We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A DUMP”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croke Park View Guest House
Ranked #73 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A DUMP”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night freezing cold,no curtains on one small window and curtains on other window all mildew marks was afraid to get into the bed just appaling in this day and age and not cheap a hostel would be better. The only good thing is the location to Croke park but Id rather have walked for 2 hours than stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiescan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    5
    21
See reviews for
8
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

On Friday 20 July 2012, I made a provisional on-line booking (via Booking.com) for a room at the Croke Park View Hotel, Dublin (Tel 00353 18570092). The reservation documentation showed that cancellation would be “free” until 23:59 hrs on that date - 20 July 2012. I had made another provisional on-line booking for a room at another Dublin hotel for the same date and needed further time to decide on which hotel was most suitable for my needs. Having decided that the alternative hotel was most suitable, on Friday 20 July at 22.11hrs I phoned the Croke Park Hotel to ask for my provisional booking to be cancelled. I spoke to an "employee" who said that he didn’t know how to cancel a booking and asked that I call back the following day when “his boss” would be available. I explained that the free cancellation expired at 23:59 hrs on 20 July and that I needed action taken on my request without delay. However, he continued to say he didn’t know how to help me. I asked for his name for reference purposes – to cover a scenario such as the situation I was now in - but his name was not forthcoming. The employee was unable (or unwilling) to pass me over to another colleague who might have been able to assist me. My bank account was debited with a €79 cancellation charge. I e-mailed both the hotel and Booking.com pointing out the full facts of the case and asking that the matter be reconsidered. Hotel has NEVER responded but Booking.com advised me that they had taken the matter up with the Hotel but they were unwilling to refund the charge - mercenary lot or what?!! Vote with your feet - avoid!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamSenior122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is awful. Don't even know what to call it. They made us think on booking.com that it was a hotel and it was a b&b type. Service was awful. So rude swore at us all the time. Did not accommodate us when we had 4 people instead of 3. He said he there was no more rooms but we had one of his house all to ourself. It's far from the bar and all the worst areas bad location danger. I do NOT recmmondend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hehejsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this B&B. Our bed sheet was dirty and the breakfast was horrible.
We couldn't pay by card, as the credit card machine wasn't working, the owner didn't seem to care at all about the quests comfort. We asked to have breakfast early (7.30am) but when we got down to the kitchen he said serve yourself as he was on the phone for over 15 minutes. Also there is sign in the kitchen - clean after yourself!!! very bad experience in overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bringa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked this place at the last moment, as this was only one of two hotels available during the dates needed. We had no idea what to expect, and it was an initial shock. We were met in the middle of the night by the proprietor, a kindly man from Sri Lanka. He was very helpful and accommodated our every request. He and his son made us breakfast every day, and were quite nice.

Our biggest complaints were that the room wasn't super clean when we checked in, he wanted us to pay in cash (despite it clearly stating that they accepted credit cards on booking.com), and that the whole house smelled like eggs when he made breakfast in the morning.

On the whole, not an unpleasant experience, but I will definitely pay closer attention to all of the detailsnext time I book!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshnjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on night of July 12th. I arrived very late - 11.30pm - and recieved a nice warm welcome at the door before being shown to my room. The owner carried my bag up and promised to wake me at 7am and he did so. There was no hair dryer in the room so I stuck a note on the door at midnight to asking for one and it was there at 7am when I got up. The room was basic but clean and the shower was good and hot. Breakfast was freshly cooked with a big glass of orange juice - all made and served by the owner. He ordered a taxi for me and it arrived exactly when requested. For €59 euro for a large room to myself and a good fry up - I thought it was good value for money especially as it is very near Croke Park and the city centre only about 15 min walk max.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very few good paints: Close to Croke Park (which was ideal as we were over to attend an event there)
Easy access to city centre - 20 min walk or 2 min walk to bus stop

However, far more negatives:
For 100 euros, was NOT up to scratch.
Took 10 mins to get an answer at the door (had to ring them to answer on 2 occasions)
Booked triple room, only got a double bed. No apology/offer of refund or different room.
Not in main building - 10/15 houses down road - never staff around.
Awful decor (yellow & purple walls, green bedding and blue curtains) & missing skirting boards
Woodlice on floor (when I complained I was told it was "because it is so hot") No apology whatsoever!
Window in bathroom didn't lock.
No toilet paper left for us - had to get from other guests as staff not around.
Rude staff - told to check in at 3pm though website says 2pm "has 15 rooms to clean so what do I expect"
Woken up 9am TWO HOURS before check out to be asked when we were leaving.
Would be reasonable if VERY cheap, but not up to scratch for prices charged.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicci_b84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#38 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbington House B&B
Abbington House B&B
#117 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acara House B&B
Acara House B&B
#66 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Purcell House, All Hallows College, Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croke Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croke Park View Guest House

Property: Croke Park View Guest House
Address: Rere of 75 186-188 Clonliffe Road, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Croke Park View Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Croke Park View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing