We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day tour”
Review of Collins Day Tours

Collins Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.43*
and up
Wicklow Mountains, Glendalough and Kilkenny Day Tour from Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full Day Tour to Wicklow Mountains, Glendalough and Kilkenny including Wicklow Gap. Lakes, Mountains and a Medieval City ! Professional Approved Tour Guide and Coach driver. Walking Tours in Glendalough and Kilkenny included.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Day tour”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived by plane on nthe morning of the tour and Graham from Collins worked hard to make sure we were able to make it to the bus on time. The bus was very comfortable and afforded our children age 12 and 14 (and us ) an excellent opportunity to sleep in between stops as we were tired from our overseas flight. The tourgide named either MAria or Marla was excellent and really knew her "stuff". she began with a quick tour of dublin city followed by an excellent commentary in the beautiful Wicklow county and Glendalough area. We then stopped at Kilkenny where you have a choice to go on a walking tour with Marla (or Maria) or go on a tour of Kilkenny Castle. We chose the castle and were very happy as it is really beautiful and or tourguide Sean was excellent. Kilkenny is also a beautiful city to walk around and do some shopping. The 25 euro charge is truly a bargain for the value you are receiving.
In summary, I highly recommend Collins day tours>

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank almiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,256
    130
    14
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Despite very poor weather on the day, this was a great day out! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining, the couch was very comfortable and spacious, the driver was friendly.....everything was great! Good value

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ganeesh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glendalough and Kilkenny”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our tour day was rainy and misty and snowy and chilly but that added authenticity to our overall experience of Ireland. Our guide, Sean, and our driver, Martin, were terrific and the walking tour of Glendalough was beautiful and mysterious even in the rain in the middle of the day! In Kilkenny you could go on the walking tour of the town with Sean OR the tour of the castle but there was not time for both. We would have liked to do both but since we were unable to visit Dublin Castle we opted for Kilkenny Castle. Very interesting and well worth it. One word of caution - the food venue above the Kilkenny Design Center right across from the castle was disappointing. But the items for sale in the Design Center were beautiful and reasonable and very interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful way to visit Glendalough & Kilkenny”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Six months ago during the summer, my family and I toured these two sites on our own, which gave us an idea of the history behind Glendalough and the Kilkenny Castle. However, coming back and taking this day tour with our wonderful and extremely knowledgable guide Sean was definitely worth it. My favorite part of tours is learning the little anecdotes and background stories attached to buildings and locations that you wouldn't necessarily hear about from a tour book--and this we heard aplenty, especially during the walking tour of medieval Kilkenny. There, I learned the stories behind buildings that perhaps I saw when I was there before, but never actually noticed. I highly recommend this tour, most particularly for people who want to see and learn more than you would if you were just touring Glendalough & Kilkenny on your own.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank galadriel2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you only have a few days in Dublin and are looking to complement your visit with a day in the country side, plus medieval Kilkenny, this is it. Our knowledgeable and friendly guide Sean Patrick and driver Dermot made the day a wonderful experience, and we enjoyed conversations over lunch. This gives you a glimpse at the stunning scenery of Ireland, wanting to come back for more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collins Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Collins Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing