We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is excellent. I particularly like the atmosphere in the bars at the weekends as there is always a buzz. The rooms are nice and the hotel itself is very impressive. The staff are very friendly. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyteacher085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you your recent review of the Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a nice time and found the hotel "impressive and atmospheric". If you plan to return to Dublin at any point please contact me directly, I will be delighted to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    700
    317
    132
    64
See reviews for
742
1,613
121
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Shelbourne for a week during a business trip. The location is great for exploring Dublin. I was able to walk to most sightseeing attractions. The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were kept very clean. My only complaint would be the mattress. I would guess they haven't been replaced in a few years. Both sides of the mattress had visible imprints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksquare8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us and thank you in particular for your kind comments regarding our staff, cleanliness of rooms and central location. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please contact me directly. I will be more than happy to assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The location, across from St. Stephen's Green, is perfect. Public rooms are grand. Flower arrangements in the lobby and reception area are spectacular. Shortbread cookies in a bowl at reception are fabulous. The bed was typical Marriott: very, very comfortable. But the room was tiny and had only 1 chair.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artichokeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent trip to The Shelbourne Hotel. I am glad that overall you had a good experience with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding the public areas and the comfort of our beds. I will also pass on your feedback regarding our homemade cookies at reception - Katie, our pastry chef will be delighted! If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the near future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent Easter at the shelbourne - the service is amazing all our needs were catered for staff are fantastic. Denis the concierge made sure we got excellent care and attention where ever we went from restaurants to cycle hire in the park. It had been sympathetically restored and the decor and rooms are lovely, the beds were a problem as the were so comfortable we did not want to get out of them!!
The food was really great and the breakfast was probably the best I had ever had. We will definitely come back yes it was pricey but the quality was suburb. And as for the cocktails they were epic. What we didn't realise is that on Good Friday in Ireland no where serves alcohol - however the shelbourne did serve us as we were having a meal.

Room Tip: we had 4 room and of these one was quite dark but the others were fine - lots of space despite havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your trip to The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you and your party had a such a nice time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and in particular Denis O'Brien, our Head Concierge. I will ensure this feedback is passed on. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I lived in Dublin for 5 years a long time ago, before this hotel was renovated, and used to occasionally pop in to the Horseshoe Bar when I was feeling flush. It had great charm, accentuated by it's slightly shabby appearance. I always wanted to stay there, and now that I'm older and (very slightly) richer, I decided to splash out. I suppose that I held The Shelbourne in hugely high regard for many years, and when one expects a lot, one is almost always disappointed. Check-in was excellent, although the lobby was a bit.... chintzy. Sort of a very middle-aged feel about the place. This was continued and amplified in our room, which looked like it had been decorated by everyone's grandmother. Horrible wooden furniture that would have looked at home in Southfork (in the original Dallas). However, the room was a good size and the bed was huge. Breakfasts were superb, but again the dining room had a certain feel about it - as if it had been refurbished but the people doing the refurbishment didn't really have a clear idea what they were aiming for. It winds up with a strange feeling of a mixture of extreme formality and trying to be 'down with the kids'. It's like your mother wearing hotpants. Residents' bar is even worse - a totally character-free room with a few tables and soft furnishings which wouldn't look out of place in a retirement home.

However, the historic rooms (ie The Constitution Room) are wonderful and do possess a real sense of epic events having occurred there. The building itself is fantastic, an the staff are certainly attentive and pleasant. There's a crazy idea called a 'Genealogy Butler' which is surely aimed squarely at the American market - which isn't a bad thing, but is just ridiculous. Indeed, the whole place is I think squarely aimed at the American market - again, not a bad thing, but it just doesn't feel like a very Irish hotel. The hotel museum is well worth 20-30 mins browsing.

So, overall, very expensive and a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bang0rB0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review following on from your recent trip to the Shelbourne Hotel. I am glad that overall you had a nice experience and thank you for your kind comments regarding the service from our front service team, offerings at breakfast and the comfort of the beds. I am delighted that you took the time to view the museum and our Constitution Suite, (where the Constitution of Ireland was drafted in 1924). A lot of time and care was taken during our refurbishment to ensure that the hotel retained as much of the original character as possible. I am glad that you felt that this was the case. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent our last night in Ireland at the Shelbourne & absolutely loved it. It's centrally located, right across the street from St. Stephen's Green and convenient to almost everything you could hope to see while in the city. The service was impeccable, from the bell staff to the concierge desk and everyone else we encountered. Lots of nice little touches, like the addictive cookies at reception & the variety of international outlets built into the wall of the hotel room.

The room was spacious enough for our whole family of 5, the beds were comfy, breakfast was excellent. Can't really think of anything bad to say about the place.

As we left the next morning, our kids were asking when we could come back and stay at the Shelbourne. I couldn't agree with them more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanManDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you and your family had such a good time with us. I will ensure all of your kind comments regarding the facilities and the service are passed on to the relevant people. Should you be travelling to Dublin at any point soon I will be more than happy to personally assist. Please contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What is left to say!! The location is perfect (St. Stephens Green), the service was TOP NOTCH, the food was great, and the rooms were well appointed & quiet. We enjoyed out last night in Ireland at this hotel. A nice finishing touch to our wonderful stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your stay with us at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant parties. Should you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the near future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing