We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Dublin History”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent our last night in Dublin and Ireland here and it was the highlight of our 18 nights in Ireland. A classic hotel with rich history that has been refurbished and modernized beautifully. Service is superb (the best of world standards), bars and restaurant of high caliber, our room was large enough though not huge and was very well appointed. It is very conveniently located. We stayed using Marriott Points, and regular room rates are on the high side. But this hotel is such a classic, in its history and elegance, that it would be worth it. Great breakfast. Horseshoe Bar is great for a quiet time. The concierge was very helpful getting us dinner reservations at a great place on a very busy night (Arthur's Day). All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you felt The Shelbourne was the highlight of your trip. The hotel is a unique and special property and I am delighted that you agree that it is "elegant, classic and rich in history". Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the service, overall facilities throughout the hotel and our central location. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please contact me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,704)
There are newer reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,758 - 2,764 of 3,707 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at The Shelbourne. I can't say enough about the service. Everyone we met was very polite and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was extraordinarily comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The hotel is located very conveniently, with easy access to great pubs, restaurants, shopping and tourist sites. We will return to Dublin and will definitely stay at The Shelbourne.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GDRMadison_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback and I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to all the relevant parties. If you plan to return to Dublin at any stage please contact me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Love this hotel, right in the center of Dublin, within walking distance of great shopping area, restaurants etc. Service is excellent. Breakfast is fabulous. Great buzz in the bar in the evenings. Very comfortable bed. Only negative was our bedroom/bathroom was a bit tight for space, but we got a very competitive rate so not complaining.

Room Tip: Pay more :-)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmaryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a good time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding our facilities, location and service. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please contact me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After reading all of the reviews here, I expected more from this hotel. The best part was definitely the bed- it was possibly the most amazing bed I've ever slept in, so HUGE points for that. The downside is that it took up almost the whole room. I was not impressed with the size of the room or the decor for the price of this hotel. The bathroom fixtures were definitely fabulous, but the shower had odd/ imbalanced water pressure. I guess I just expected more...

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not the size of a closet!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you found the bed so comfortable and the facilities and decor of our bathrooms impressive. With regard to your room we have several diffeent room categories in the hotel, varying in size. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point please contact me directly on rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com. I will be more than happy to assist you in booking the most suitable room for you. I look forward to hopefully hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 3 night in September for pleasure. Had a heritage room with breakfast included. Room was nice and clean with an old fashioned looked. Bathroom was almost same size as the room. Very warm and comfortable feel.

Hotel lobby and restaurants were good and busy. Friendly staff overall from day to night.
Breakfast menu and buffet was good. Free wifi was a plus.

Overall very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following on from you stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a good time with us and thank you for your comments regarding the facilities and comfort of your room, the service from all of staff members and the overall atmosphere at the hotel. If you plan to return to Dublin at any stage soon please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Shelbourne is old world glamour and elegance. Everything was perfect, we loved our stay here and can't wait to return! The champagne afternoon tea is a must as is dinner in the restaurant! The staff are some of the best I have come across in the service industry! Location can't be beaten!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback and thank you in particular for your comments regarding afternoon tea, dinner in The Saddle Room Restaurant and the professionalism of our staff. I will ensure that this is passed on. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

very helpful staff, we arrived early from an overseas flight and the frontdesk let us use a room to relax and shower. Later they called us to let us know that our room was ready.We paid with Mariott points !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruggeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind feedback regarding our Front Office team in particular. I will ensure that this is passed on. The Shelbourne is part of the Marriott Hotel group and we welcome Marriott guests redeeming points. For all of our Marriott customers we offer many additional benefits. If you would like to make a future booking please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be delighted to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $281 - $1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing