We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not fantastic. Location amazing but rooms disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Shelbourne is a Dublin institution, in a fab location on St Stephen's Green. It closed a couple of years ago for major refurbishment, and having moved away from Ireland, this was the first time I was in it since. We were there between Christmas and New Year and the place was buzzing - very atmospheric. In spite of this we were checked in straight away and service was excellent. Unfortunately though, the rooms didn't live up to the excellent impression we had downstairs. Very average, and it was hard to distinguish them from any reasonable 3-4 star hotel I have stayed in. The refurb seems to have concentrated on the areas downstairs, with the rooms and communal areas upstairs being given a basic brush up. Additionally, our room, while billed as non-smoking, smelled of smoke. Initially I though we must be overlooking a smoking area, but worked out it was the carpet smelling. Yuck.
We didn't eat at the restaurant, our meal was elsewhere in town, and the breakfast was ludicrously priced so we skipped it, but we did have pre and post dinner drinks in the bar. It's fab, a great place to people watch, and excellent service given how busy it was.
In short, I wouldn't stay here again, but would visit the bar to soak up the Dublin atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaTyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,706)
There are newer reviews for The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,015 - 3,021 of 3,707 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
Check in was smooth. The room itself was small and the bathroom was very small (no bath). Bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was spotless. The furnishings were all ok and not worn.
Breakfast was only average with particularly watery coffee. The bar is a great people watching spot. Drinks are on the pricey side even for Dublin.
Its main plus point is the location on St Stephens Green. Grafton street is only a short stroll away. Valet Parking was pricey at €25.
I would stay again but probably only if I got a good deal.
Would be great for a special occasion but might need to splash out on a bigger room!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Shelbourne for a week-end in Oct '11.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel til the time we left we received premium service - it could not have been better.
Our room was amazing - very spacious, luxurious and comfortable.
The breakfast choice and service was superb.
I have wonderful memories of this amazing hotel and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemaryMcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for New Year's Eve, and overall had a good experience. The check-in was smooth, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room was a little small, but we weren't expecting a suite! This is an old hotel so that's part of it's charm. The public areas are lovely and give an old-world feel. Most of the staff do try their best to be polite and friendly, throughout the hotel.

The food in the Saddle Room was very good, and the service was also good, though it slowed as the meal went on. Breakfast on the 2nd morning was better than the first, even though our coffee was so weak it didn't taste of coffee and we had no cups or butter on our table. The first morning being New Year's Day, the restaurant was very busy for breakfast and the hotel had set up an extra buffet in the bar to deal with this; this is where we were seated by the waiter. Unfortunately, it didn't have the same selection as the main buffet, and as we didn't know what the latter contained, we came away disappointed.

Service at the bar was quick, despite it being a very busy time of year. However, table service there was a little slower. When we arrived at the hotel, we ordered soup and a sandwich; this took half an hour to get to us, and then it was the wrong order. We asked several times to speak to the bar manager, but when there was no sign of him, we went in search of him. He quickly rectified the situation.

Lastly, parking is quite expensive at €25 a night, and though this is similar in other Dublin city centre hotels, it doesn't justify it.

These minor issues are just that - minor- and overall our experience was very positive. It was a busy time to stay there, but we did pay a not-insignificant amount for it, and regardless of how busy the hotel is, we would expect these issues not to occur. We will hopefully return to this hotel sometime soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were very excited to stay at the Shelbourne as we had been to Dublin several times previously and knew of its excellent reputation. We had booked through Sceptre Tours and I am afraid that is why we were relegated to room 454. The common areas of the hotel are truly grand and the service is absolutely impeccable. Perhaps the best service I have ever had at any hotel anywhere. The location is also excellent as recounted by many others. The room was a bit of a disappointment. The door literally did not fit into the door frame and there was about a two inch crack at the top that looked directly into the hall. Needless to say, all noise from the hallway came directly in. The floor was also unbelievably pitched so walking a straight line at times was a challenge. The bed was very soft but comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful with marble. All in all worth the money we paid for the package but I wonder if I would be so positive if we had paid the full rate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Other reviewers have complained about the size of the Queen room, but we thought it was just fine for two people. The bed was so comfortable and the shower was huge! We got a deal through booking.com and thought it was great value for money. The hotel is so centrally located you just can't beat it being steps from Grafton street. My only quibble would be an expensive breakfast at €32.50 pp and the fact that they seem to charge for wifi access (this should be free for paying guests). Its a beautiful hotel, and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I would recommend for a luxury stay in the heart of Dublin city.

Room Tip: If you really want space you're going to have to make sure to request a large room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Perhaps this like other negative reviews is impacted by the fact that this was a one-night stay in a trip where we primarily stayed in three or four star hotels.

Overall we were left asking ourselves what you get for your extra money in a five star establishment.

The Saddle Room in particular was poor. The service went from inattentive to gushingly servile which made us feel frustrated then uncomfortable. The breakfast selection was actually worse than some of the three star places we had stayed in. They actaully gave us a pot of stone-cold tea with no attempt at a service recovery.

The room was loud, with some ventilation system running above the door even when the air conditioning was switched off. Sleep was only possible with ear plugs.

The bed was old and worn out. If you remember rolling into the centre of your grandfather's bed because the springs were bad you will know what I mean.

The turn-down lady just would not go away.I thought we were going to have to call the police to explain why two half naked people didnt want their bed turned down at that particular moment. She was the wrong sort of persistent.

If we had stayed there for more nights I am sure our overall impression would be different. It maybe be a mistake to stay in lower classed hotels and then treat yourself for one night like we did. In this case we could have saved our money.

Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomasshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $281 - $1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing