We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Dublin”
Reviewed August 22, 2006

I stayed here for a pre-paid weekend during particularly warm weather in June. Because there is no air conditioning in the hotel, we needed to leave the windows open all night. Despite being on the top floor off the main street, sleep was impossible due to the endless screaming and shouting outside from two public bars. This went on until well after 5am, then the noisy dustcarts arrived to clear up... In the end we slept not a wink and left for a quieter hotel at our own expense the next morning. Suggest avoid unless insomniac.

  • Liked — Friendly front desk
  • Disliked — The terrible noise all night long!
  • Tips/Secrets — Just don't!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20141009mts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    642
    262
    72
    51
See reviews for
113
668
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Ottawa, Ontario

My wife and myself both stayed in the Paramount hotel for three days in early August. For the price we paid ($390 CDN.) for the three nights, it was well worth it. The hotel is what it is - a clean affordable hotel near all amenities and attractions. It's not the Four seasons, its not the Chateau Laurier - it's a nice average hotel with nothing fancy that's close to everything and not far from anything. The location was very handy as the weather in Dublin changes dramatically from morning to afternoon to night. If you wanted to pop into the room and quickly change - you could. One note for people with a car - no parking! The closest parking was at Christ Church about a 5+ minute walk away and cost $45 CDN daily and $12 CDN for overnight (10pm -8am) so factor that into your costs. Overall - good hotel, great location at a fair price!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no AC
  • Tips/Secrets — Small rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank keema27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

My friend and I booked 4 nights at the Paramount after looking at various deals on the Internet. We wanted a place that was central, clean and tidy and reasonably priced.
We arrived well before check-in time and were given the option of leaving our luggage at the hotel for a while or moving straight into a room. This would be a smoking room. We decided to do this, even though we had originally opted for a non-smoking room. The room itself was not at all smelly and we were glad we chose to move in straightaway. It was on the second floor and had three windows due to a corner placement.
As stated in the advertisement, the Paramount is decorated in a thirties style in shades of brown and cream. Our room was very large, with plenty of storage space. The twin beds were very comfortable, and there was a kettle, phone, hairdryer and TV in the room. There were lots of small lamps in the room but no overhead light so it was a little dark at night. The fixtures and fittings were obviously not brand new but everything was very clean and tidy and we were impressed by the decor. The bathroom had been newly decorated and was very white and sparkly!
The hotel has excellent staff. Everyone we met who worked there was extremely friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. Underneath the Paramount is a bar which is quite a nice place for a drink of two in the evening. We chose not to opt for breakfast so can't comment on that aspect.
Our only slight criticism is the level of noise at night. Due to the smoking ban in pubs and bars in Ireland people tend to congregate outside for a cigarette. It seems that one of the most popular places to go is outside another hotel on the other side of the road. This, combined with being in a very busy area and on a main road, and having older single-glazed windows, meant that it was very noisy outside late into the night and first thing in the morning. We didn't find this a problem but visitors who are very light sleepers may want to take this into consideration. In fact the whole Temple Bar area is noisy and I doubt there is a hotel in the area which is quiet!
We had a great time in Dublin, and would love to go again. We highly recommend the Paramount Hotel: it is everything it claims to be in its advertisements.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the thirties decor.
  • Disliked — The level of noise from outside at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be afraid to book a smoking room. Also corner rooms are big.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinksterpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Read the reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to book. Impressed on first sight of the place and the staff were helpful. But beware, the hotel is right beside Temple Bar - a lively district. This would have been fine except the bedroom and bathroom windows didn't shut properly. So at 2pm we got noisy drunks shouting on their way home.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

On arrival we were given a smoking room( which was awful). We specifically booked a non smoking room. The staff immediately rectified this. The room was spacious and clean. No complaints there. The staff all appeared very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor. The quality of the ingedients was that mast produced rubbish, there was more rusk, colourants and preservative than meat in the sausages. Worst of all there was not enough. Stay well clear if you are paying extra, we got a good room deal which included breakfast so it was not that bad financially.

What left a sour taste in our mouths was when it came to pay, for our convenience the bill was converted to sterling, it worked out at about 4GBP more, I then insisted that we paid in Euros so they refunded the sterling or so we thought until our bill arrived, the "service charge" had not been refunded only the original amount. The credit card company has rectified this. The hotel still has the extra money. SO BE WARNED!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hideh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

6 of us stayed in 3 rooms on Tuesday May 30th 2006. the street directions are wrong because they direct you backwards on a one way street but that was only a minor fault... we had a 9 passenger van and it wouldn't fit into the closest parking lot. When we came back the staff phoned other parking lots and found a place for us. It cost 12.00 Euro's overnight which we thought was reasonable. it is close to temple bar area and the rooms were large and clean. one room was right above the area where people smoke outside the pub and was a little annoying, so get your room on the upper floors. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful. I would highly reccomend this place!!! We payed 98.00 Euro's a night including breakfast and all taxes.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2006

My husband and I (both in our late 20s) stayed here on a Monday evening in mid June. We consdier ourselves to be relatively low key travelers, however were very frustrated by our experience here. To begin with - we were charged twice for the room (despite my questioning the clerk at check in)!! Secondly, while the wheather outside was very pleasant - the room was boiling (with the windows open), making it very difficult to sleep. Finally, even though it wasn't a weekend - nearly constant yelling could be heard outside our window until well after 4am. I definitely would not return here - there are MUCH nicer hotels for the cost in Dublin!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
1,536 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#41 of 151 in Dublin
1,653 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,190 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 151 in Dublin
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing