We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this hotel which we really much enjoyed. The old Burlington Hotel charm in newly refurbished atmosphere. Exceptionally friendly staff throughout the whole hotel and good value for money which also reflected in a very mixed clientele which seems like a good sign. Although the hotel seems really big and constantly busy the atmosphere was calm and relaxed at all times and we felt appreciated as guests. As soon as the outside areas are completely finished this will be one of the prime Dublin hotels and we can highly recommend it for a city trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are all delighted to receive your recommendation to future guests to stay with us for a city trip to Dublin. Thank you for your kind and encouraging words about our ‘’Exceptionally friendly staff’’ and how you ‘’felt appreciated as guests’’ I have now shared your feedback with the entire team.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

David Monks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    967
    336
    130
    81
See reviews for
325
785
107
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had an excellent stay with my mum, sister and niece here at the weekend. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was amazing with very quick check in and check out. Great location, only minutes from town, we walked in, it took less than 20mins & it's a nice walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ireland-Review123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are all delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and how please you all were with our Guest Rooms, Hotel Breakfast and Service Levels. I have now shared your feedback with the entire team.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you and your family back again for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

David Monks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONEGAL, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great hotel. Very comfy beds. Good location for AVIVA and O2 Only bad point is that i was charged more when checking out than i was quoted when i booked over the phone. I had booked directly with the hotel too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin.

We are pleased that you found our beds to be comfortable and that our location was convenient for you.

We were disappointed to hear that you found a discrepancy between the rate you were quoted by telephone and the rate on checkout. We would very much like the opportunity to review your feedback and I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of your recent stay (e.g. Full Name and dates of your stay) so that we may investigate.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I'll start by saying that, could I have packed that magnificent bed into my suitcase and taken it home, I would have been sorely tempted to do so. It was by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

My room (6th floor) was spotless, stylish and spacious. The service at reception, in the bar and at breakfast excellent. As a vegan, it was great to have soya milk available and plenty of willingness by restaurant staff to double-check ingredients and make minor adjustments where needed. It would have been nice to see some fresh vegetables or salad at breakfast, but there was enough there to keep me happy.

My only niggles came with the bathroom. While new and immaculate, the water pressure in the shower was abysmal. Instead of the powerful hot shower the new facilities seemed to promise, I got a feeble drizzle. I did raise it with the front desk who sent someone to check while I was out, but reported back that this was 'normal'. I can't fault the front desk staff for the comp of breakfast for this, but really think this should be looked at by a hotel whose motto is 'little things mean everything'. For me, a decent shower ranks up there after cleanliness and a good night's sleep, so quite a biggie.

Other bathroom niggles included hiding the toilet flush mechanism behind the seat lid and locating the toilet roll holder right where you are going to bang your elbow painfully when searching for it.

All in all, a lot of good, but really should have done better on the bathroom ergonomics and water pressure. Hopefully the latter is an easier fix and somewhere on their to-do list with the refurbishment.

Note: My room was on the 6th floor. It may be that lower rooms have better water pressure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Artemistica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

All the team here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel genuinely care about our guests and we really understand that all the little things mean everything to our guests that’s why I would love to follow up on your feedback regarding water pressure and bathroom layout. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with details of your recent stay (e.g. Full Name and dates of your stay) so that we may investigate further.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Myself and my partner travelled to Dublin to celebrate his 31st birthday. Upon arriving at the hotel we were told our room wasn't ready and as we had been travelling for most of the day we were very tired and wanted to have a lie down! the receptionist was extremely helpful and managed to swap our rooms for us to get us checked in quicker. I also mentioned on checking in that it was my partners birthday in passing, the next morning we found a birthday card and a small box of chocolates waiting for us on the bed! The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and the staff were excellent. There are 3 bars to choose from inside the hotel however I would recommend the B bar, the drinks were fairly reasonably priced for Dublin and again the staff were very friendly recommending cocktails for us to try. The website says the hotel is within walking distance to the city center however we took taxis as we found it was a little too far to walk, around 30-40 minutes. The location isn't as central as we hoped but still close enough. Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road to celebrate your partner’s birthday.

We are delighted to hear how please you were with the surprise Birthday Card and Chocolates we left in your guestroom.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you again for your continued support.

Yours sincerely,
Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a wonderful two night stay here in January. The hotel is located very close to beautiful parks and also the famous Temple road (the road dotted with eateries and a must visit for first timers). Enjoyed the cookie offered at check-in (this i guess is similar with other double tree hotels as well). The staff is very very polite and helpful especially the concierge. The breakfast spread is superb with lot of healthy options - fresh fruits and juices. Even though the restaurant was full house, I could easily notice the committed associates making sure that the chaffing dishes are constantly refilled. Truly efficient indeed. keep up the good work. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

We are all delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to Dublin including the Temple Bar district and our local parks. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our welcome cookie and the hotels breakfast, I have now shared your feedback with the entire team.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

David Monks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I noticed one guest booked an event within 2 hours of hotel arrival. BIG mistake, one should NEVER do that. As we don't know if flight will arrive on time or if you arriving by other means , there is always a possibility that you won't arrive on time, or guests may not leave their rooms on time. For those guests who had non refundable tickets for an event taking place within 2 hours of hotel arrival, should of simply asked the hotel manager to keep their suite cases and gone to their event. Upon return the hotel would have the situation solved, and one last point, when you choose to book online "there is non one to tell you the check in time at most hotels is 3pm or later due to guests leaving by 12 and hotel needs time to clean the rooms, this is standard. Perhaps next time these guests can call a travel agent and this should not happen. They would of strongly encouraged not to make any important plans that short time of arrival.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pic02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear guest,

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your review.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 151 in Dublin
1,881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing