We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedroom small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
sussex
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Bedroom small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights,full of history.Staff very helpful.Disapointed in small bedroom and bathroom and view.Breakfast large selection though you had to walk a long way from our table to buffet.This is a five star Hotel and think breakfast should be served by waiter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking St Stephens Green
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloverSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you found the team very helpful and the breakfast to your satisfaction. Should you require a room with a view or a larger room, we recommend reserving a Heritage park view room. These are spacious and face the beautiful St. Stephens Green.

We offer both choices for service at breakfast with a self-service buffet where the hot food is served by the chef and there is also a menu on each of the tables should you wish to order pancakes or an omelette. These are then cooked to order.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,308
    673
    300
    126
    63
See reviews for
699
1,537
109
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in September and loved every minute of it. The staff is wonderful, food very good and location is great for hop on bus, shopping and restaurants. Short walk to Grafton Street. Room was a good size for an old European hotel and well maintained, even if we were far from elevator. One night I called for a bucket of ice, within 3 minutes it was delivered to room! My husband is an early riser and he could get coffee in the lobby and relax there with the morning paper while I slept in. Would recommend this hotel, especially if this is first time to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmf507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay of The Shelbourne Hotel and for writing such wonderful comments. The location and proximity to the local attractions is very advantageous especially if it is your first time in Ireland.
We cater to the early riser with coffees and papers or fruit and water for your jog. We also cater for those that wish to enjoy the comfortable beds too.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had 2 nights at the Shelbourne on a busy weekend at the end of September. We were seeing Fleetwood Mac at the O2 and then watching the All Ireland final in a bar on the Sunday. We picked the Shelbourne for its location and style and we were not disappointed!!

The service from the minute we arrived on Saturday until leaving on Monday was excellent. It is a beautiful hotel in a great spot and has an outstanding Breakfast Buffet (the white pudding is "to die for") - my wife is still talking about the breakfasts! Sunday we perused the artists work around St Stephens Green (we were helped by a sunny weekend) and sat in the park enjoying the sun before watching the game nearby in the afternoon.

We sneaked a view on the first floor (conference room floor) to have a look at the historic rooms including the constitution room - the paintings were stunning.

The bars in the hotel are very good and a lovely way to finish a long day with a baileys/whiskey before bed!

We were on a package offer that included breakfast and was excellent value for this quality of hotel - we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcbgerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. We were delighted to host you for your stay. It is with pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and found your way to the Constitution room.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
far away
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Shelbourne has a long history. There is even a museum about the hotel in the lobby. That said, it has some of the drawbacks one finds in old hotels - small rooms, strange floor plan, crowded lobby space. But it also has the charm that you would not find in a modern hotel.

The staff were lovely and full of Irish charm. As a Platinum member, we were offered the breakfast buffet in lieu of the concierge lounge, which this hotel does not have. The breakfast was good and featured all of the items one would expect. We were also offered two complimentary drinks in the bar, which allowed us to sample the famous Jameson whiskey that everyone talks about.

The location of the hotel is excellent and within walking distance to shopping and attractions. It is also across the street from the hop on - hop off tourist bus.

The room was furnished in a traditional style and perhaps in need of a freshening. The bed sagged a bit and the shower handle came off in my hand. But somehow, being in Ireland (and having that Jameson) made it quaint instead of objectionable.

This is the only Marriott branded property in Dublin, so I would certainly say that it is worth staying here if you want the Marriott benefits. Dublin is a lovely city and this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nznorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also appreciated our Full Irish Breakfast.

However, I was disappointed to note some small issues with your room that I would like to investigate and rectify so that they do not re-occur. Please email me at your earliest convenience so that I may take action. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel as your home away from home. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Shelbourne has been and remains my favourite Dublin hotel. Truly second to none - great location, great staff and great rooms.

One really feels like you've stepped back in time - staff are courteous and friendly and really give the impression they can't do enough for you. Check in (early check in) has never been a problem - breakfast is hearty and plenty of it. Bars are lively and for my money, make the best Bloody Mary. A late drink is never a problem for you or your company. The concierge is always able to arrange a table where and when you need it or tickets or just give you some general suggestions on where the craic will be.

I spoil myself every year when I fly into Dublin with a few nights stay here before I head West and I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

Do yourself a favour and spoil yourself with a stay at the Shelbourne!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeosamhNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel. It was our pleasure to host you during your trip to Dublin and to fulfil your early check in request.

Our concierge will be delighted to know that they were able to assist you in any way they could regarding tickets and general information. We are honoured to be your favourite hotel.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address. I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, I love the history attached to it and all public areas are beautiful. They kindly upgraded me to a suite which was a nice touch as I was studying for an exam the next day. I had asked for a wake up call and a particular newspaper but received neither. This was a little disappointing. I had a room service dinner which was ok - burger and fries - edible but not terribly inspiring. Breakfast was good, nice variety and good quality ingredients used. 1 small issue - egg shell in my scrambled egg...not what I expected.

In terms of staying here again, I would not rule it out. I have stayed previously and returned. I have also had the afternoon tea which was a wonderful experience. However there are a lot of good hotels in Dublin so the small irritants do need to be ironed out to gain solid repeat business.

Room Tip: My room was towards the front of the hotel but still overlooked an apartment block. Rooms at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. I am disappointed to note of the issues you had during your stay and would like to investigate them in more depth. At your convenience, please email me the details of your stay. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel and we wish you the best of luck in the exam results. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A truly wonderful "old-style" hotel that caters to your every essential need in the way Marriott properties do. A great location, near to everything and across from St. Stephens Green makes the location a great starting point for the Hop-on-Hop off tour bus.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the suite was well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAV07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly and found the proximity to St Stephens Green and the Hop-on Hop-off tours to your advantage.

Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing