We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of Oil Can Harry's

Oil Can Harry's
Ranked #448 of 2,591 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Steeped in history, Oil Can Harry’s has been as much an attraction as it has been a busy traditional Irish pub serving only the finest food and drink in the heart of Dublin’s fair city for over 100 years. The list of regular customers over the last 100 years is as long as it is distinguished, including Generals, Statesmen, Writers, Poets and the odd Rock Star all mixing freely with local faces. Today is Oil Can Harry’s serves a full food menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner along with a huge range of traditional brews, craft beers, Irish whiskeys and an extensive wine list. We are also delighted to offer a range of set menus and group hospitality packages for larger groups wishing to visit us. Groups for Corporate Hospitality, Private Functions or Aviva Stadium Events will be well looked after here with us in one of Dublin’s most unique venues. And of course you can expect all the live sporting action on our various Big Screens throughout the building.
Mannum, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Horrible weather outside, and as soon as we walked in the door it was lovely and warm. Staff were cheerful and friendly and we had a lovely meal,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    35
    9
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a good lunch here -fish and chips and enjoyed their free WiFi!
The food was good, atmosphere fun, srvice good and free wifi - what moe could you want!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“True Irish hospitality”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We popped in here on route to town for the final night of our Dublin break. We were met friendly bar staff who showed us to a large table and we never moved for the rest of the evening. The friendly waitress took our orders and after half an hour bought out a tray of complimentary hot finger food (chips, goujons etc etc). Impressed, we ordered more drinks and cocktails and spent time trying to identify the famous Irish men and women that were on the frieze on the wall. Eventually we ordered food.The meaty dishes (bangers & mash, stew) were really wholesome and nice, but my friend and I were left disappointed by the rather lack lustre carbonara. All in all though, a great night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“warm and friendly”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

stopped in after a day touring and was readily welcomed. ordered the stew, beet-goat cheese salad, bangers and pints! Food was great, yeah its irish food but it was fresh, home made and the salad and other items adds a different flare that helps vary the menu. Owner was friendly and took the time to talk with his patrons. Lots of rooms so you can get as quiet as you need to be. Will go back again. I rate the outdoor seating as average since it is upstairs, nice but no view and yes Irish weather can be chilly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank biskaduros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pub food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great proprietor and friendly later at night. The food was good but not great, the beef stew was fine, the hamburger only OK....Nothing too extraordinary....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stubonedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oil Can Harry's also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Oil Can Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing