We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable!”
Reviewed October 30, 2006

We spent our honeymoon in Ireland from October 16 - 27th and stayed at The Clarence when in Dublin for 4 nights. This hotel was wonderful! They knew in advance that it was our honeymoon and gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne on two occasions. The service was fantastic! The staff treated us like royalty. It can get a little loud in the evening when all the people leave the pubs, but the beds there are so comfortable that it didn't matter. We slept very well. The location is also second to none. We were in walking distance to all of the cool sites in Dublin. Awesome! We can't wait to go back to Dublin and stay at The Clarence.

  • Liked — The bed!
  • Disliked — Outdoor noise at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room on the north side of the building.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fiomeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    478
    252
    119
    92
See reviews for
235
753
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

I stayed with my wife at the Clarence a week ago. We were travelling from Paris and were looking for a relaxing stay.

The hotel is small so no large noisy group and the staff is excellent. We had dinner one night in their restaurant. Food and service were very good.

Great stay!

  • Liked — simplicty and style
  • Disliked — view
  • Tips/Secrets — try the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank louv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I stayed at this hotel last week and we had sucha great stay that i had to write a review and let everyone know about the best hotel in Dublin.

I had read a few of the reviews already on this site and i was a bit nervous about staying here, especially as it was a birthday treat. But as the other half is a U2 fan i decided to book regardless, and i have to say i am so glad that i did.

I rang the hotel in advance to book dinner in their restaurant, the tea room, and i told them that it was a birthday treat. when we checked in we were offered drinks on arrival to celebrate and we also got an offer of drinks with our meal in the restaurant. The room that we booked was a deluxe room, now it wasn't the largest room we had stayed in, but it had this nice balcony that looked out over the city. i did mention about the size of the room and we were offered a large room without a balcony, but we stayed put.

The bar was refreshing for the area (No loud music so you could talk witout shouting, no hen/stag parties and really great cocktails). The Dinner was great by far the best food i have eaten in a while, the only down point was it was a bit dark. Ask for the table inside the door on the left handside

while we were staying there Bill Clinton was there too so it was very exicting, and talk about secure...

i think that the staff at the hotel are brillant, they looked after us so well (even me the starstruck one standing in the reception area with my mouth open staring at bill).

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — eat in their restaurant & ask for a deluxe room with a balcony
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dermo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed in the Clarence on Saturday last. I was so disappointed. It is definitely overpriced. Breakfast in bed was EUR28 (for one person). Although it was nice it was ridiculously overpriced. Room was ok but although I requested air conditioning it didnt really work. When we were leaving yesterday and paid our bill we got an extra charge that was never mentioned when I rang them originally. The charge was called "computer service charge" of EUR6.00. Absolutely ridiculous. Very disappointing. Will not be recommending it again.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank salsdkesisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

The commone areas of the hotel are pleasant and the staff is very helpful but the rooms are horribly stuffy - there is no air conditioning - and opening a window is impossible due to the noise. My last night was almost completely sleepless.

I am a Dubliner resident in London and know the city well. For natives, Temple Bar on a Saturday night is a shock. Returning to the hotel at night involves navigating through hoards of incredibly drunk people behaving like idiots.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Impossible to sleep / no air-con
  • Tips/Secrets — There are better hotels in Dublin
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank PortlandPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

First of all, when you book your room be sure and insist that the rooms be air conditioned. I found it amazing that most of the superior rooms are not. This shouldn't be a problem in Dublin's cool climate, but our rooms overlooked an air shaft and had no cross breeze. You are right in Temple Bar so open windows = no sleep. All of the web sites I consulted said this was an air conditioned property so I was furious when our rooms simply had a table fan. We upgraded to Deluxe rooms the next day and what a difference! The rooms were larger and had french doors leading to a balcony that overlooked Temple Bar. (But rooms are still small)

We did not eat in the restaurants on site or even try the bar. Nether looked very inviting compared to the diverse offerings in the area. The location of this hotel cannot be beat! You are within an easy walk of most of the major sites, especially Grafton Street and Trinity College. Great food in the surrounding area and free entertainment every night from the many buskers and pubs that charged no cover. (Had a blast at the Vault!). The concierge was friendly and helpful but the front desk could have used some training in customer service.

My feelings on the Clarence are mixed. I think I enjoyed my stay more because I loved Dublin and the Temple Bar area. The hotel is simply average and not worth the extra money unless location is the most important thing to you. My step daughter moved over to the Westbury on Grafton Street after we left and said it was much nicer, spacious and friendlier, so we will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We could not believe that our room had no air conditioning condsidering the price of the room and claiming to be one of Dublin's top Hotels.
It was 24.5 degrees in the room. A fan and open window ( complete with loud music down below) forced us to check out at around 10pm and make our way home ( 3 hrs drive).
I thought it would be a simple matter of either a refund or at least an offer of a free night later in the year when it would be cooler.
Still waiting on that decision to be made.
The rooms are small ,as are the corridors and lift.
The staff were pleasant and courteous at all times.
Parking our car 25 Euros- Mount Merrion Hotel is only20 Euros and the rooms have air conditioning.

Regards Alan and Liz Hannon

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank drovingreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,772 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#86 of 151 in Dublin
564 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,221 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Property: The Clarence
Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing