We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potluck and disappointing for an iconic location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
640 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Potluck and disappointing for an iconic location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Being a platinum marriott member you expect the best rooms and I didn't get it . My colleague also the same status and booked in the same time got a fantastic room , mine was tired odd shaped and views of nothing. So he was happy I was disappointed and as I stay 100 nights a year in marriotts I would expect a lot better .

Service was hit or a miss, I told the maître Di at breakfast I was meeting with a colleague he did not him to meet me, he also had asked for me

With so many staff they could have done so much better .............

Room Tip: If you are unhappy complain , I should have done .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I was disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay and that it was not to your satisfaction. I would like to investigate some of the issues you have mentioned further. Please email me at your earliest at rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel and for bringing these issues to my attention. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,276
    666
    299
    126
    63
See reviews for
689
1,520
108
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
morecambe
Level Contributor
168 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My partner, my 5 year old granddaughter and I stayed here for the last two days of our five day break in Ireland from the UK.We haven't been to The Shelbourne for over a year, but as soon as you are greeted by the lads on the revolving door, it's as if we'd never been away. Staying here is more than just booking accommodation; you are buying an experience. Seeing some of the most professionally trained staff in the Irish Hospitality Industry in action is part of that experience ,together with the high standards of food and beverages adds to the pleasure of staying at The Shelbourne. Jane,the reception manager, runs a tight ship as the checking in process is always friendly and swift; not to mention the free lemonade and cookies....and of course, the occasional upgrade if they can do it. The breakfast service is the best in town with one of the nicest blends of tea I've ever tasted. Our granddaughter, Layla, thought it was "well posh" and wants to stay here again; and, of course, we will; that's a certainty.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and ask for a 'Heritage room'. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of The Shelbourne Hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the stay and that from the team on the door to Jane you were looked after.

Our team will be delighted to read these comments and they will serve as a great motivator for the future. Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you and Layla back again.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent one night stay here. The Hotel is elegant, close to everything and the staff were truly professional. Alexandra in the restaurant was a star.

We will return and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinRAhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found Alexandra to be noteworthy of mentioning. I will pass your kind words to our restaurant manager who will share these with the team.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel.
I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My sisters and I decided to stay in the Shelbourne as a treat for one night in Dublin. I'm giving a rating of four stars for exceptional and thoughtful service - even if our room was quite old and tired (albeit immaculately clean). Our Room was not ready on check-in, there was a (child-size) cot as opposed to another double bed in our room and the chandelier in the bedroom rattled with ANY movement on the floor above. All issues were dealt with fairly and promptly on check-out (3rd person supplement waivered, comp-ed the the previous evenings cocktails as a goodwill gesture etc). The common areas are very grand in an old-school manner and the staff are exceptional. Don't think I'd stay again, would just prefer something more contemporary - but thats just personal taste and does not take away from the welcoming, professional and warm atmosphere at the Shelbourne..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you found the service exceptional and thoughtful. I was disappointed to read of the issues you had experienced and that our team were able to look after you and rectify the aforementioned issues.

I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning to us but should you change your mind, I would be delighted to offer you my assistance in making arrangements. rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Kindest regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel and the staff, particularly Guest Relations Managers JD Flynn and Mirta are absolutely the best I have ever met. My husband and I had a medical emergency while staying at the Shelbourne and had to call an ambulance. The staff were there instantaneously and very professional. Handled everything competently and I felt totally reassured. They had my husband quietly moved to a waiting ambulance and they were just so compassionate and supportive.
Unfortunately since then, my husband has passed away but I will always remember the kindness of JD Flynn and Mirta. If I ever return to Ireland, I would stay nowhere else but the Shelbourne.
Rooms are very comfortable, beds are wonderful, buffet breakfast is awesome. Location couldn't be any better. Just love it!!!

Room Tip: If you are fortunate enough to stay at the Shelbourne, any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargAnneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear MarganneL,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay. Mirta and I thank you for your kind words. Our deepest sympathies are with you and your family at this time. We were saddend to hear of your husbands passing. May he rest in peace. It was our pleasure to assist you both during your stay.

We would be delighted to have you with us again and thank you for giving us the honour of being your hotel in Dublin. If Mirta or I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
331 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at the Shelbourne Hotel when arriving into Dublin for a Ireland Tour. The hotel was just beautiful, very well maintained, the staff was great. Lovely dining area for High Tea, Dining Room for breakfast very nice, the breakfast buffet was delicious. Great selection, Also, you can order eggs the way you like them. The Shelbourne is in a great location, right across from St Stephen Green, a beautiful park to wander in. Grafton St is a very short walk from the hotel. A shopping center is right down the street. Lots of restaurants nearby. Location is perfect. The Shelbourne is such a wonderful experience, we would stay again while visiting Dublin. The hotel has hosted many rich and famous people and I can see why! There is a little museum near check-in and it tell about famous people who have stayed at the hotel, very interesting. If in Dublin treat yourself to the Shelbourne, you will love it. The rooms were decorated very nice, the beds were great, the entire experience was wonderful. The also have a wonderful Spa but we didn't have a chance to experience it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tagent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to host you for your stay. I am glad to note that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you had the chance to visit our very own museum.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future. Not visiting the spa on this occasion will give you a great reason to return.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here last November - my last trip before our baby was due and had to say overall experience was lovely - we had a lovey spacious room with additoinal living space- bathroom was great - breakfast was fabulous - wonderful selection
We had afternoon tea - have to say was just ok was very crowded that day as Ireland rugby team was in and even though we booked in advance they didnt have our reservation - needless to say this was rectified quickly but I dont think it was worth the price -have experienced AT it in other 5* hotels and have been more impressed
Concierge service was great and I hope to come back to this charming hotel which is in a great location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmgilly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay last November and that you found the room and the breakfast to your satisfaction.

I was truly disappointed to read about your afternoon tea experience, I will pass along your comments to our team. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and should you be returning to The Shelbourne in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing