We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 29, 2013

our stay at the Shelbourne was excellent! The hotel is in City Center and convenient to everything. Grafton Street is a short walk and so aren't many pubs and restaurants. The hotel had very friendly and efficient staff. Wake up calls, extra service from housekeeping and information about attractions etc. were only a phone call away. When we arrived at 5:30 in the morning, they quickly found a room for us to sleep in until ours was ready. Great service in an historical and gracious hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for providing us with your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you with us and to be at your service. It was our pleasure to assist you with an early check in and to accommodate you while you waited on your room.

I will mention your kind words of praise to our team as they will be delighted to hear that you had a stay of memorable luxury. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,470 - 2,476 of 3,827 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We only stayed one night at The Shelbourne, but wished we had booked more nights here. Everything was first class all the way. The location is perfect. The front desk staff went out of there way to make our stay very special. We were upgraded to a suite. The only negative is the sevice in the Bar 27 can be a bit slow....it is very crowed and a good people watching spot....still loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogfriendley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is a shame that we could not have you with us for longer as it would have been our pleasure. Thank you for your feedback. I hope to welcome you back to The Shelbourne Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I love staying at Shelbourne hotel on my business trips to Dublin. Great location, extremely beautiful hotel with so much history. Having a pot of tea in their cozy tea launge is always my preference after a busy day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for rating The Shelbourne Hotel 5 Tripadvisor Stars. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Tea in The Lord Mayors Lounge sounds like the perfect way to unwind after a busy day. You will have to try The Shelbourne Spa on your next stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful decor, great staff, good location, wonderful breakfast. Stayed on Arrival in Dublin and again night before departure. I couldn't believe that most of the staff recognized us and remembered our name, after travelling around Ireland for a week. I highly reccomend staying here. They had their act together, always.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room has a good view. Because of construction, view was a disapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you return to us during your stay in Ireland. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team. Your positive feedback will be a great motivator to all our associates.

Thank you for recommending us to future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Shelbourne is centrally located on St Stephens Green. The park is across the street and lovely. You're minutes from everything-- Grafton Street, Trinity College -- everything is within walking distance. The hotel is a grand old dame-- the facilities quite lovely. The people at the fromt desk were very nice. However, the double beds in our rooms were very small. We booked the hotel through Aer Lingus and clearly those bookings get lesser rooms. Throughout Ireland, we've had lovely large rooms or two rooms for my family of 4. We arrived here and our room has the smallest double beds I've ever encountered. Even my children were on top of each other. We all had difficulty sleeping. Couple that with a view of interior walls and other people's rooms-- this was a great disappointment. I asked about an upgrade and was told no-- unless we paid an additional 100 euros. I was surprised that empty rooms go empty as opposed to satisfying guests. If you book here, and I don't know that I will again, be sure to specify the size of your bed-- not a double - and request a view of the park or or of the city.
I contacted guest relations and received no response.
Breakfast came with our room and was a big buffet style. There was lots to choose from and we were quite pleased with it.

Room Tip: Don't book a double room if you are sharing a bed and request a view of the city or park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2TravelNJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the location and the grandeur of “The Old Dame”. I am surprised and disappointed to read that you were not fully satisfied with your rooms. I can assure you that we hold no other booking in lesser regard than another. Our guest’s satisfaction and experience is our top priority.

I would like to investigate your stay a little further and I would urge you to contact me at your earliest convenience. My email is rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin’s most distinguished address for your recent stay. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in the Shelbourne Hotel last Saturday night. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We ate in the Saddle Room and the food was delicious and reasonably priced too. The spa area is very nice and a welcome addition to the hotel. A lovely experience all around and the service in the hotel was second to none !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SzyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel.

We were delighted to have you and your husband with us and for your stay and dining in The Saddle Room restaurant. I very much appreciate your kind words about the service and The Spa.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublins most distinguished address. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
JD Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding anniversary at the Shelbourne. Guest Relations and reservations were great in arranging my requests for arrival to surprise my wife.
It is a busy Hotel, but they coped well, taking good Care of us all through the stay.
We would love to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Shelbourne, here on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne very soon.

Kind regards

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $273 - $1,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing