We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #64 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this place and enjoyed it indeed.The room was warm clean and tiday and suitable for the purpose .The only downside was the attitude of the front entrance staff on Friday night when we enquired over the free safe.The 3 staff behind the counter seemed out of touch with personnal skills when dealing with our concerns over the none use of the bedroom safe .They appeared as though 'ah well' it is not working as we have that problem sometimes but you can place things in the safe at front desk .I would at least expect a little more concern or enthusiasm from at least 1 of them as the 3 just looked at us daft.Not good at all .When in the morning we spoke with another member of staff he was very concerned and showd the upmost interest and said it would be sorted .Guess what -It was .Thank you .The non concerned attitude of the 3 staff is a negative to this place and I am sure they know who they are but full marks the the guy who assisted us the saturday morning.The hotel is in a great place and although there is noise from below it did stop at 2 and we were aware so no complaints there . The facilites were great and the cleaning staff most excellent and were very helpful.Do not be put off by the negatives but be aware .One thing to note not enough plug sockets so take an adaptor with you and one of the plug sockets was a bit loose but otherwisew a pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    613
    241
    69
    49
See reviews for
103
628
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's ok if you just want a place from which to explore temple bar pubs. I know it was only a three star hotel, but still I missed the little things like mini bar, air conditioning, hair conditioner, cable tv...... Location was good, not perfect. Breakfast lounge (pub) was very shady and menu short. The best thing was free working wireless Internet connection (in our second room...).

Do not stay at the second floor with a window facing the street. We spent one night there and it was absolutely horrible. After we moved to third floor and other side of the building, it was better. Not just the noise, but the room was better too.

Room Tip: As high as you can, no street view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FillyFragile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for a one night stay in Dublin. We wanted somewhere comfortable and well located, although we knew we wouldn't be spending too much time in the hotel. This was perfect. Comfortable rooms, not too noisy, good location at the edge of templebar. The adjoining bar is nice too. A good choice for a Dublin stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location for us was perfect. Close to all the bars and sites- we were able to walk everywhere pretty easily. Not super noisy either so we slept pretty well (or maybe that was the guiness that helped us). Definitely worth the price.

Our window opened up into pretty much nothing but we didn't spend much time there beyond sleeping.

Overall a great spot to call home for a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a perfectly situated hotel as it is on the edge of Temple Bar, so you can dip into the atmosphere but leave promptly for some relaxation time. The room was immaculate with an enormous bed, good floor space and it was tastefully decorated. The staff were helpful and the hotel was quiet. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at Paramount for a few days in Feb. Hotel is in perfect location, within walking distance of temple bar area and also shopping center. Bus stop from airport drops off and picks up just around the corner so easy for cheap transfer.
We bought the 48hr sightseeing hop on hop off bus ticket, was great use to get around the city.
Room was simple with the little luxuries, fresh sheets and cleaned everyday, however was a little noisy at night but at expected nothing less being in the heart of Temple bar.
Hotel staff and Dublin people are incredibly friendly and helpful. Overall, great weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K7R19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Paramount in Dublin from a Monday until Thursday. I got a rate of about $62 per night, which I found very reasonable for a firm, comfortable bed in a clean room at a nice hotel in a perfect location. There are just under 50 rooms in the hotel, I think, 15 per floor. I was in 301, which is right next to the elevator. 315 would have been at the end of the hall but faces a street with bars and clubs on it. With the little windows cracked open you can hear everything going on in the street below but the room got impressively quiet once they were shut.

Pros: Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, great hot water pressure, attentive and friendly staff.

Cons: The bathroom fan is loud and on a timer, so if you pop on the light for just a few seconds the fan will run for 10-15 minutes. The walls were pretty thin; I could hear all the conversations of people getting off the elevator but I don't think I had any neighbors. The room's also a bit dark; wasn't a problem for me because I was just there to sleep. I also wouldn't recommend the breakfast. Nice restaurant but the food was not worth $15 and you can find something better around the corner.

Those nit-picky cons aside, I'm still giving it 4 stars because it had everything I wanted: I slept really well, the shower worked great, I liked the style of the hotel, and you can't beat the location. I'm not sure I'd have stayed there on a weekend due to the risk of late night noise, but I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms go 1-15 in on each floor. The lower the # the closer it is to the elevator. The higher the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jddevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#81 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#44 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing