We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK B(u)ono”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK B(u)ono”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Well in the center located, it's ok clean and simple. Probably not too cheap and not too "designy". But we enjoyed our stay, the friendly staff helped. There are some fun restaurants and shops just around, and if you want to go to dive bars, also called pubs in Dublin, you are right at the spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. It's nice to sit outside and sip a beer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear TheKitchener,

Thank you for your review following your visit to The Clarence.

I am delighted that our location worked for you and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are not in any way complacent about your comments and where we can do better we surely will so please rest assured that I shall be following your comments up directly with my team.

I very much regret not having had the opportunity of resolving your dissatisfaction prior to your departure.

Once again please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced and we certainly hope that you will consider returning to the Clarence to restore your faith.

Thank you once again for your custom and review.

Yours sincerely,


Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    455
    244
    116
    91
See reviews for
218
723
88
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Its about 10 years since I last visited this hotel when it was brand new and off the scale for excellence, so I was really looking forward to a Dublin stay highlighted with a little rugby at the Arriva stadium. The hotel is smack bang in Temple bar with its heaving pubs and gangs of tourists, Gresham street is round the corner for some great eats and stylish shops. The service is impeccable at the Clarence, the reception could not have been better serviced the concierge could not have been more helpful, and all with a friendly smile and a handsome face! We were lucky enough to be upgraded and our room had its own lounge area, a large bathroom with a bath - for me such luxury to soak in a few bubbles and de-stress - and a good sized bedroom. TVs in every room, a fully stocked mini bar, and a little fizzy prosecco when we arrived. So whats wrongs with this Palace? Nothing just theres signs of wearing and tear, cracked tiles, tatty blinds, old tired seats in the bedroom, cheaper toiletries, no fluffy dressing gown, no slippers only tiny things but they stop its becoming a luxury 5 star hotel. Breakfast that I worshiped here has gone downhill too, boiled tasting bland bacon and sausage, grilled sun dried tomato (really) and lack luster bread. Its still good but not as good as it was. Its a great place to go dont get me wrong and these are minor quibbles, but the Clarence very soon need a refurb to stay in the luxury bracket!

Room Tip: Choose away from the river if you want a slightly quieter stay, but the view is lovely first thing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laineydesanvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Laineydesanvito,

Thank you for your greatly appreciated custom and thank you for your most kind review of The Clarence Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time while staying with us at the Clarence.

It is also wonderful to read that you loved the hotel's unbeatable central location and our impeccable service.

I am most disappointed to read that you experienced several issues during your recent stay and that I did not have the opportunity to resolve any of these satisfactorily prior to your departure from the hotel.

I do wish to have the opportunity of welcoming you at the Clarence in the nearer future.

I do hope that on the occasion of your next visit we will achieve a full 5 point score from you on this review site.

Thank you for recommending The Clarence Hotel to other users of Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just returned from a great stay in this stylish hotel. The design of the rooms and the lovely oak panelling everywhere made a lovely change from hotel chains. It was a bit noisy at night but then we were in the centre of Temple Bar. We especially enjoyed the lounge where a roaring open fire was lit every day and was a lovely place to enjoy our books and papers with a pot of tea. The buffet part of the breakfast was a little limited but the freshly made pancakes were delicious.
Best of all was the great service, especially from one member of staff called Pablo. From before we arrived when he arranged a wheelchair for my husband who was on crutches and in a cast and throughout our stay when he cheerfully fetched it out everytime he saw us arrive in reception
he could not have given us better service and was so cheerful and friendly. It made our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 958GMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear 958GMG,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Clarence Hotel and thank you for favourably reviewing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is truly encouraging to note that you had a wonderful stay recently at our establishment despite a couple of issues which you refer to in your review and about which I am most concerned.

Your kind comments about the hotel's many advantages over others and your positive comparison of the impeccable service our dedicated team offer.

I do hope that you will return to stay at our hotel in the near future and that on your next visit we shall be successful in achieving a full 5 points in your next review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon.

Thank you for recommending The Clarence Hotel to others on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Here they make you feel like a VIP!!!! Very friendly and helpful. Good staff and in a great location for Temple Bar. The night staff who brought us a drink was nice, but we asked for crisps and instead got bombay mix! (yuk!) The hotel is very very clean and every one is helpful the man on the door was friendly and even shown us around the hotel. Comfy beds! You can't really ask for any more from a hotel!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear kerry096,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the online review after your recent stay at the Clarence Hotel.

It goes without saying that we were genuinely delighted to read all the nice things you said about your stay.

Perhaps we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and with that in mind, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

In the meantime and once again, thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

great hotel , great location - rooms in the back have a lot of noise from street bar open very very late.
walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants in temple bar. the staff was extremely helpful. We got into our room early after an early morning arrival from the US.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Bud C,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during the exciting build up to last weekend break and thank you for your review of The Clarence Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the atmosphere at the hotel more than met with your expectations.
I am concerned that you experienced an issue with noise during your stay at the Clarence.
It is disappointing not to have had the opportunity of resolving this matter to your full satisfaction prior to your departure from the hotel.

I do hope that you will return to stay in the future and I remain entirely at your service for whatever assistance you may require.

Thank you once again for your kind comments about The Clarence Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your greatly appreciated custom.

Best regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked this Hotel before travelling to Dublin for a long weekend. The hotel itself is fabulously decorated and luxurious but keeps to it's Irish roots.

Our room was a little overpriced for what we got, our view looked straight onto the brick wall of the hotel, and sunlight was very limited, there was only room for the bed and little else in the room, which would be fine but we had paid quite a lot to stay there.

Location is great, very quick access to both Temple Bar and the tourist routes. Would love to go back and stay, however would request a better view.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelscotland2720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear nicola2720,

Thank you for your greatly appreciated custom and thank you for your most kind review of The Clarence Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time while staying with us at the Clarence.

It is also wonderful to read that you loved the hotel's unbeatable central location.

I am most disappointed to read that you experienced several issues during your recent stay and that I did not have the opportunity to resolve any of these satisfactorily prior to your departure from the hotel.

I do wish to have the opportunity of welcoming you at the Clarence in the nearer future.

I do hope that on the occasion of your next visit we will achieve a full 5 point score from you on this review site.

Thank you for recommending The Clarence Hotel to other users of Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Didnt want to leave .the room felt like my bedroom , not a hotel room.very comfortable.the staff have an honest commitment to your service .not the scripted tones of boutique hotels.would I stay again? The question is when can I stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear derek f,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the online review after your recent stay at the Clarence Hotel.

It goes without saying that we were genuinely delighted to read all the nice things you said about your stay.

Perhaps we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the not too distant future and with that in mind, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

In the meantime and once again, thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Mario Beeli de Belfort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Property: The Clarence
Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing