We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of ten!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night recently (Saturday, 19th November), as part of our 20th Anniversary celebrations. The entire experience from check-in to check-out was faultless, with the service, the room, and the facilities all exceeding our expectations.
One of the really nice touches was the provision of a bottle of wine and two glasses "on the house" laid out for us in the room. Also, the bed was carefully decorated with red rose petals!
Our room was bigger than expected, very tastefully furnished, with the bonus feature of a balcony with views of the Dublin mountains above the city sky-line.
Because of the occasion, we were not overly concerned with the rate, so we pushed the boat out in that sense. Therefore "value for money" was not a prime consideration. We paid more than we would normally would for good city-centre accommodation and in hind-sight we were certainly not disappointed.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a higher floor, which we got. In relation to this particular hotel, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunshaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,124 - 3,130 of 3,799 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

Had a night in the Shelbourne with my wife and 2 kids (13-14). Booked one room B&B. Room had two doubles and was very nice comfortable with enought room for 4 of us. Its a great location and staff very helpfull and professional. Good bar and good drink expensive as per norm for a hotel of this standard. Bar got a bit crowed and messy late at night but the Lord mayors room for residents is really relaxing for a drink at night. Breakfast was average at best (€30 is expensive) and heard someone complain about the standard of breakfast. Overall very enjoyable stay thought not cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWalshGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in January for 1 night to attend a show. The location is great - smack bang on Stephens Green. The lobby area is very warm and inviting. The room we were given was a queen. The room felt a little damp and had a slightly musty smell, desite recent renovation. The bed clothes were also a little damp. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, however, there was a ring of mould on the tiles surrounding the bath. The bar is lovely and has a great atmosphere. I think I would try one of the other 5 star hotels in Dublin before I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwina69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Well we swore we would never go back to this hotel and for the last 8 years we have been successful BUT the hotel was booked for a business trip and we had to go....... We were dreading it!! What a pleasant surprise, this hotel has been totally refurbished and the staff were pleasant, helpful and smart. So much was the difference I had to walk along the street to make sure I was in the same hotel as the last time - I was so well done everyone for a massive improvement. The bed was comfortable; the room was small but smart with a reasonable view. Little touches like the free water, dressing gowns, etc all make a hotel. We had a drink and a sandwich in the lounge bar. The service was excellent. We would consider this hotel again.
Shame they don't have Wi-Fi and they charge for internet connection - it seems to be a Marriott Policy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Spent a night in The Shelbourne last weekend as I was attending a family wedding there. My husband dropped me off with the luggage and went to park the car. As soon as I stepped on to the pavement two doormen approached me and whisked me and the luggage into the lobby. From that moment to the moment we left the hotel we received a first class service. At check in we enjoyed a glass of warm cider and a cookie and soaked up the wonderful Christmas atmosphere while the friendly receptionist checked us in. The hotel was fully booked and there was a great buzz about the place. We were really impressed with our room which was a heritage room on the fourth floor. We didn't have a view as it was at the back of the hotel but this meant that it was very peaceful. The bedroom was huge with a large king bed, armchairs, TV etc. The bathroom was also huge with beautiful marble fittings, bath and a walk-in shower. The overall feeling was one of luxury. We enjoy our hotel breaks and expect a lot from a 5 star hotel. What stood out for us at The Shelbourne was that we felt like valued customers. All the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming especially the guest relations manager, Raphael. As the hotel was full there were long queues for breakfast and also for check out, which the receptionist had warned us about . We didn't have a problem with this as we lingered over breakfast with friends and took our time checking out. This was our first stay in The Shelbourne but I hope it won't be our last. Staying here at this time of year is a wonderful Christmas treat in the heart of the city. We booked with an on-line company so shop around for good deals. We checked with the hotel first to see if they were happy with the on-line agent. The hotel offer a valet parking service but we booked into St. Stephens Green Shopping Centre who have great on-line overnight and 24hr rates and is a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Book a double deluxe as this is a king room. Would also recommend upgrading to a heritage room if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarindaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We selected the Shelbourne for its central location to Dublin however the room was not what we expected. Yes, it was the pre-Christmas season. Also, as we checked into the hotel evidence of weddings were everywhere suggesting possible reasons for a lack of better, more affordable guest accommodations. The room was adequate for an overnight stay but my wife and I were in Dublin for two nights hoping to see sights not seen since our last foray to Dublin. The staff was friendly and outgoing seeming most desirous to please yet our room was in obvious need of a good carpet cleaning. My wife had encouraged me to seek an upgraded room prior to our arrival but management told us they were completely booked. I will not blame the hotel for something I expected but should have inspected before I paid.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Excellent location and one of the best hotel bars I've ever been to.welcoming reception staff and good breakfast.the one downside is that the rooms aren't really 5 star standard but if you can get a good rate it is well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Shelbourne Hotel while in Dublin and for taking the time to share your impressions.

We are glad that beyond our excellent location you have as well enjoyed the welcoming reception team, the bars and the quality of our breakfast.

Your feedback is extremely important to us and it is by listening to our guests that we are able to maintain our level of service and product we offers throughout The Shelbourne Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distance future.

Kind Regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,079 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
594 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $219 - $1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing