We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #19 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We stayed for two nights at the Shelbourne and really thought the hotel was special.
All the staff were fabulous!
The rooms spacious and the beds comfortable.
Meals are great!
The hotel is truely a special place to visit!
Although it is big and very popular (not just for guests who are staying there) the staff make you feel special.
Worth the money!
Great position.
Though I cannot believe the traffic in Dublin!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,699 - 3,705 of 3,902 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2007

After a week in Germany i was delighted to spend two nights in The Shelbourne. Beds were unbeliveably comfortable, the suite was spacious and grand and the breakfast has to be the best i had in 25 years globle trotting in business.
Open fires, Georgian sitting rooms, and excellant service make this a truly great hotel.
One critical tip is to book your evening dinner in Dublin 3 years in advance. Places are in short supply. Good job my wife is understanding and sleep was a desperate requirment.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

A very nice hotel. The concierge was helpful (but unsuccessful) in trying to find dinner reservations for us. Our room was lovely - the bed was very comfortable. It is about two blocks from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green mall. My only complaint was that the fire alarm went off for nearly 30 minutes at 4:30 in the morning and no one answered the phone at the front desk to confirm that it was a false alarm.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank car6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Stayed for a week and found the staff and accomodations to be excellent. Had access to the concierge lounge which was outstanding in terms of both staff and food.

Lots of historical signficance to the hotel too. One thing I didn't understand was the seemingly casual approach to history in the room where the Irish constitution was drafted. For example, it looked like the chair that Michael Collins presumably sat in at the time is being used as part of the daily meeting room setup. There was an original typed draft of the constitution in a display box that didn't look very secure.
I would think that management would want to ensure that the artifacts from the time are not destroyed or lost so that the room retains its historical signficance. Michael Collin's chair, etc., ought to be taken out of use and put on display in the room in a secure manner.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Californiatravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

stayed in deluxe room lovely with great bed breakfast not worth the money liked the athmosphere however agree with other reviewer that front of house should be irish as this hotel is an irish institution .

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank galTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

The location is ideal. The staff are solicitous without being unctious. The rooms, which were renovated at enormous expense ( maybe ten or twenty minutes ago) are luxurious, comfortable, crisp and immaculate. Everything works. The shower was fine, the complimentary shampoo and soap good enough that I went shopping for them on nearby Grafton Street. The windows opened---which is a plus for me. And the lighting in the room was as good as, or better than, any hotel I've ever been in. Flat-panel tv, comfy robes, complimentary newspaper and a grand bar on the ground floor.
I'm guessing this hotel would not work well for Shane MacGowan, Sid Vicious or Pol Pot, but for just about everyone else, it will do.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AlexCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying here a couple of Saturdays ago. It's easy to see where the millions in renovations went, the building is fantastic.
Unfortunately though, the hotel falls down when it comes to its staff. It felt like everyone was trying way too hard. Most come across as disingenuos. Not fake in anyway, just trying to be something they are not. Obviously following orders from someone who doesn't know what his/her clientelle expect from and upmarket hotel.
If I was someone travelling in from outside Ireland, I would expect that traditional warm Irish welcome. However, you will not get that here. This could be a nice hotel in any major city in the world. It's a pity because this hotel has been an Irish institution for such a long and it seems they have missed an opportunity to offer it's clients a unique experience.

Overall this is a great hotel and I guess things will settle down over time.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $240 - $1,803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing