We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old Dublin favorite revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shanghai
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An old Dublin favorite revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Burlington now the Double Tree Hilton was one of Dublin's institutions when I lived in Ireland way back when and as I was visiting Dublin in December I was curious to see how it had survived! Well I wasn't disappointed even though the hotel was still under renovation and not quite finished. Every part of the hotel has been modernized - the rooms, the reception restaurant and the bar and it looks good. Visit the bar and try their 'one + one' the old name for fish and chips in Dublin - they also have an interesting selection of craft beers from Waterford - try the Helvick Head blond ale. Good Irish breakfast and friendly efficient staff. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road and for your recommendation to future guests to visit our Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with our renovations to date and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Hotel’s B-Bar. The Fish and Chips dish known as 'one + one' is one of our most popular dishes, the cod itself is even battered in local larger from the Five Lamps Brewing Company.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future when all minor renovation works are completed for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    945
    324
    127
    79
See reviews for
322
764
105
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice hotel, nice location, friendly staff , great value. Overall this hotel is a fab location to visit Dublin City from both a business and tourist point of view. Meeting and relaxation facilities top class and the staff are very helpful and friendly in all departments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Doubletree by Hilton Dublin - Burlington Road.

Both my colleagues and I are delighted to hear that our Hotel could accommodate both your Business and leisure requirements. Thank you for your kind words about our ‘Helpful and Friendly’ team-I will now share them with our entire team.


Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.


Sincerely,

David Monks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Double Tree by Hilton Hotel in Dublin recently (which most people know as the Burlington). I really loved the personal touch of receiving a warm chocolate chip cookie on check-in. I was surprised firstly and thought what a lovely touch! I must also complement the refurbishment of the rooms .. fantastic! So fresh and calming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ginx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor .

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a pleasant experience during your recent stay, here at DoubleTree we understand that the little things mean everything to our guests especially our DoubleTree Cookies! Thank you for your feedback regarding your guest room we are so pleased you found them to be fresh and calming.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas and impressed with the level of service and the quality of the room. We arrived very early and received a warm welcome from the friendly doorman. He gave us good pointers on what to see nearby (The Green/Grafton Street/walking tours) Things got even better at the front desk when the clerk with a smile told us our room was ready and we could use it immediately (at 7:30am) Every request was promptly responded to by the friendly staff (ice, razors etc)-loved those warm cookies too.

Christmas party season was in full swing in Dublin so we enjoyed the buzz in the Lobby each evening, everyone dressed to the 9's and having fun.

I usually stay in Ballsbridge, Leeson Street is a wonderful location a short walk from The Green and all other attractions. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel is going through a refurbishment and there is a nightclub on the premises, however we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation to future guests to stay with our Hotel.

We are so please to hear how much you enjoyed your stay during the Christmas Party Season.
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Hotel Team (Concierge, Front Desk etc.) -we have shared your kind words with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schmalinbach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location great staff very friendly My family and I enjoyed our stay. The bar in the hotel has good prices and the food is good as well. The front desk is very helpful with planning trips for you. I was there for NEW YEARS and it was awesome. I recommend buying the hop on hop off two day pass. You can walk to the bus stop in ten minutes from the hotel and then see all of Dublin on the bus and can get off at any of the major attractions. Enjoy and have a beer for me

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mildred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation to future guests to stay with our Hotel-the Hotel’s B-Bar is fully stocked with Beers, Ales and Larger for any future guest wishing to drink to your good health!

Thank you for selecting DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin Burlington Road to ring in the New Year with. We are so please our front desk team could assist you with planning your site seeing trips-your recommendation to future guests to buy the Hop on Hop off Tour Bus Ticket is an excellent suggestion as it allows you to pack in as much as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is in the process of being renovated. We were told that we were in a renovated room, however the renovation is either VERY old OR just POORLY done. The location, price, and staff were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here with my family in Sept 2013. I was there to attend a conference, great location and it made attending with babies really easy. The staff were lovely. They were very accommodating with interconnecting rooms and cots for babies. The decor is dated and the hotel needed some TLC or a couple of good maintenance men! Hilton was transforming the hotel during our stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your September stay on TripAdvisor.
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Hotel Team -we have shared your kind words with the entire team.

Since your stay in September over 200 additional guest rooms have been fully refurbished along with main guest area such as the Hotel Lobby, B-Bar, and Executive Lounge Hotel Restaurant. Our contractors and Engineering Teams are currently focused on injecting some TLC back into our property with renovations due for completion in March 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future so that you can enjoy our complete renovations.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing