We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Exceptional hotel in downtown Dublin. The hotel's interior is a very nice blend of modern and antique. They were in the process of remodeling the sitting area directly inside the lobby when I arrived. The next morning that same area was completed with new carpet and furniture.
We actually stayed in two different rooms during our time in Dublin. The first room at the beginning of the trip was spacious and well appointed with many useful amenities to the traveler (i.e. in room blow dryer (no need to use converter), and 110 volt adapters built-in). When we returned to Dublin at the end of our trip there was some confusion over our reservation. The front desk was very pleasant to work with and actually upgraded our room for the inconvenience. We were placed in a top floor room with floor to ceiling windows along the length of the room. While it wasn't as spacious as the first room, the view was worth the sacrifice.
The staff were very friendly and curtious--always willing to assist with directions and suggestions. The hotel is in excellent proximity to most of the Dublin "tourist" attractions. St. Stephen's Green is directly across the street and a 1-2 minute walk will take you to Grafton Street. A 10 minute walk will get you to St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin Castle, Trinity College or Christ's Church. An excellent choice when adventuring in Dublin!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at The Shelbourne Hotel.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

You are absolutely right, location is so important! But most of all, we are thrilled that beyond our excellent position you have as well enjoyed the services of our hotel and employees.
The entire team is looking forward to welcome you once again on your next holiday trip to Dublin!

Yours sincerely,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    673
    300
    126
    63
See reviews for
699
1,535
109
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night while waiting for our tour group to arrive in Dublin. The rooms were very nice - old-style charm, complete with old-style quirks like floors that were obviously older under the nicely styled carpets and an apparent elevator that is no longer there next to the central staircase. The hotel was very nice and the staff was extremely helpful. It is located across from a park and only a few blocks away from a massive shopping area, Trinity college, and more. The restaurant is very expensive with breakfast for 4 costing more than $130 USD.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here in September for a 2 nights. Accommodations were fine. The hotel is centrally located which is great. It is an old hotel with a lot of charm that has gone through a refurbishment. The feel is sweet and nice. There is no concierge level but the hotel staff are very good at what they do and helpful as well. The buffet breakfast is very good but we did not have any other meal. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billkhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at the Shelbourne for two nights on a short break with my wife and friends in Dublin. The hotel is in a good location, easy to walk to the main shopping areas and about 25 mins stroll from the Guiness factory - although beware the maps the hotel concierge give out don't show the location of the guiness store but rather the depot.
Our room on the fifth floor was spacious and well equipped although I would have appreciated a kettle and tea / coffee and the water pressure in the main shower was very poor (we ended up using the hose).
Service in the bars and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel ticks all the boxes; location, luxury and service. The standard rooms are superbly comfortable. Buffet breakfast is freshly cooked and has a vast selection of food. The bars are stylish and always buzzing. Staff are extremely helpful and most pleasant. Search around for best deals, as prices can vary quite a bit.

Room Tip: Even if your booking is made through an on-line company, you can still ring the hotel and ask to spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We recently spent one night at the Shelbourne, then returned for another three nights at the end of our trip. First stay was okay. Room was small but we had a pretty good view. We commented that we would prefer a larger room upon our return, and indeed were given a much larger room with a similar view. The only fault with the room was the fact that it was on the top floor (8) of the back section of the hotel and it was located just under the elevator equipment room. Although we adjusted to it, there was a bit of a noise that some might find distracting.
I agree with the many reviews that this is definitely not a five star hotel. It is an extremely busy hotel and while the rooms are very quiet, the lobby and other first floor areas are full of people and activity. Its quite the happening place and hosts a number of weddings and other events. If you are looking for a hotel with a subdued atmosphere, go elsewhere.
In spite of the drawbacks, we would stay here again. We felt that the room rate was very fair and that the staff was excellent. Maid service wasn't consistent insofar as we didn't always receive evening turn-down service or replenishment of amenities used.

Room Tip: Ask for view of St. Stephens Green on an upper floor either in the front or back section of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on vacation and the hotel was very nice. Because I am gold status with Marriott we also received free breakfast each morning which was very nice and saved us a lot of money. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful.

The only complaint is that the floors were uneven so walking down the hallways felt a little like you were in a fun house!

The rooms were very nice and clean and big especially for Europe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing