We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take ear plugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #65 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Take ear plugs!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Maybe because it's an old building it sounds like the bed is in the street at night with the noise outside and the vibration of the music from the downstairs club. In the morning the creaky floorboards in the room above were so loud it woke us up. The location and price for the area are great but over the weekend we didn't get one good nights sleep because it was so incredibly loud on the second floor, ask to stay on a higher floor. The rooms were clean but the bed and the pillows were probably one of the worst I've ever slept on!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    642
    262
    72
    51
See reviews for
113
668
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and thought the hotel was ideally sited for exploring the whole of Dublin. Pretty much everything we wanted to see was within walking distance or at least easy to get to.

However, we had a room overlooking the street (the hotel's own bar and a nightclub). It was very noisy on friday and saturday night, especially as there is no double glazing. However, it was fine on other nights.

I thought the decor was good, but it is starting to look a little worn on closer inspection.

The front of house staff are fantastic!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Paramount Hotel for 2 nights from 7th-9th April, and had a fantastic time. Location is absolutely ideal for what we wanted...a lively weekend in Dublin. Hotel is located on Parliament St, smack bang in Temple Bar, with plenty of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops within the immediate vicinity. If you want a quiet break, do NOT book a hotel on Temple Bar!! It is the best district for nightlife in the city, and very busy, so you WILL find it noisy! We had no problems sleeping after passing out in the early hours, but I can definitely understand the comments of many previous reviewers. Any hotel in this area will be noisy at night, so if you want peace and quiet, just book elsewhere :-)

Staff were absolutely superb, really friendly and nothing was a problem for them...they kindly stored our luggage for us on our last day so we could enjoy our day without lugging it around with us. Upon our arrival they even arranged for our room to be ready earlier to we could check-in straight away.
We had room 109 which was lovely, really good size, and so modern, lovely crisp white bedsheets and clean towels every day. Hair-dryer, trouser press, and tea & coffee making facilities were very handy!

We stayed room-only so cannot comment on the breakfast. The hotel bar (The Turks Head) was excellent and served very reasonably priced drinks considering we were in Dublin! On Saturdays & Sundays all pints 3.50 between 12-8pm, and selected cocktails 5.00 which were lovely!

All in all we had an absolutely fantastic weekend and will definitely be returning to Dublin, and The Paramount Hotel, very soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The 1930s look doesn't mean old or outdated. Rather, the furnishing is elegant and the bedding clean. The room and bathroom spaces are more than adequate for two. There are fresh green apples at the front desk to take. The elevator produces some loud noises but it's still safe. Close to Temple Bar and across from City Hall and Dublin Castle, the location is convenient to walk to many spots, even at night. The airport bus stop is nearby. Two Queen of Tarts are nearby too. The Porterhouse nearby is a great pub / restaurant with actually tasty dishes. There's a nice and big gay/lesbian lounge a few doors down, and a gay dance club around the block too for LGBT travelers. There's also a straight dance club with bouncers standing outside nearby. However, the noise at night is at minimum. Overall this is a great accommodation worth coming back to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillTravelForStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few nights during our vacation to Ireland and although we were only in Dublin a few nights, they were a great few nights! We stayed at the Paramount Hotel, which although was a bit hidden and meant a short walk down cobbled stones with our bags it was an ideal location once we had checked in. And we didn't hear any late night noise from Temple Bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

A most enjoyable stay over st patricks weekend. The rooms were clean and comfortable plenty of hot water. Yes it was noisy in the very late evening but its temple bar the party point of Dublin so if you want a quiet evening dont book any hotel in temple bar. If your up for it then this is the place too stay all the staff we came into contact with were cheerful polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliee397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was incredibly lucky to find vacancy at this hotel as my brother decided to make a last minute trip to Europe over his Spring Break and wanted to go to Dublin for St. Patrick's Day. After searching the internet for multiple hours a day for two weeks, I finally found a triple room at this hotel. The location is perfect if you are in town to visit the bars. If not, you may find it loud. Again, it was St. Patrick's Day so my assumption is it was significantly louder than normal. We were on the fourth floor and could hear noise from the streets. It did not bother us as we were in town for the festivities also.

The triple room was adequate for the three of us. The room was incredibly large (Europe standards.. a bit above average US standards) with a large bathroom. If it hadn't been so pricey (St. Patrick's Day), I would have no qualms. Everywhere was expensive during this time so I can't really complain. I would not pay that price outside the holiday weekend however. You can probably get a better deal at a different hotel as there are many wonderful hotels in the city (I have been there several times).

The hotel is above a bar with a strong smoke smell. The hallways had a funky smell as well. To our relief, our room did not have any of these odors.

I'm very picky about hotels so I can't offer a strong recommendation. That being said you will likely be satisfied with your choice if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanel832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
1,536 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#41 of 151 in Dublin
1,653 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,190 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 151 in Dublin
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing