We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$261
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$305
$291
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$264
$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$401
$335
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$255
$211
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$239
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$190
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$141
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveler rating
813
532
286
129
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
532
286
129
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoctagon bartemple barcleaver east restaurantriver viewthe penthousemini barlovely hotelstreet noisecentral locationtrinity collegegrafton streetbonoliffeyirelandpubsnightlifeguinness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,102 - 1,107 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed on the 5th floor. Not as noisy, filth room. There were: bugs, old unwork shower, No air conditioner, bad wyfy, rude manager. That dive opened 1996, still poor condition. Don't stay there! Bad!The nights we stayed there was so uncomfortable, too hot in the room, fixtures weren't working, no coffee brewer, over priced parking service, nad we sure won't stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at The Clarence.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank laceup4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

It is a pity to read that you did not enjoy your stay at The Clarence in this your second review of the same stay having had the first review removed for a series of untruths contained in it. I can assure you that our rooms are not filthy, due in no small way to the hard working team that service and clean rooms each and every day with the intention of ensuring our much valued guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. This diligent work also ensures there are no bugs in bedrooms. It is inevitable that from time to time things may not work perfectly however once these are notified to staff they are given immediate attention and rectified as soon as possible. This is true for any experience you had with the shower or wifi. Any perception of rudeness on behalf of any member of the team is not something I take lightly, however as you will see from previous reviews it is the friendliness of the staff here that our wonderful guests remember and are so kind to mention both online and in person. With regard to room temperature we do not have, nor do we advertise that we have air conditioning currently in the hotel however we provide cooling fans for guests if they wish. While we do not provide coffee brewers in rooms we have tea and coffee facilities in all rooms and our valet parking service pricing is in line with the same service is similar establishments here in Dublin city centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

I recently surprised my partner with a trip to Dublin. The Clarence came highly recommended and we were only staying for one night so didn't mind splashing out as it's definitely a highend hotel.

Upon entering the hotel we were greeted warmly, as we were early for check in they instantly offered to hold our suitcase for us without us initially asking, which was very much appreciated.
On first glance the hotel is grand but understated, decor is simple but smart. Staff are well presented and attentive.

When we went back for check in, the concierge escorted us in the lift and up to our hotel room telling us a few general details regarding room service etc, he lead us into our room and showed us a few things, such as the location of hairdryers and info on the minibar (which felt uneccessary for us, but perhaps beneficial to others) our suitcase was waiting for us and we were then left alone.

We stayed in room 409. A Deluxe King with Balcony. The decor, again, was simple but very smart and clean. The size of the room was as we expected, plenty of room for the two of us but not uneccessarily large.

When sleeping in the room it was very quiet from outside noise, no loud drunken crowds to be heard, although it being so close to Temple Bar, it could depend on where your room is situated, so perhaps request a quieter room in advance or prepare for a little noise if you are located pubside.
The only noise we had was at 7.30am due to either cleaning or the new carpet being fitted in the halls which was an inconvenience so early.

The staff at the hotel were very attentive, we ran out of complimentary milk for our teas and coffees, a quick polite call to the concierge desk and a large bag filled with more than enough extra milk, coffees, sugars in arrived to us within minutes.

When leaving the hotel, they had offered to keep our suitcase for the day briefly after us leaving the elevator (which again was highly appreciated) so they were very efficient.

Location for the hotel is fantastic, literally a stones throw from everything you could possibly need. The back entrance to the hotel backs onto Temple Bar which is your best location for pubs, bars and restaurants (do a little research if you are unfimiliar).

WiFi, as others have said was unreliable. We didn't speak to anyone about this but all the pubs, coffee shops and restaurants have free WiFi so we could always connect should we need to.

Overall the hotel was excellent, only downside I would say is the cost. It was well worth it for the night but if you were staying any longer it would add up quite quickly and be rather expensive.

Would definitely recomment and would definitely stay again.



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsRHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thanks for you kind and comprehensive review of The Clarence having stayed with us last month. It's very kind of you to mention the efficiency and helpfulness of the staff on more than one occasion in the review. Being disturbed at 7.30am is a pity to read however and I hope it didn't impact too much on the comfort and enjoyment of your stay with us. Great to see that you would recommend us and that you would stay again so we hope we have the opportunity of providing and equal or even better experience on any future return to The Clarence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here on a Monday night. The staff were beyond compare-friendly, attentive and even supplied us with an umbrella. Hotel bar was quiet and reasonably priced. Room was modern and spacious. Couple of downsides are the lack of reasonably priced parking which, in fairness, is characteristic of many city centre hotel. Its also quite noisy by night. Finally, the wifi is very hit and miss. I would stay again but only if travelling to Dublin by train.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks for your review of The Clarence having stayed with us this week. It's a great opening line to read such high praise for our staff, and your positive comments about the hotel itself. We take on board your comments about parking and noise, and your acknowledgement of this being a characteristic of the city centre. The issue you experienced was rectified during the week. Hopefully this didn't impact on your stay too much, and we look forward to any future stay you may have at The Clarence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This was a 2 day trip and we were recommended to try the Clarence. On arrival, we were greeted and taken to the room in a lift which has seen far better days.

The room was shocking. Stained carpets, very noisy, very warm (A/C broke). It looked very very dated. We would have had a better presented room in a Travelodge for a fraction of the cost.

The bathroom really was disappointing. Mouldy grout, flaking wood and a sink basin that didn't drain. The shower head was filthy too

We asked if there were any rooms to upgrade to (due to these problems), they said No, but someone would have a look at the sink. Throughout the whole stay, no one bothered to attend to this issue.

The noise at night from the city is loud, be warned. If you want a peaceful night, don't stay here

I can't say anything positive about this experience. What's more, it wasn't cheap either. We did complain about the issues mentioned, but the staff didn't take us seriously.

I hope the Management can take something from this review and do something for the better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank captain_sarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

I'm am most disappointed to read of your unsatisfactory experience here at The Clarence when you stayed with us and it is very much regrettable that such issues were not dealt with during your stay. Certainly, where possible, matters should have been rectified and you have our sincere apologies if you felt the issues you notified us of were not taken seriously.

We are currently replacing numerous showerheads, several carpets and restoring woodwork. Noting that your review says you stayed with us in May, I would be grateful if you could email the hotel (info@theclarence.ie) for the attention of the Operations Manager letting them know your room number if you recall and the dates of your stay so the issues can be further looked into and to make sure this room is given priority.

We certainly take your feedback on board and the points made in your review will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Booked into Clarence for a bit of luxury and location . Location was perfect but hotel was hmmm. Really needs a coat of paint. Our room overlooked the extractor fan from the BBQ restaurant next door so our choice was to sweat or stink of BBQ . BBQ was our choice so I had to eat there. First impressions last and they really need to take one the 4 staff in reception and give them a paintbrush. The Clarence shouldn't be living off its reputation anymore. Step up and sort this out. And yes I will come back as a critic free of charge if they wish.

Room Tip: I had a choice to open windows and listen to the nightclub below or a snorer. If you see extractor fans below u it will smell and then be loud at 3 am.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank redladIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

It's a disappointing to read you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Clarence. With regard to painting, this is an ongoing job all year round at the hotel so rooms and public areas are frequently attended to. It's a pity see that it is not to the standard you expected and we will look into a more frequent tending to. We work with the neighbouring businesses to try minimise any impact they may have on hotel guests so your feedback regarding the BBQ and noise will be mentioned to them in order to try further reduce the potential for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews