We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Classic older hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Classic older hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was built in the early 1800s and has been brought up to modern standards within the physical limits possible. The entrance is small and difficult to negotiate with suitcases and you cannot escape the smokers crowded around the place and making it smaller. The entrance lobby is also usually crowded and awkward but after that everything gets better. The registration area is more open, though usually very busy and the concierge is knowledgeable and helpful, as were all the staff we met. Rooms are well appointed and spacious, though some have unexciting views (but who goes to a city hotel for the view?). Breakfast buffet is enormous and extensive, with full fat, healthy and cold options. Service is good. The tearoom is very relaxing and enjoyable with good, gracious and helpful staff. All in all the experience is very good, though it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel and thank you for your feedback. I have taken your feedback on board and will make every effort to improve the areas mentioned. Our concierge team will be delighted with your comments as these will serve as a great motivator.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our breakfast and our extensive range of buffet items. Thank you once again for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,017
    595
    278
    114
    54
See reviews for
599
1,349
96
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second stay at The Shelbourne and once again it did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived early in the morning and travel weary, the quintessential service impressed. We had requested an early check-in yet given the very early time the room was not ready, understandable. Mirta really took care of us, we had breakfast in the restaurant and complimentary drinks while we waited on the room.

If you like a larger room, request an upgrade to premium room. We stayed in room 550 and it was large enough to accommodate our five suitcases. The bathroom is very large, clean, elegant with marble and has plenty of storage. Carpet is a little worn in the hallways. The first night there was an issue with the air conditioning but we opened the window and adjusted. Of the four hotels we stayed at in Ireland, The Shelbourne was the only one with air conditioning.

The Saddle Room Restaurant is beautiful and the food quality. We had breakfast here most mornings and there is a buffet that has a wide array of fresh fruits and typical Irish breakfast fare. The No. 27 Bar and Lounge is a hip place to share a cocktail and is popular with Dubliners. I love the atmosphere, old world decor and ambience.

Denis and Keith are the concierges and they provided excellent service, recommendations and reservations. They set us up with a rental car and their contact Tim delivered and picked up the car.

Fitness center is large and has all the essential equipment. Machines overlook the indoor pool and has multiple areas with cardio & weight machines. We used it everyday and typically had the place to ourselves.

The location on St. Stephen's Green places it within minutes of all the key attractions, shopping on Grafton street, restaurants and pubs. We will always choose this hotel when in Dublin.

Room Tip: Request upgrade to premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Shelbourne Hotel. It is a pleasure to read of your experience and that our team, especially Mirta and Keith looked after you. They will be delighted to read your comments. It will serve as a great motivator for them and the team. The new Health Club and Spa are a great new addition to the hotel and the atmosphere in No.27 cannot be beat.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin, we look forward to welcoming you back in hopefully the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for four nights with my husband and two children in a jr. suite at the Shelbourne. First of all, the location is outstanding. You can walk to all the tourist attractions in Dublin, there are ample hotels within blocks, shopping is just a few blocks away and the park is across the street. There are three several on site options for food and drink so it's a great place to meet friends or unwind. The morning breakfast is outstanding and there is plenty of variety for everyone. The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. Overall, this is an excellent hotel with everything you would expect from a 5 star and you get Marriott points too.

Room Tip: The jr. suites have room for two small children and the staff will remove the roll away bed when not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted to note that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The location is great for its proximity to the local attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you and the family back to The Shelbourne Hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel as your home away from home and for awarding us top marks, we are very proud to be held in your high regard.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a marvellous hotel. Wonderful historical significance if you're interested in Irish history. Gracious public areas staffed by courteous attentive staff. We had dinner in the Saddle Room, and it was a lovely experience. Delectible food, served by trained serving staff who offered helpful advice re wines and menu selections.

After dinner, a stroll through Stephen's Green, just opposite the hotel is a delightful experience. It's great to think that this kind of hotel with its exemplary staff still exists to pamper guests with such lovely aplomb.

Room Tip: We just dined in the hotel, but that was such a terrific experience, that next time, we'll be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and for choosing to The Shelbourne Hotel on your recent trip to Dublin. It is with great pleasure that I read of your experience at dinner and that you found the team and the food to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for awarding the hotel top Tripadvisor marks. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Shelbourne while in Dublin and the first thing I noticed was the attentive service by all the staff. We didn't need to lift a finger. Check in was easy and they accommodated our odd check in times. It's an old hotel and has some quirks but very clean and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenfar93035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Shelbourne, here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne very soon.

Kind regards

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can find little fault in the rooms, breakfast, afternoon tea ,the supper, beautiful lounge and staff in this well located hotel. The floral displays are some of the best in any hotel I have visited. I arrived early and was unable to assess the room but this was not an issue as check in is from 3pm. I left my bags and set off to explore one of the friendliest cities on the planet. I was however disappointed that my room was still not ready at 3.50 pm. I had to wait a further 20 minutes in a busy lobby before I was given my key. Compensation : a half glass of lemonade- a bit disappointing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dghp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Shelbourne, here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Shelbourne very soon.

Kind regards

Eamonn Casey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a five-night stay at The Shelbourne and loved every minute. The hotel has a warm elegance that just feels special and welcoming. The location is great, right across from the beautiful St. Stephens Green and just blocks from Grafton Street, Trinity College and many other go-to spots. The breakfast buffet is seriously top-notch and we enjoyed drinks in the Bar 27 one night. You can just feel the history oozing out of the hotel and we will definitely be going back one day. Five stars all the way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrademan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is with great pleasure that I read of your 5 night stay and that you found the hotel to be warm and elegant. The location serves as a great base for excursions out into the city a lot of attractions are within walking distance.

The hotel is steeped in nostalgia and The Shelbourne museum is a great way to experience the days of old.

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel and I hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,

JD Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Westbury
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,261 reviews
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,639 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
Westin Dublin
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing