We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise makes it impossible to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Paramount Hotel has a good location, beautiful rooms, and helpful staff. But the noise during nighttime and early morning is going to be intolerable for all but the heaviest sleepers. I was planning to stay there for a week, but I wound up checking out after two nights and three changes of room since I'd been able to get almost no sleep. The music and drum beats from the nightclub on the ground floor were clearly audible even in the "quiet" part of the hotel, and earplugs weren't of much help in drowning out the bass-range sounds. On top of that, there was a colony of pigeons living on the roof of the building across from my window who started shrieking every morning at sunup.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jargo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Paramount. It was an excellent location with ability to walk to many bars and restaurants all within 5 minutes. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean but not huge. You could hear the bar a little bit downstairs, but I was on the 2nd floor and it didnt keep me up. Free wifi was nice. Overall we got great value for the money and would highly recommend this to anyone who is visiting Dublin and wants to be in the action.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdeps8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Great little Hotel, friendly staff and good value clean rooms. What makes this Hotel special is the location, it's right in Temple Bar and close to tons of great bars (especially for the Gay oriented bars) and lots of restaurants close by too. Amazingly fast (for a hotel) free wifi was the icing on the cake.
If I had to pick fault, the breakfast is lack lustre and of a lower standard than other 3 stars I've stayed in, but plenty places to eat close by so not a great problem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

A hotel with a very good location, very kind staff and good breakfast (we could choose from Full Irish, Vegetarian or Continental). I must say that when we arrived we were a little afraid about the noise (we read all the comments from tripadvisor). We received a room on the 2nd floor opposite to the bar. In one night we could hear some noise but it was insignificant, I didn't disturb at all our sleep !
The room was clean, the sheets and towels were clean and were changed every day. We also had hot water everyday and heat in the first days, afterwards the weather got warm so we believe they stopped it, but in the room wasn't cold.In the night we didn't use the extra blanket.
The wireless internet worked well and it was free.
Also the hotel was safe.

At cons it was the double bed which were 2 single mattresses and the small details like the window curtain from the bathroom which should be replaced with a new one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is a great hotel in Temple Bar area. The entrance is a bit tricky to find at first but this hotel is super clean and looks recently renovated. Professional staff. Rooms were clean, nice furniture, good beds. Bathrooms are modern and have good shelf space. The hotel is not beat up looking anywhere. As anywhere in Temple Bar it is a noisy area and the streets echo the late night partiers. WIFI was good and free! Check out the Italian Restaurants in the area. they are several EXCELLENT places like Il Boccaro and Botocelli. I may have butchered the spellings but it is close enough. LOL

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomertee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The location of this hotel is great! It is right in the thick of Dublin and it is easy to walk to many of the restaurants and bars. The hotel itself was also very nice, clean, and comfortable for the price.

The one thing to keep in mind is that because of the location, the hotel can get a bit loud. There is a really fun bar with live music downstairs and it goes late on the weekends. If you are looking for a nice quiet weekend you might want to look into other options.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jskessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I decided to book this hotel as it was right in the heart of the Temple Bar district so it was perfect for an evening of partying.

I travelled to this hotel from Dublin airport via the airport bus service which I found to be the cheapest and most efficient way to the hotel. The bus was also very easy to find. If you come out of the airport and take a left, you will find a collection of bus stands. Just look for the 748 stand (1st on the left). The buses leave every 10mins so you never have to wait longer than necessary.

A single ticket to the city centre costs 6EUR which you can either purchase on the bus or you can buy a ticket from the ticket machines near the bus stop. The journey into the centre from the airport was around 20mins. The stop you need for this hotel is O'Connor Bridge. Tell the bus driver that you need Temple Bar and he will let you know when you need to get off.

After getting off the bus, I then had the task of finding the hotel, which I found to be quite difficult as you are dropped off just short of Temple Bar. So you will need to ask directions to the Temple Bar area or if you run into trouble, don't keep walking around - just jump in a taxt and it will only cost you around 5EUR.

Once I got to the hotel, I found the entrance hard to find. The hotel is basically above a bar called the Turks Head. So once you get to the bar, walk around the corner to the left of the street and you will find the wooden revolving doors for the hotel.

I arrived around 11:30 and was able to check straight in despite the later check-in time of 2pm. I found the desk staff very helpful so good first impressions so far.

The hotel itself was a lot older than expected with carpet pretty much everywhere, long narrow corridors and creeky floors. Upon entering my room, I found it to be exceptionally clean and comfortable with the heating on. The bathroom was also spotless so that was a plus. I booked a small room which I found had no minibar, which was a disappointment as I was absolutely starving! I ordered a quick bite from the menu instead. The food was actually very nice and so was the wine :-)

From then on, I didn't spend much time in the hotel. I arrived back around 1AM and found that there was some noise coming from bars/clubs outside, but this didn't really bother me. Most of the reviews commented about the noise, but then why choose to stay in Temple Bar if you want peace and quiet?!

All in all, this hotel made for a lovely trip to Dublin. I would definitely return at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_abi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
970 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,209 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,374 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Temple Bar

Address: Essex Gate, Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#62 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $109 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Dublin's thriving Temple Bar area and within close proximity to Dublin's main shopping districts, tourist attractions and public transport systems. 2km (approx 20min walk) to the brand new National Convention Centre & O2 concert arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Dublin
Paramount Dublin
Dublin Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing