We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Doubletree has just taken over the Burlington Hotel in Dublin. Staff are efficient and the room is quite pleasant- I was on an already renovated floor. Air conditioning wasn't necessary but I couldn't locate a heater control. Noise levels are low. Food has been good. The walk to the shopping district is a very pleasant 1 mile walk. Free wifi was a major plus. My first night in Dublin was at a different hotel which charged for wifi and was no less expensive and much more chaotic. The only drawback so far: the bar in the lobby takes forever to secure a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimo827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane I, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Kimo827,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed both our newly renovated rooms and your meals during your stay with us.

I will direct your feedback regarding service in our Lobby to our Food and Beverage team for their review.

We hope you had a safe return journey home to Colorado and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jane
Jane Igoe-Hotel Administrator
Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    967
    336
    130
    81
See reviews for
325
785
107
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early September and were disappointed with our stay. We are from the US and went to turn on the air conditioning when we checked in and called down to the front desk. We were first told they had none and then were told they only have air conditioning on the 6th floor and were unable to move us. However, their website advertises that they have air conditioning in all of their guest suites. We would have chosen a different hotel if we knew there was no AC.
We knew the hotel was under construction, but a fire alarm sounded at 4:50am one morning due to the construction. Then there was no hot water available for our showers due to the construction again. We didn't mind the workers in the lobby and lacking presentation, but did mind it when it inconvenienced us like this.
Our last night there was a Thursday night and they were holding a banquet. There was loud music on until 1:30am – 2am. Because we had to keep our windows open due to no AC, we were kept awake by the loud music.
I would not recommend this until the hotel is out of construction, updated, and see what the reviews are at that time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here in May, 2013, when it was called the Burlington Hotel. Pros: The lobby was very nice as was the breakfast buffet. The staff was friendly as well and very accommodating. Our first room was clean but the air conditioning wasn't working and when we asked for a repairman to come check it out they brought us a small fan instead. The next day they moved us into another room which was not nearly as nice. There was water damage covering almost the entire wall around the window and the drapes looked as if years of food and bleach had been scattered on them and the air conditioner didn't work in that room either. I would probably give them another chance only to request a new or remodeled room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane I, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear TXRedRider,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and the lobby area within the Hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff.

We were very disappointed to learn of your experience in the guest room you were transferred to on your second night. I would be most grateful if you could please email me your Full Name and Dates of Stay to jane.igoe@hilton.com so that our Management Team can investigate your feedback.

I look forward to hearing from you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future where you can enjoy the Hotel’s new contemporary design and improved facilities.

Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator
Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed two nights here. Room was reasonable, neat and clean.We were at level 3, and there was no air conditioning. Free wifi was good, and reasonably fast.
However at breakfast time, there was long queue to the dining room. In the end, one staff member opened up the bar, so that 40 of us could eat breakfast there. This is a sign of poor hotel management. I did not expect Hilton to be so badly managed.
The hotel looked old and tired from the road. It needs an urgent up grade.

Room Tip: Go for breakfast early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay. We are grateful for all feedback from guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve all aspects of our hotel and provide feedback to our team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington Road Dublin
Hotel Contact Details
Main Telephone : +353 ( 0) 1 6185600
General Hotel Email: DUBBU_DT_HOTEL@hilton.com
Reservation Email: DTDublinHotel.Reservations@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay in Dublin. The hotel was clean, the rooms where great, and the location 20mins walk from the centre of Dublin is superb. You get a warm welcome with a warm chocolate cookie. Would stay again. Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane I, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road.

Thank you for your kind words about the warm welcome you received. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and you have as an enjoyable stay as the last.

Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe-Hotel Administrator
Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel claims to be suitable for people in wheelchairs but it most definitely is not. I've reported the hotel to management and am waiting for a response from them. While the hotel claims to be wheelchair accessible when it come to bedrooms, this is not true. It is no place for wheelchair users.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane I, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr Doyle,

Thank you for taking the time to contact the Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road in relation to your recent stay.

We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting all of our guest's needs. Our senior Management Team have received your feedback via the Hilton Guest Satisfaction Survey System and will revert to you directly.

If you have any additional queries please do not hesitate to contact me,

Kind Regards,

Jane Igoe
Jane Igoe Hotel Administrator

jane.igoe@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here now for a conference. Long queue for check in with no apparent order nor acknowledgement from reception staff if queue? People jumping the queue repeatedly! No Cooke offered, not that I care, just why mention it and don't do it? Room old and tired. Still with old style tube TV with no instruction book on how to turn on, had to call reception. No minibar, once again don't care for the bar, however this means no fridge! I have medication which requires refrigeration. Disappointing, as no mention of why a fridge is not there in any documentation in the room. Only generic marketing propaganda.
As this hotel was booked by us back in around March, a little disappointed that we had not been advised of changes and renovations.

One other thing regarding noise, quite a lot of noise on Saturday 14th September at 7:30 AM and again now at 5:50 AM on Sunday 15th. Not sure if it is guests, workmen or housekeeping staff (as storeroom is right next door).
It is a shame it is this was as it could be a whole lot better. Communication of what is happening would be a start. It would at least go some way to help us poor unsuspecting PAYING guests come to terms with why it is way under par, Especially for a Hilton Hotel.

Good luck Hilton. You are going to need it!

Alan Taylor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanKTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane I, Hotel Administrator at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr Taylor,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road.
We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting all of our guest's needs.

We are very disappointed to learn of your experience to date. We very much would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback fully and to identify an agreeable solution.

Currently, we cannot locate a room booking under the name Alan Taylor so I would be most grateful if you could please email me your Room Number and contact telephone number to jane.igoe@hilton.com so that our Management Team can investigate your feedback.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind Regards,

Jane

Jane Igoe-Hotel Administrator
Doubletree by Hilton Dublin – Burlington Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 151 in Dublin
1,881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Burlington Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Burlington Road

Property: Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Address: Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D04A318, Ireland (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Burlington Road 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1972 and entirely refurbished in 2014, Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is one of the largest and best loved hotels in Dublin. Located a stone’s throw from St. Stephen’s Green and Grafton Street, and within walking distance from the Aviva Stadium and RDS, the hotel holds its reputation as venue of choice for meetings, conference and celebrating special occasions. Guests of Clayton Hotel Burlington Road can expect a first-class experience with excellent staff and state of the art facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Burlington Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Hotel Dublin
Burlington Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing