We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife and I recently returned to Ireland for vacation. We decided that we would stay in Dublin and do day trips if we wanted to travel outside of Dublin. We booked the Shelbourne Dublin (Renaissance) because we really liked the location.

The location turned out to be perfect for what we wanted which was just to relax, do some pub hopping, listen to great music, have a wide selection of good restaurants and do some sightseeing. We walked everywhere from the hotel and we felt safe regardless of the time of day or night.

More importantly, the staff at the hotel was superb. They were very friendly and very helpful in recommending restaurants or pubs. Their service in the hotel restaurant (breakfast) was fast and courteous. Every staff member that we met during our five days was very pleasant and always greeted us.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return to the Shelbourne when we return to Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,276
    665
    299
    126
    63
See reviews for
689
1,519
108
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

we didn't actually stay in the hotel but visited friends here and joined them for dinner. The hotel is very elegant from the outside and extremely luxurious on the inside. It is worth taking a walk into the lobby even just to see the chandeliers and grand stair case. We eat in the Saddle Room restaurant and had a 3 course menu for 40 euro. The choice on this menu was excellent and the pork fillet is a must have. The restaurant itself is very nice and busy..we had a really intimate and extravagant gold booth. The young Irish man serving us could not have done enough, his knowledge of the menu and wine selection was very impressive, he recommended restaurants for us to visit in Paris and Edinburgh that he knows where we are going to soon, this really added the wow factor. The most impressive part was when a plate was brought out with sweets and 'happy birthday' written in chocolate on it. This was a real surprise for me and well done to the kitchen and waiter for organising this.

The only flaw is the lighting in the restaurant which is very low, it makes it very hard to read the menus.

We had drinks after in the Horse Shoe bar where again we were amazed at the knowledge of the bar tender on the whiskey menu. This bar is really old fashioned and not like any other hotel bar I have been in.

This Hotel is really worth a visit for dinner or drinks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkellyAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester OH
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed at the Shelbourne last week for three nights. It was a wonderful experience, the hotel was lovely, the service great and the location outstanding. You could walk easily to any number of sites and shopping destinations. Recommend highly

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niamb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We booked this hotel via an offer on Travel Zoo and got a great deal of €150 for two including breakfast with an upgrade to a Heritage room. An Irish colleague told me to 'bite their hands off' at that rate! It's the best location in Dublin', he wasn't wrong.
First impressions were wow! A real 5 star hotel with service to go with it, from the door man taking our cases from us, to the speedy reception. Our room was ready for us, even though we arrived at 10:30am and what a room, we could have played football in it. My wife and daughter couldn't get over the whole ambiance and quality of the room. We knew from when we first entered the hotel we were in for a first class stay.
A couple of minor problems that were quickly over come without any fuss or bother, which is always a good indicator of the quality of staff, they passed with flying colours.
Although we didn't eat in the hotel, wishing to experience Dublin nightlife, we did have breakfast, which was ample, varied and good.
Staff at reception were always helpful with advice, such as which bus to take to an attraction and never failed to smile when passing guests in the common areas.
If you're going to Dublin and can afford it, try the Shelbourne; it's close to all the main attractions, city centre, has good staff and a treat to be away from corporate hotels.

Room Tip: Look for deals on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterHopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a great stay and superb service from the head concierge Denis O'Brien. He was most helpful and spent hours helping solve our problem back in Edinburgh, Scotland. He has been on the job for 25 years and it seems no problem is too big for him. He is also a big man - in many ways.

We were upgraded to very nice room #640 with access to Heritage Room. Good beds, large bathroom, great shower, view of park, etc.
Also had breakfast included, but only on week days. Heritage Room is nice, but no services (except coffee) on weekends. Internet wifi access is available in room, but only for one device.
Biggest BUT was Martha, assistant manager. She was of no help. Only wanted to explain why they could not do something - instead of trying to help. She needs to find another job.
We had dinner in the Saddle restaurant on the early bird (before 19:00) and it was good and a good value. The server was very attentive, too. Bar was also nice, and you can get a smaller meal in there.
St. Steven's Green park is beautiful and there is plenty of things within walking distance to see and do.
Go there and have a great time, BUT stay away from Martha.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

go for a drink - see the famous bar (which is amazing) and be part of the scene - yet, stay somewhere else so as not to be disappointed - skip the icy staff and standard queen room - the bathroom was as big as an airplane bathroom with no tub and a sink/counter ( think airplane size) that you had to crouch down to reach - To be fair, it is great to be at a hotel with such rich history - but feeling like you are in someones maids quarters ruins the luxury. Worst hotel room by far during our 10 day trip with 3 other 5 star hotels as competition

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christywtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Shelbourne Hotel is, of course, a historic experience. The remodeling that apparently changed the hotel in the recent past has not entirely taken away from the original elegance and beauty the Shelbourne has possessed through the years. As an American visitor and a fan of old Hollywood movies I got a kick out of the allusions made to Princess Grace throughout the hotel. There is even a room dedicated to her in the back section of the hotel. Although I'm not sure if that was only due the fact that her son and his significant other were visiting the Hotel around the time I stayed there... Perhaps the Grace Kelly Salad isn't a regular on the menu in the tea room... In any case, I loved the ambiance of the rooms and the hotel in general. The beds were mostly comfortable and rooms felt clean. I don't have any complaints in that regard, only compliments. In fact I would have thought it one of the best experiences I've ever had if not for the problem my boyfriend had with the concierge.

You see, apparently, my boyfriend was planning to ask me to marry him during our stay.... However, he wanted to make sure his plans would succeed after several failed attempts at romance, in which he decided in his better judgment not to propose, so he enlisted the help of our concierge. He later told me that he practically threw himself at the rather plump man's mercy, and the man coldly said he needed "...more help." On his first attempt he took me on a trip to the country using very rudimentary directions provided by the concierge. We wandered around like a couple of confused idiots for a bit until we found a very small beach with a lost dog... That was depressingly unromantic and we were hungry so we returned to the hotel morose and in bad spirits. My boyfriend was, of course, becoming very anxious and alarmed. He decided to try again the next day. This time the concierge suggested a terrible restaurant with reservations for 9:15pm... The cab provided got lost and we had to walk. The restaurant was totally unromantic and the food unsavory. He asked for a table in a quiet, romantic place so he could get down on one knee and propose. Instead we were placed an arm's length away from huge family. Of course, my boyfriend could have "made it work" but was too troubled to pull it off...

We left Ireland depressed, frustrated and unengaged. All complaints made to the concierge about the debacle produced nothing. Apparently it isn't his job to be helpful.

Other than that, it was honestly a beautiful stay. Just don't expect too much beyond what the building and the cleaning staff will provide...

Room Tip: Don't stay near the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLC129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing