We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really charming, quaint hotel with a Mad Men feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
South East
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really charming, quaint hotel with a Mad Men feel”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

When you arrive at this hotel you'd be forgiven for thinking it might not be the best inside, the outside is quite humble and modern. We entered and were mesmerised at the classy foyer, really tastefully decorated. The staff were a bit hit and miss with some being amazingly helpful and others just there to keep the wolf from the door. The rooms are a tad on the small size we were lucky that we were given a corner room which seemed a bit bigger.
Walking into the room the dark wood and rich colour schema makes the whole place seem very oppulent. There's lots to see and do nearby something for everyone. Would def come back to this hotel, great location, great bargain and a really nice find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poptart007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    643
    262
    72
    51
See reviews for
113
669
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spikkestad, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Arriving the Temple Bar area all of us 3 couples felt curious. Our expectations were at the higher level. We choosed Paramount Hotel because it was centrally located. Entering the hotel we felt immediately like home. Kind and serviceminded treatment by the frontdesk, really cosy rooms.... and the best, we stayed in the heart of Tempel Bar areas body :-). Walking around in the evenings by the romantic bridges by the river, taking a nightcap in the restaurants, listening to the irish music, being treated like av member of the community....... it can´t be better being av tourist.

Room Tip: Be aware some noise from restaurant for some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sveinenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Have now stayed at this hotel twice, in 2011 & more recently in 2012. Hotel is a perfect location if you wish to visit the Temple Bar & especially if a night out round the area is on the agenda. Rooms are spacious, clean & tidy. Staff were excellent, allowing us to check in extra early due to an early arrival into Dublin & there is some noise from the street below but it was Dublin on a Saturday so if its a quiet stay wanted then the Temple Bar probably isnt the area for you! We however were keen to join the hustle and bustle of the bars below. Still managed to get a great nights sleep though once I eventually made it back to the room!

It also has a great bar the Turks Head beneath which has live music till 3 and hoards of very friendly people all wanting a party & a good time. A great weekend was had & would definately check in this hotel for a third time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemKS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had just the one night in the paramount hotel and its was just ideal. Nothing to fancy, good bed good showers and a good choice for breakfast in the morning in an excellent location on Temple Bar. Was a small mix up on check inn one of our two rooms was already in use by another guest who happened it to have the same first name (well at least that's what they told us and that's where the mix up came in), it was all sorted out fairly quickly. Hotel staff were good and nice. Parking was the only issue it's not so much the hotels problem just Dublin in general, 14.70 for one nights parking and that's after the hotel having a deal with the car park. But hotel itself would stay again no problem and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay for a couple of nights close to the centre of Dublin and the Paramount fit the bill. Room was quite small, but perfectly acceptable for a city centre hotel. Everything was very clean and well looked after. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was okay - apart from the porridge which was awful. You do eat in the pub/nightclub, so there is a bit of a stale beer smell about it. We would stay again should we come back.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the 'courtyard' has air con/compressor noise - but this is preferable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here last night. The pro photos looked a bit sharper than my room did. All clean and fine but nothing amazing. The big plus here is the location but I'd question if you really need to be right in Temple Bar anyway. I normally stay just of O'Connell St and its a nice walk to Temple Bar (and everywhere else). Anyway, I did not find the club noise or even the street noise a problem but my second floor room overlooked other rooms and a bunch of big fans which were a bit noisy. I also did not like my very hard bed and had a back ache in the morning. Otherwise for the price its fine, just will go back to my faves next time even if it costs a little more.

Room Tip: I would guess higher the better. Second floor overlooking the fans = noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A little bit expensive for what you are getting, as there are v little facilities in the hotel, Nice and clean though, perfect location for temple bar!

Room Tip: Ask for room 502, it had a balcony and was spacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiechurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
1,543 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#41 of 151 in Dublin
1,659 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,201 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing