We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in the heart of Dublin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
290 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent in the heart of Dublin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 3 night in September for pleasure. Had a heritage room with breakfast included. Room was nice and clean with an old fashioned looked. Bathroom was almost same size as the room. Very warm and comfortable feel.

Hotel lobby and restaurants were good and busy. Friendly staff overall from day to night.
Breakfast menu and buffet was good. Free wifi was a plus.

Overall very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following on from you stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a good time with us and thank you for your comments regarding the facilities and comfort of your room, the service from all of staff members and the overall atmosphere at the hotel. If you plan to return to Dublin at any stage soon please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,308
    673
    300
    126
    63
See reviews for
699
1,537
109
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
None of anyones business
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Shelbourne is old world glamour and elegance. Everything was perfect, we loved our stay here and can't wait to return! The champagne afternoon tea is a must as is dinner in the restaurant! The staff are some of the best I have come across in the service industry! Location can't be beaten!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback and thank you in particular for your comments regarding afternoon tea, dinner in The Saddle Room Restaurant and the professionalism of our staff. I will ensure that this is passed on. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

very helpful staff, we arrived early from an overseas flight and the frontdesk let us use a room to relax and shower. Later they called us to let us know that our room was ready.We paid with Mariott points !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruggeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind feedback regarding our Front Office team in particular. I will ensure that this is passed on. The Shelbourne is part of the Marriott Hotel group and we welcome Marriott guests redeeming points. For all of our Marriott customers we offer many additional benefits. If you would like to make a future booking please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be delighted to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel with excellent location, where you can reach almost all tourist sites in Dublin. The hotel is nice, good breakfast and very nice bars that are always hot spots on weekends. The staff could be more warm and have more informations about restaurants in town. However a special hotel.

Room Tip: My room had view to the Park. It worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne - I am glad you felt that it was a "special hotel". All of the management and staff try very hard to foster and maintain the atmosphere and service standards for which the Shelbourne has become renowned. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the near future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, mass
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location with a rich history. The rooms were nice with comfortable bed, large bathroom and good closet space. Within walking distance of most areas you want to visit or can jump on off and on bus right outside hotel. Staff friendly and accomodating -thought it might be stuffy - anything but. We enjoyed the restaurant and found the bars a nice place to relax at the end of day. Good food and service yet you will feel comfortable casually dressed. Obviously we enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback and thank you for your kind comments regarding the service and attitude of all our our staff members, the atmosphere in the bar and the food and service in the restaurant. I will ensure this information is communicated to all relevant parties. Please contact me directly when you next intent to visit Dublin. I will be more than happy to personally assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Gorgeous historic hotel right in the heart of Dublin. Our suite overlooked the Park and it was very luxurious with huge bathroom. Nice soft towels and comfortable beds were also a plus. The service was impeccable. We paid with Marriott points which was the best part! We are returning next week at the conclusion of our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind e-mail posted following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. I am pleased that you had such a good time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding the comfort and facilities in the room and the overall service levels at the hotel. You mentioned you plan to return to Dublin in a few days. Please drop me even a one line e-mail letting me know exactly when you are scheduled to return and I can look at your room allocation. Enjoy your couple of days travelling around Ireland and we look forward to seeing you back at The Shelbourne very soon.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

8 guys on a golf trip through Ireland and we decided to treat ourselves on the last night in town. Great positioning, excellent service, the room I stayed in (twin sharing) was superb. Breakfast rather expensive if you have to convert ZAR (Eur65!). Will return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you posting a review following on from your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the location of the hotel, the comfort of the bedrooms and also our overall service levels. There are many fine golf courses in and around County Dublin. For a golfing group the hotel acts as ideal base for you to play a few courses over a couple of days. Indeed the conceirge service here at the hotel are on hand to help you plan and pre-book tee times should you wish. If you plan to return next year if you need anything further please contact me directly. I will be more than happy to assist.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing