We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Value, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Value, Excellent Location”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed in the Double tree Hotel Dublin (Burlington) on the weekend before Christmas, The Hotel lobby & bar has been updated recently & there was a nice relaxing atmosphere when checking in. After check in we had a quick bite of lunch in the bar area (Food was good value & very tasty).
The Location of the Hotel with ample car parking so close to the city centre is a major plus.
Overrall, the weekend stay was extemely good value, excellent attentive service & we most certainly will be back when next visiting dublin

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are better for getting a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeiseBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated Hotel Lobby and B-Bar and that you also had the opportunity to sample some of our ‘tasty’ bar food and ‘attentive service’.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    944
    322
    127
    78
See reviews for
321
763
105
818
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I think the Doubletree was recently been acquired and the renewal of he interior might have finished on the first few floors and it does look great. The only problem is that the floors higher up are still being done up and at 7 in the morning the outside escalator goes up and down till 5 in the evening.
Fortunately it was the time for me to wake up but if your room is on the outside of the building you might want to check if you have the lift nearby.

Other than that the hotel looks and feels very upmarket. Breakfast is well stocked with all the basics but all good stuff. I will enjoy staying here again on my next trip into Dublin (just not on that side of the elevator).

Also the wifi is not as strong everywhere in the room, it was ok on the desk but signal dropped when I was on the bed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated ground floor Hotel Lobby, B-Bar and Restaurant. Currently, renovations are being completed on the remaining guest rooms and are scheduled for completion in early March 2013.

In relation to Wi-Fi in your guest room, I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com and confirm the dates of your stay and room number so that our engineering team may investigate this issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Double Tree by Hilton is situated close to Major financial institutions in Dublin and have nice restaurants in nearby area to try different food. The services provided by hotel are very professional and good value for money. Highly recommended for business and leisure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vinay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin and that you found our location to be convenient for both your leisure and business needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The DT Dublin hotel has a lot of potential and I hope in 2014 when the construction is over it will be a very nice hotel with positive reviews. The lobby is very nice and comfortable, decorated very nicely for the holidays. Our room was not ready when we checked in, we walked around and had the bell hop hold our luggage. He recommended places to eat, very friendly. The hotel is a little far from the center and it was a long walk to any of the attractions and restaurants.

Got to our room and it was average. Nothing to write home about, your typical European hotel room, very small and comfortable. Flat screen TV, coffee maker, and a clean bathroom. We did get one of the rooms that were not renovated yet because the front girl recommended it, she said if she gave us a renovated room it would be very noisy and we were there on our anniversary trip. All in all everything was average, although the last night we stayed there, I think there was about 20 college kids there for a Christmas Party and all stayed on our floor. They were obnoxious and loud, running around the floor and talking as loud as they could. We didn't complain, just tried to sleep but it was ok, we had a flight the next day and slept through it. Next time I would rather pay a little more and stay in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to congratulations on your recent anniversary, we hope that you had an enjoyable visit to Ireland to celebrate your special occasion.

We are so pleased that you were impressed with our recently renovated Hotel Lobby and that you enjoyed the Christmas Decorations we have on display. Thank you for your kind words about our concierge team we were delighted they could assist you with recommendations on attractions in Dublin city.

Currently, renovations are being completed on the remaining guest rooms and are scheduled for completion in early March 2013.

We wish you a safe return journey to the United States and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've stayed here three times over the past month, with a different experience on each occasion. Firstly, for the very reasonable price, overall it's a good spot to spend a night in Dublin - rooms are generally of a good enough size, fairly comfortable and in quite good condition, and bathrooms are fine. However, the finer details vary between rooms. In one, the decor of the room was a touch dated and hadn't appeared to be refurbished, but the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom was superb. On another occasion we were in a room which had clearly been refurbished, but that bathroom didn't look like it had been, and the bed was far harder and less comfortable than before. Hopefully when the endless refurbishments are complete, all bedrooms and bathrooms will have been refurbished to the same high standard.
An additional point is problems with restricted parking spaces while refurbishments are ongoing at the hotel. However, staff have gone out of their way to squeeze my car in at least twice. At the same time, if you're staying over the weekend, arriving late on a Saturday, it's probably just as easy (and free) to park on Burlington Road.
Finally, breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Check if the room and bathroom has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_83838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our guest rooms, I would be most grateful if you could please contact me @ jane.igoe@hilton.com with the details of your recent stay e.g. dates and booking name so that our engineering team may investigate your feedback. Currently, renovations are being completed on the remaining guest rooms and are scheduled for completion in early March 2013.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,


Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for it's excellency and location. There's an amazing buffet breakfast. The staff is very nice and competent in special
Mr Tiago Henriques. He has always been very helpful, attentive and friendly. When you are coming to the hotel after working if you meet this friendly people it makes us feel a little bit closer to our home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank snlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation to future guests to stay with our Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time during your recent stay, here at DoubleTree we understand that the little things mean everything to our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words about Tiago -we have shared your kind words with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Have stayed there on several occasions for business. Will happily stay there again.

If you have business near the Trinity College area, the hotel is ideally situated. A shuttle service from Dublin airport stops there (it is still referred to as the "Burlington Hotel", however, so be forewarned). There is a big taxi rank just outside and parking on the premises for guest who drive. Sorry, I do not drive, so I have no idea if there is a charge.

The lobby is huge and spacious with an even more huge bar/lounge on the same level. There is also a smaller coffee and beverage area opposite and at least two restaurants on ground level. I can heartily recommend the sweet potato fries - DELICIOUS!

The front desk staff are simply delightful. Very professional, polite and helpful. *Everyone* is treated with respect and attention. I could not be more impressed. They don't just look professional, they actually are. Very good hiring choices.

I have stayed in 'old' rooms and in newly renovated rooms. Even the old rooms were quite functional. Only some minor issues with noisy pipes. On one occasion did have an issue with lack of hot water and slow flushing toilet. Both issues immediately seen to the very same day.

Rooms are cleaned to a consistent standard. Note: Tea kettles are sometimes the exception, with housekeeping sometimes not emptying the water from them each day. Used cups and saucers cleaned each day. Tea, coffee, sugar, etc replaced each day. Waste bins always emptied each day. Used towels and tub/shower cleaned each day without exception. Note: Rubber mats supplied for bath/shower. Pleasant surprise.

Rooms are spacious, quiet and have nice, large desks with plenty of power outlets. I particularly liked that I was able to charge my mobile on the table directly next to my bed (my mobile is also my preferred alarm clock, you see).

Restaurant/Room Service food is nice, but, of course, a premium is paid for this convenience. I am not a breakfast eater, but my colleagues assure me that the breakfasts are very good.

WiFi throughout the hotel, which is VERY nice. Have on more than one occasion planted myself in the coffee bar with my laptop and worked while surrounded by music, people on the free WiFi. Note: Sometimes bandwidth is saturated at peak intervals (08:00-10:00 and from 18:00-22:00). It is serviceable for sending/receiving emails and checking non-graphics intensive timetables, however.

Express checkout is devine. I try to settle accounts the night before. Being able to simply slip the room key inside an envelope with the room number on it and place that into the checkout box is marvelous! I tend to run late in the mornings as it is, so Express checkout has prevented me from being late more than once.

Additional - Should you feel like stretching your legs a bit, the hotel is situated in a very nice neighborhood. During Spring/Summer/Fall I sometimes walk the 15 minutes or so to the shops and restaurants along the canal. Were I more energetic, I could easily imagine myself jogging along the tree-lined sidewalks and paths. Very quiet and peaceful and safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, but not too far away!! Also, the views are lovely from the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachTrotter1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
1,700 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing