We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Location (be wary of the noise potential!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #67 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel. It oouzes style from its art deco dark sultry reception to the bedrooms right out of Madmen. This place had style, the likes of which is very difficult to find elsewhere in an age where most hotels seem to have ordered their rooms from the same bog standard catalogue. As for location , your right at the end of temple bar near Christ Church Cathedral. You couldn't ask for better. I will add a health warning, there is a bar beneath the hotel which is open till 3am so if you get your head down early maybe go and check out Ballsbridge, it can get a little noisy. Otherwise you have a bar downstairs open till 3am!!! Plus you have all the other cool bars in temple bar to check out! I will definately stay here when next in Dubs.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel and were very happy there. It is in an excellent location. We arrived very early in the morning and despite this we were able to get into our room within an hour. The staff were at reception were very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: We did have lots of aircon/fan noise which meant we couldn't open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here at the start of our 25th anniversary trip through Ireland and the UK. We paid 99 Euro/night on Booking.com and that included breakfast. We were extremely pleased with all aspects of our stay. The tasty breakfast was a made-to-order Irish breakfast with a buffet of yogurt, fruit, etc. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. It was warm and humid the first day or two we were in Dublin, so our room tended to be quite warm at night. But you can't really avoid that problem anywhere in Ireland. The staff at the front desk was consistently helpful. And we took the Airlink bus from the airport and only had to walk a short 2 blocks or so to get to the hotel. If you want to stay in the Temple Bar area but are concerned about noise, this is the place for you! It is right at the beginning of Temple Bar, but far enough removed to avoid the noise and crowds.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brinkleybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for one (Monday) night.

The good:
Location is great, very central. Parliament Street also has several great value restaurants. Staff seemed nice.

The bad:
The NOISE! Now, most reviews have mentioned this, but the scale of it still took us by surprise. We were on the first floor, directly over the Turk's Head pub and the street. Fortunately, we didn't get back until after the pub below closed, so missed the booming music reported by others. The oppressive heat in the room required us to keep the window open and we as well have been sleeping in the street such was the level of noise until after 4am (on a Monday!). I had brought earplugs so this wasn't a massive issue. However, even the earplugs couldn't block the godawful racket of the delivery of beer kegs to the pub below - which started at 7am! The building site across the road (about 10 feet from our window) started working shortly after. So no sleep after 7! I had specifically requested a quieter courtyard room so can only assume the staff deliberately allocated us one of the noisiest rooms in the hotel, perhaps as we had got a very good rate through a third party company.
Accommodation in the room was adequate but the room itself was in a sorry state, with peeling paint and bizarre stains everywhere, and a weirdly hot bathroom with an asthmatic fan.

The Paramount may just about make sense if you are planning to stay up all night, but forget it otherwise. And only go if you get a cheap rate!

Room Tip: Room 108 - noisiest room on earth?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drzava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel both at the start and end of our trip to Ireland. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. This hotel is close to everything. All the pubs and restaurants in Temple Bar, bus stops and plenty of shopping. I see a lot of visitors complain about the noise and I agree it's noisy, but people you are in Ireland and especially Temple Bar! It was a small price to pay for the location.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for a room away from the strip if you want to cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeygators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at Paramount Hotel 2 separate times during my 2-week trip throughout Ireland in August 2012. Both times the hotel, staff and decor of the rooms were great. The location of the hotel in City Center almost can't be beat. The downside : This hotel is located in the middle of the bars and with no air conditioning or fans in the rooms during summer months, you will most certainly need to keep your windows open for cooler fresh air. The noise of the bustling city and partiers continued until 4 am on average. I'd read a post, prior to my trip, that suggested bringing ear plugs for night time sleep. I'd concur.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor, facing Christ's Church for a slightly quieter nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frndlychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It may be central but it was twice the price of the other hotel that I stayed in around the corner (and without any views to speak of). The breakfast room was in a cordoned off section of a dingy large bar/club that was closed by day. The lighting was so bad that I couldn't read the paper at breakfast and the full breakfast was also double the price of that offered in the light filled, corner situated restaurant at the Harding!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the lesser the street sounds of gangs of drunken revellers that festoon the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 152 in Dublin
2,361 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 152 in Dublin
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 152 in Dublin
1,238 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 152 in Dublin
2,412 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $95 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing