We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #64 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dirty and old”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the worst hotel that I ve ever been. The rooms are so old and dirty . I have allergy so i couldnt stop sneeze. It was difficult to sleep because of the noisy neighborhood. The location is good . The best thing in the hotel were a brazilian recepcionist ( i dont remember her name) that change our room so i could be better because of my allergy - she really tried everything she could but the fact is that the hotel didnt have better rooms. They are all terrible. The breakfast was a joke! You just have a few options and all of the dishes were dirty. I asked warm milk and they said it wasnt possible. I dont EVER recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    635
    254
    70
    51
See reviews for
109
655
66
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at the Paramount Hotel 1 Feb great location just off Temple Bar lovely and clean, huge bed didn't have breakfast at hotel, got a great deal through hotels.com was noisy at night but I would think most hotels in that area would be too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_A_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am staying in this hotel and just about to go to sleep but finding it hard as the window next to the bed does not close properly! I'm so cold and the fact you don't actually have a quilt or duvet just a sheet makes it impossible to sleep!
The staff and Turks bar are amazing and make it worth the stay but the fact am freezing and huddled up in a sheet is horrendous. Also most the tv channels don't work. Best advise, get a shot of r into you before bed to warm your self up other wise you will be shivering all night! And if you find your window dosnt shut properly ask for a room change as a towel on front of the window dosnt stop the whistling cold Wind coming through.
Night all!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a B&B basis for a surprise 40th weekend for a friend. After an early morning flight we were delighted to find that our rooms were ready and that we could check in 5 hours earlier than expected. That allowed us to sort ourselves out and then get on with the planned partying.
Good central location, clean with comfortable, large room at a very reasonable rate.
Was a bit noisy on the Saturday evening but didn't really disturb us as we had availed ourselves of the Temple Bar pubs and nothing short of a hurricane would have kept us awake. No issues with noise on the Sunday night.
Cooked breakfast was great but would have been disappointed if we had gone with the continental option as there was very little choice.
Once we had checked out the hotel was happy to hold onto our bags for us during the day until our evening flight.
Would definitely stay here again if we could get at similar rates. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Only issue we had was with the safe in our room but, although we couldn't get it to lock, our valuables were safe enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great place - towards the end of Temple Bar so there are hundreds of bars and restaurants within a few hundred metres. Everything you need is within a short walk so that's great but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

The room (2nd floor - facing the street) was very dark and in need of a lot of TLC. Fixtures that had fallen off the wall were just screwed back in a different place. The bathroom didn't look entirely clean and the shower wasn't very powerful.

The biggest problem is the noise. Now I know most people don't go to Dublin to relax, myself included, but I didn't feel too great on one of the nights (Saturday) and wanted a good nights' sleep. Impossible. The thudding and music was so loud, it was impossible. If you did drop off, screaming and taxis honking their horns until almost 4am woke you up regularly. Sunday night wasn't too bad as not many clubs were open late.

In summary, I wouldn't stay again. Great location but I'd book a Jury's or a major chain round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor_P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I can't fault this hotel.

The staff were lovely and helpful. The reception area was cosy and nice just to sit and relax in and the rooms were clean.

The Paramount is in a perfect location for Temple Bar/The Olympia Theatre and comes at a great price.

We've already booked to come back and will recommend The Paramount to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the back and didn't hear a sound all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love the central location of this hotel. It was a very clean room and I can't complain about most things except for the creaky floorboards and the lack of climate control. I highly recommend anybody that can overlook these two things to stay here because it is quite a great little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
1,519 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Clarence
#41 of 151 in Dublin
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
2,171 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing