We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining etc options most inadequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dining etc options most inadequate”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Continuing bug bear I have with this hotel is this: apart from breakfast (which is very good) dining and bar facilities for residents are as good as non-existent. Reason: they are wide open to the general public and, any time I've been there, inaccessible/ unavailable for residents. So you are stuck with room service which is much too slow (presumably because all the other residents are also using it). On the plus side, staff are very friendly and the building is very nice but the facilities shortage is, in my experience, unique among five star hotels and therefore defining.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarryR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you have continued to experience this issue. I would ask that you contact me at your earliest convenience so that I may reserve a table in our restaurant on your next stay and note this on your profile for all future stays. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

I would like to thank you for returning to The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,407
    692
    314
    131
    64
See reviews for
736
1,590
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ratoath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have been here for two afternoon tea's and both times I have not been disappointed. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I love the fact that you can change your tea with each course of afternoon tea which they serve in stages rather than the usual three tier. It gives you a chance to sample some of the more elusive teas that you might not see on everyday menus. It would be great if they did a chocolate afternoon tea as both times I think there was only one dessert that included chocolate flavours.

The setting is very beautiful and they always have fresh and unusual floral displays in the Lord Mayor's Lounge.

Room Tip: If you have a larger appetite, you can ask for a second serving of the first course of sandwiches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Afternoon Tea in The Lord Mayors Lounge. The different teas are a great way to experiment with the flavours provided through the different courses on The Afternoon Tea. I will certainly pass along your comment to our Pastry chef.

Our in house florist will be delighted to note that you enjoyed her floral displays. Thank you for taking choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked this hotel as the last night of our trip through Ireland. We began our trip in Dublin at the four seasons, and should have done our last day there. The atmosphere at the Shelbourne is wonderful and the staff is professional. It's a great place to go have oysters or dinner or drinks and just hang out. The rooms, however leave much to be desired. There is nothing luxurious about them and they are small. We saw 3 so I can say that if you want a decent room, go for a suite. Even a mid-level room is just not exciting in any way. Also, be sure to verify that your room has a view, the alternative is pitiful. The restaurant is great and we would return to the Saddle Room.

Room Tip: Suite if you need more than a matchbox, and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the atmosphere, the Oysters and the food. I was disappointed to learn of your experience with the room but would love to discuss this by email. Please email me at your earliest convenience should you wish to provide more information on your stay.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I took my little Godmother for a girls Christmas shopping trip to Dublin and there can be no better place to stay in town than the Shelbourne. The staff were so friendly, attentive and professional and we were wonderfully cossetted in the luxurious surroundings of our Heritage Room overlooking the Green. Thank you JD and all the staff, this trip will now become an annual event!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastBlonde21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Shelbourne Hotel. I would like to sincerely thank you for your mention and that I could be at your service for your stay. I am delighted to note that you and your grandmother enjoyed your Heritage Parkview room and that you found the team that was at your service to be attentive, professional and friendly. It was our pleasure to have you and your grandmother with us.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I remain entirely at your service.
Warmest regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in November. Another couple traveling with us also stayed four nights here. I am sure the staff and guests will be happy when the construction out front is finished. It is a busy place with a nice lobby and historic side rooms for sitting and having tea. Breakfast was included with our rooms and the buffet was quite nice and comprehensive. The staff was very friendly and packed us a to go breakfast when we did an early day trip. The heritage bar was great but always very crowded. The location was not bad for tourist activities as it is on St. Stephens Green. Our rooms were okay but not overly special. Beds were comfortable but rooms were warm and a bit dry. Making the room cooler helped us sleep better. We are loyal to Marriott and that was a reason we stayed here. Overall positive experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Heritage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall. It was a pleasure to host you during your trip to Dublin and that you found the hotels location to be at your advantage.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne, A Renaissance Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I travelled with my husband and my two children aged 3 years and 6 months. We were really looking forward to spending time in a five star hotel. Some aspects were wonderful but unfortunately some weren't what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

Upon arrival we were immediately helped by a lovely doorman who took care of our bags and our car. We were escorted inside and met by a very friendly lady who whisked us to the reception desk.We were given a glass of mulled cider and some ginger biscuits which were lovely. The lady at reception desk was very friendly and helpful. She told us that we had booked a king room with a roll away bed and a cot but that she would place us in a room with two double beds. I had no quibbles with that until I reached the room. Firstly, the corridor to the room had two steps along it meaning that it was awkward to transport the baby in the buggy. The room was very disappointing. It was very small and it had two tiny double beds. My husband and I are both very tall and we would have barely fit in the bed. There was no baby cot inside but it would have barely fitted in had it been there. We phoned and spoke with another very helpful lady who agreed to let us see another room on the 6th floor with more space (a king room which we had originally booked). It had more space (although I wouldn't describe it as a very spacious room) and a little single bed for our 3 year old. There were steps down to a little area before the bathroom where the cot could be fitted. The second lady was very lovely and recognised us again on our way in to the hotel after being out for a walk. The lady who checked us in saw us and apologised for the room move.

The breakfast each morning was lovely. We all really enjoyed it. We had 'supper' in the Lord Mayor's Lounge the second evening (we booked after the first night just to ensure we could spend some time in the hotel's communal area in the early evening). We weren't told that it was three courses that were served at once until we actually arrived in the lounge. We didn't want to have three courses but had no other option and the food portions were very small for the price.

As indicated, I had high expectations given that it was a five star hotel but again I was disappointed by the room. It was not as luxurious as other reviews had suggested the rooms were. I have stayed in better 4 star hotels room-wise.

A few things listed below really did disappoint me however;-
* We had to request the cot for the baby three times before it finally arrived at 7.40pm.
* No towels were provided for our children.
* The tissues were not replaced on the second day. One was placed on top but there were no further tissues underneath.
* The face cloths were not replaced on the second day.
* The room was incredibly hot even with the noisy air conditioning unit being on full blast. My three year old and I had a terrible second night's sleep due to the heat.
* The lobby area only had two seats by the Christmas tree. There was no substantial seating area to sit and take-in the ambience of the lobby.
* I appreciate that we stayed in December but the hotel was completely rammed from 6pm on in the evening. We could not get a seat anywhere downstairs so we were confined to our bedroom with our children.
* The water in the pool was too cold for the children.

I hate being so picky about the above but I really did expect more from this hotel. The staff we dealt with were lovely but unfortunately I don't think that that reason is enough to make me want to return to this hotel. I appreciate that we were staying at a busy time but I would try another hotel before returning to The Shelbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am disappointed to learn of your experience and regret not having the opportunity to speak with you on check out about it.

I have noted your points raised and brought them up with each member of the management team responsible. In an effort to restore your faith in The Shelbourne Hotel and our brand, I would be delighted to discuss your stay with you by email at your earliest convenience. Please email me at rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin with your family. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family around Thanksgiving. Staff was very friendly throughout including a very early check in after our tiring flight from US. The venue is amazing with several bars and rooms that really seem to create a focal point for the social life in Dublin. Rooms are ok

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the services provided by our team over your stay.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing