We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was allocated a standard room on 3rd floor which was fine.I then got a phone call from reception asking if I would mind swapping as a family wanted rooms together.I had no problem with that and was pleasantly surprised when they upgraded me to a larger room on the 6th floor.

rooms are quality furnished and turn down service each night

well located in Dublin for shopping and sightseeing

I was there on a business conference and meetings rooms were lovely

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,759 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a real five star hotel, located right in the city centre, opposite St Stephen’s Green. The rooms are big, spacious, and with all the features you would expect from a five star hotel.
The museum, Grafton street, Dawson street, Trinity College are all few minutes’ walk from the hotel. As it is in the city centre, there are a variety of restaurants nearby. I stayed here for a business meeting, but when I go to Dublin on a family holiday, this will definitely be my hotel choice.
There is also a small museum in the hotel, where you can see some material from their archives. The draft copy of the Irish Constitution is also on display. The Irish constitution was signed in a room on the first floor, (now known as the Constitution Room).
The business centre offers free printing, which is a big help. The Ulster Rugby team was staying in the hotel, when I was there. It was nice to see the enthusiastic Ulster supporters giving them a great send-off just before their match with Leinster.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VipinZamvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Shelbourne in Dublin on the last four nights of our two week trip to Ireland. What a way to wrap up an amazing visit! Excellent location, close but not too close to pubs and shopping. Easy walking distance. Beautiful park across the street. We were traveling with our mom's and the staff anticipated our every need! Directions, transportation and dining suggestions, all precise and on taget! This hotel is an iconic landmark in Dublin, significant historic value, beautiful architecture, chandeliers, marbels winding staircase. Elevators were available and frequently used. It was a great blend of old and new. The staff, everyone from the Front Desk Manager to the housekeepers, all displayed outstanding service! If your budget allows, it's worth the splurge! It was an experience in its' self! We only dined at their Breakfast Buffet, excellent assortment, beautifully displayed and items cooked to order, great way to get a day of walking/shopping or sightseeing off to a good start! Almost forgot...the best nights sleep for the whole trip...you can not beat the bedding!

Room Tip: We emailed to request a double bed room and they were able to accommodate our needs, also had many q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackpearl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I attended a wedding here at the weekend, it was a fantastic venue, situated close to some great bars, the hotel has it's own amazing bars and function rooms. The rooms are spotlessly clean and look fabulous. The staff all very professional and friendly. Certainly a lot of history within the building, if only the walls could talk! Certainly a must see location even if you can't stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Shelbourne for a conference recently. Not only is it at a perfect location in Dublin, close to all you'll probably need, but the rooms were really nice, the food was excellant, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I loved the twisty halls giving, giving the hotel character. The only thing that I really missed was any decent views from the room.
The conference rooms were quite good although maybe not quite with the perfect layout as a newer conference hotel would have.

Room Tip: I had one facing some building, so no view. I think the rooms with the view towards St. Stephens par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD-OnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I travelled from Dundalk to Dublin for a night out with my wife and stayed with the shelbourne.They had my details as a previous guest and upgraded me without a request.This hotel boasts a professional staff who marry extreme competence with a friendly can do attitude.The hotel is a great location for some shopping and a good night out in the heart of Dublin.A first class experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDHAWK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely treat for Bed and Breakfast for a family party and so central for the city centre. Bars very relaxing and classic elegance at all times. You feel special staying there. Lovely staff and service very good. Quick check in. Walking distance to St Stephens Green, Grafton Street Baggot Street for food and pubs - O'Donoghues and Doheny and Nesbitts. Shops close by and Luas to Dundrum five mins away.

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves. Hotel will take your car from front and park it for the night and return it outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmaduke970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,418 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $239 - $1,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing