We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #53 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newtownards
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is top notch, stayed for New Year and I would highly recommend it, the room we stayed in was a new room, so comfortable, the reception area was so grand and the bar, well that was just excellent, it was a wee bit of a distance to Grafton Street and Temple Bar, however we just walked it and was there within 15 minutes. I will recommend this hotel to my friends for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starry19840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Dublin to celebrate the New Year with. We really appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your recent stay and for your recommendation to friends to stay with our Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed both the Hotel Lobby and B-Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    935
    314
    122
    75
See reviews for
316
750
105
804
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Arrived at the hotel feeling somewhat down having being delayed by Aer Lingus and missed the Lexus Chase at Leopardstown - the staff at Doubletree were 1st class - we had a super room and when we returned from a visit to the bar there was a card in the room offering a free drink to both of us. Small touches sometimes mean a lot - staff also quickly sorted out an extra nights stay for us and provided complimentary breakfast. As good customer service as I have experienced on my travels - Aer Lingus should be grateful that Hilton got us back on an even keel - well done to Grail on reception!!
Bar staff were 1st class as well and I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel or in recommending it to friends

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation to future guests to stay with our Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time during your recent stay, here at DoubleTree we understand that the little things mean everything to our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words about Grail on reception and our Bar team-we have shared your kind and encouraging words with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Easy to get to from the airport by bus (the stop is right in front of the hotel). They were expecting us, and greeted us with warm cookies. Our room was clean and spacious, enough that when I asked for a roll-away bed for my daughter, they brought in a double bed complete with bed springs and mattress! (Dec 2013 this hotel has been recently renovated; ask about water pressure, and if there is still an issue get a room on a lower floor.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are simply delighted that you felt right at home during your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dublin Hotel.

We were only too happy to accommodate your request for an additional bed for your daughter and we are so pleased that she was comfortable in the bed provided by our accommodation team.

We wish you a safe return journey to the United States and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed in the Double tree Hotel Dublin (Burlington) on the weekend before Christmas, The Hotel lobby & bar has been updated recently & there was a nice relaxing atmosphere when checking in. After check in we had a quick bite of lunch in the bar area (Food was good value & very tasty).
The Location of the Hotel with ample car parking so close to the city centre is a major plus.
Overrall, the weekend stay was extemely good value, excellent attentive service & we most certainly will be back when next visiting dublin

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are better for getting a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeiseBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated Hotel Lobby and B-Bar and that you also had the opportunity to sample some of our ‘tasty’ bar food and ‘attentive service’.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I think the Doubletree was recently been acquired and the renewal of he interior might have finished on the first few floors and it does look great. The only problem is that the floors higher up are still being done up and at 7 in the morning the outside escalator goes up and down till 5 in the evening.
Fortunately it was the time for me to wake up but if your room is on the outside of the building you might want to check if you have the lift nearby.

Other than that the hotel looks and feels very upmarket. Breakfast is well stocked with all the basics but all good stuff. I will enjoy staying here again on my next trip into Dublin (just not on that side of the elevator).

Also the wifi is not as strong everywhere in the room, it was ok on the desk but signal dropped when I was on the bed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated ground floor Hotel Lobby, B-Bar and Restaurant. Currently, renovations are being completed on the remaining guest rooms and are scheduled for completion in early March 2013.

In relation to Wi-Fi in your guest room, I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com and confirm the dates of your stay and room number so that our engineering team may investigate this issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Double Tree by Hilton is situated close to Major financial institutions in Dublin and have nice restaurants in nearby area to try different food. The services provided by hotel are very professional and good value for money. Highly recommended for business and leisure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vinay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin and that you found our location to be convenient for both your leisure and business needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The DT Dublin hotel has a lot of potential and I hope in 2014 when the construction is over it will be a very nice hotel with positive reviews. The lobby is very nice and comfortable, decorated very nicely for the holidays. Our room was not ready when we checked in, we walked around and had the bell hop hold our luggage. He recommended places to eat, very friendly. The hotel is a little far from the center and it was a long walk to any of the attractions and restaurants.

Got to our room and it was average. Nothing to write home about, your typical European hotel room, very small and comfortable. Flat screen TV, coffee maker, and a clean bathroom. We did get one of the rooms that were not renovated yet because the front girl recommended it, she said if she gave us a renovated room it would be very noisy and we were there on our anniversary trip. All in all everything was average, although the last night we stayed there, I think there was about 20 college kids there for a Christmas Party and all stayed on our floor. They were obnoxious and loud, running around the floor and talking as loud as they could. We didn't complain, just tried to sleep but it was ok, we had a flight the next day and slept through it. Next time I would rather pay a little more and stay in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to congratulations on your recent anniversary, we hope that you had an enjoyable visit to Ireland to celebrate your special occasion.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated Hotel Lobby and that you enjoyed the Christmas Decorations we have on display. Thank you for your kind words about our concierge team we were delighted they could assist you with recommendations on attractions in Dublin city.

Currently, renovations are being completed on the remaining guest rooms and are scheduled for completion in early March 2013.

We wish you a safe return journey to the United States and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing