We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Staying for 2 nights, checking out today but i have to say this visit was disappointing.

Reception area, bar, breakfast area was very convenient and great for our conference which is all about networking however the rooms really let me down.

Room 300 located at the very end of a long corridor first impressions were basic, but ok. However after searching high and low i couldn't find any aircon unit even though the website states so. Feeling disappointed i opened the window, however this room is located above the car park and from 6am all you can hear is the trolleys, pallets, bins being moved outside, the noise and vibrations are very disturbing. Being here for work i had little sleep and when i went to bed i wanted to sleep but couldn't. I came back to my room for some rest later in the day but the room was so warm and the noise continuing!!!

A nice new tv in the room but could not hear it with the window open!

Plenty of other good hotels to choose from in this price range for next visit.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Pwalker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,074 - 2,080 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's expensive but it looks lovely, just avoid the bar restaurant, the service and food are bad. The break fast is good and the beds are comfortable. Location is okay, it's close to the canal but it's a bus journey to the centre. We were disappointed that they weren't more accommodating and there's no leisure centre. Staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

I would like to apologize for your recent stay not exceeding your expectations. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of the meal you had in the Hotel Bar so that we may review your feedback in greater detail.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It can be tough to find a great hotel in Europe at a reasonable price. We booked this hotel sight unseen based on photos on the Web. We had a great experience. Check-in was easy and quick. The rooms are very nicely appointed. My single room had a very comfortable queen bed, unusual sometimes for a single in Europe. On the same trip, we went to Edinburgh, and my single room was just a touch over dorm room size with a twin bed. But the Doubletree was great. Very clean room, free bottle of water put in the room daily, flat screen TV, and FREE wifi. Made keeping in touch with home easier. The lobby and lounge area were spotless and well-appointed. Prices for a pint in the hotel were no more than outside. And breakfast - make sure you add the full Irish breakfast. I have always enjoyed the full breakfasts in the UK, and Ireland is no different. Great variety, great quality, and freshness. And I love my pot of tea with breakfast. I'll definitely stay at this hotel when I go back in 2015.

Room Tip: Can't say which rooms are better, but check for rooms nearer the elevators. There can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesU2855FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road during your visit to Europe.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Our breakfast team will be so happy to hear that you found our breakfast buffet to have a great variety, great quality, and freshness! A Full Irish Breakfast is a great way to start your day when touring Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015 for another enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is going through a change at its for the better , good service with friendly smiles , ten minutes walk to St Stephens green and all the action , good bar, nice beds and very clean , views from rooms not good but this should not be problem

Room Tip: Ask for front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay following our refurbishment works since joining the DoubleTree by Hilton brand last year. Thank you for your kind words about the warm welcome and friendly smiles you received from our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for many more enjoyable stays.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed for one night. I was greeted on arrival, Yulia was hugely welcoming at check-in (I was late and she took pity on me and provided a cookie!), staff generally were very helpful, the room was modern, clean, well-appointed and there was a free newspaper in the morning. Breakfast really set me up for the day! Would return next week!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your kind words about the warm welcome you received from Yulia on Front desk. I have now shared your positive feedback with the entire team.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

David Monks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the outside, it looks like a hospital. Kind of like a concrete jungle but when you enter it is everything but. The decor inside is very modern and chic. The bar area was very inviting and the ambience around the lounge area was very relaxing.

Check in was very quick and you get a complementary cookie which was awesome. The room was a nice size but quite plain. The kingsize bed had good lumbar and was comfortable. The bath/shower and toilet was nice but I was missing some toiletries.
All in all it was comfortable. The one gripe I had which others have had is that there is no thermostat to manage the room temperature, it is fixed.

The buffet breakfast was satisfying and had enough of a range for me. There was also tableside service from waiters which was good as I didnt have to walk with hot cups of coffee to and from my table.

The staff were very courteous and everything my stay was very comfortable. Will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connoisseur1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent trip to Dublin.
We are pleased to hear how you comfortable you found your recent stay from our welcoming cookies, King Sized Beds and Breakfast Buffet.

Please accept our apologies if you found some toiletries items to be missing in your guestroom. Typically, all our guestrooms are provided with Towels and a selection of Crabtree & Evelyn Citron Honey & Coriander bath products (Shampoo/ Conditioner/ Body Lotion/Soap Bar/Shower Gel). As per the information in our guestrooms DoubleTree by Hilton operates a Travel Light programme which offers guests a selection of additional complimentary items can be requested from our CAREline for example combs, tooth brushes etc.

We are currently upgrading our air cooling system and works are scheduled to be completed in the coming weeks.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Jane
Jane Igoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Bar massive but empty so no atmosphere; poor selection of beers but staff very helpful and attentive. Rooms average, very clean but bath small (in king size room). Guy hoovering bar long before closing .. still 20 people in but cleared bar by doing this.reception not very informative, we booked special access to lounge but we had to return to reception and ask specifically for details - not what you expect from 4 star hotel. No offering of info re breakfast times etc. Will not be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

The Hotel’s main bar BBar currently stocks over 20 different beers/larger/stouts; if there is something in particular you felt we were missing we would love to hear from you.

Please accept our apologies if you felt information regarding our executive lounge and breakfast times were not made readily available to you. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of your recent stay (e.g. Full Name and dates of your stay) so that we may investigate this further with our front office team.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $118 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splitty, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing