We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Clarence...Very Nice Hotel & Great Location!”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarence
Ranked #42 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at The Clarence and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a room with a king-size bed, and the decor was modern but very comfortable. We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. We had some car trouble and one of the staff helped us locate a nearby Dan Dooley car rental to return the car. We found everyone to be very attentive and willing. The hotel has a lovely "sitting room" off the lobby where you can relax. While the hotel has a bar and a separate restaurant, we did not use either. The hotel is located in the Temple Bar area...very close to popular pubs and restaurants, and within easy walking distance to the primary shopping district and Trinity College. It's a great location to use as your base while visiting Dublin. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,516 - 1,522 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2008

Having lived in Dublin for a few years it helped to have a reasonable knowledge of the area and the location of the hotel - which is centrally located for everything you need in Dublin

The hotel cannot really be faulted other than some of the rooms are a little small (see other reviews) and not many of the rooms come with any view at all. We were fortunate to have a reasonably large room (209) which had a small entrance area/corridor leading to the bathroom and the room beyond. The rooms are reasonably modern and well kept with everything you need - except tea making facilities - strange considering that Ireland probably competes with the UK in tea consumption. Beds were large and extreamely comfortable. Unfortunately the view over the central atrium and AC installation was the only real let down.

The hotel is situated at the West end of Temple Bar and ideal for the main shopping areas of Grafton Street on the Southside and Henry and Mary Street to the North as well as the nightlife provided by Temple Bar itself. As an ex Dub it does pay to go further afield and there are some great bars and restaurants both North and South that are worth the short walk to get away from the 'madness' of Temple Bar. Central Dublin is always busy at weekends so it pays to do a bit of advance planning and pre booking if you want to get into a decent restaurant and don't even think about getting a cab after midnight its nigh on impossible.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts great. The bar does shut a bit early for Ireland but theres always another one round the corner if you can stand the pace.

We managed to get a special deal for the weekend and it was a great weekend away and a re visit to some old haunts but cant help feeling that we would have been a bit disapointed if we had paid full price for the hotel compared to other 5 star hotels in town.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We'd stayed here when we were a couple (before our daughter was born) and loved it. However we weren't sure how they would rate as an hotel for a young family. We were more than surprised.
Each and every member of the staff was friendly and warm. While this was also our experience on our previous stay it was great to see the friendliness extended to a two year old.
The room was beautiful and clean. The "Tea Rooms" isn't like a hotel restaurant at all. It's far too good.
All in all 100%

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This hotel is very nice if you want to explore Temple Bar, and have a close place to sleep after a night of pub hopping. However, I was a little disappointed with the room size. The room was not tiny, but it wasn't close to what you get at other hotels around Dublin. In addition, Temple Bar gets a bit stale after a few nights, and the prices in Temple Bar are about 20% more than if you walk about 5 blocks out of the area. The rooms are all very clean, the staff is fairly friendly, but it is no four seasons...which is comparable in price. Stay here for a few nights, and then switch to the Westbury or Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank michaelmelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

This hotel is perfectly located, stylishly furnished and elgant with attention to detail throughout. The problem is that it is expensive and I would suggest you only book if you are wealthy enough not to worry about the cost.
If you are thinking of booking because of the Bono /Edge thing and you would like to stay there beacause of that: fine, but you will be seriously out of pocket and believe me there are many cheaper hotels around with more to offer.
In one sense I can appreciate a hotel maintianing its exclusivity by over pricing itself so "jo average" cannot afford it. It just feels that there are too many stealth bills and hidden extras that push the price up.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank nobster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

There is a lot of hype surrounding this hotel because it is owned by Bono and The Edge of the rock band U2.
Afraid it does not live up to it.
Stayed there at a "special" overnight rate of euro 270 for bed and breakfast. The room was tiny, no air conditioning unless you count a large freestanding fan for air stirring. If you opened the window the noise made it impossible to sleep. The mini bar kept everything warm not cold and to cap it all there was no hot water for a shower at 11am!
In general the room was well used bordering on the tatty and most of the rest of the hotel, including the bar, was tired and in need of refurbishment.
It may be centrally located but it is just not good enough for the prices charged, even if it does bill itself as "Dublin's premier boutique hotel" on its website. Don't let that fool you. There is much better value in Dublin's other four and five star establishments.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DoublinPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Thought we'd treat ourselves as it was a special occasion and it was well worth it. Loved this hotel. We had a balcony room - lovely to sit out with a glass of wine, if a bit cold at this time of year! Room facilities were great. Staff were really friendly and chatty. Fabulous breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,908 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,333 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $164 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing