around for a long time and eventually got sick of waiting for the bill to be brought over to the table so we left as we knew it would arrive on our bill. No rose like the rest of the diners! :( Rest of stay was lovely, romantic rose petals on our bed and a lovely breakfast. Great valet service, lovely staff in spa, reception, cleaners etc. A little disappointed because it really wasn't cheap. Skip the restaurant and go to Town or The Cliff Townhouse instead.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLuDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to read of your experience and that we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay.
I will be speaking with the Restaurant manager regarding your feedback but would love to discuss your experience further and would urge you to contact me by email at your earliest convenience.

This would allow us to improve on the service we offer and ensure going forward that you enjoy every moment with us. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Good service when we arrived nice and friendly the staff were and first meal was lovely and we felt welcomed here and it is my first time in ireland and it doesn't feel if I am in another country and the room is comfortable and Dublin is a wonderful city

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 11Hotspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel with us. Our team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed their friendly service.

Thank you again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed in December - its a perfect spot to enjoy some Christmas Shopping and the atmosphere in the city. The staff are professional and friendly - Senior Championship All Ireland standard.
Really enjoyed an early morning walk through Stephens Green and the Iveagh Gardens.
Tried out the the new spa this time too - highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and how you very much enjoyed the service and facilities throughout.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location on Stephens green and real old world charm. Rooms not very large but for city centre that's expected. I particularly enjoyed the horseshoe bar and the front lounge. Found the Shelbourne a little expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Poxyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that in particular, you found the Horseshoe Bar and The Lord Mayors Lounge to your liking.

It was a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We decided to treat our family to afternoon tea in the Shelbourne just before Christmas and what a wonderful experience it was! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there...they are a credit to the hotel. The teenagers had sandwiches made specially for them as the ones on offer were not to their taste...all were delicious. The scones were light as a feather and the desserts jus amazing. Half way through one of their friends joined us and even with her help we still couldn't finish all of the food! The atmosphere in the hotel is super and we had a really special time there. The one thing that would have made the day perfect would have been to have stayed overnight......but who knows maybe next year! Well done to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank operamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Afternoon Tea in The Lord Mayors Lounge and that your family enjoyed their experience also.

Our team in the Lord Mayors Lounge will be pleased to read that you have highlighted and appreciated their service. Should you wish to stay, I would only be delighted to offer my assistance with reservations. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went to the Shelbourne for a breakfast twice.
I always tooked the "Shelbourne eggs benedict" and i totally recommend it, they taste amazing and you will be full for the whole day.

The only bad point, was the orange juice which was not good at all the second time i went there.
However, the service and the place are great.

I totally recommend it for a great breakfast in a cosy place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SerranoJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I was delighted to note that you very much enjoyed your stay and that you found the eggs benedict to your satisfaction. Our chefs will be delighted to read that the eggs benedict had your day off to a great start.

I will certainly pass along your feedback regarding the issue you have mentioned and conduct an investigation. I am glad to see that it did not mar your stay too greatly.

Should you need assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.
My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing