We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”

Moloughney's Restaurant
Ranked #301 of 2,591 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were served by Geraldine and she was fantastic!

Pig cheeks and chicken pate to start were tasty. Maybe a bit more bread was needed as there was a lot of pate! However we nabbed some home made bread from the bread basket which was really nice. Mains were good; confit duck leg and lamb although lamb was a little bit chewy! Portugese Douro was a win. Price was reasonable. I think we had dessert but I can't remember!

Really nice place with a good atmosphere. Summed up our trip to Dublin - full of nice people.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank extased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    102
    31
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“glorious food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

glorious food, baby and child friendly, near clontarf promenade. well worth a visit for breakfast, lunch or just dinner. they often have deals for special occasions, eg valentine's night. classic irish alongside american pancakes on breakfast menu, immaculately executed dinner menu, with flavours to exclaim over. a north side gem. you might get a table, book ahead

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fionadaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“only wine was good”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was very average experience. The food was blunt, chicken liver pate ok but main pheasant with square cut potato wasn't tasty at all. My boyfriend wasn't impressed with his hake as well. We didn't go for any desert as starter and mains were enough disappointment and we didn't eat properly all day.The place was packed and noisy with strange service. Strange i mean they were too nice and chatty, kind of showing themselves. Back at home we agreed that the bottle of Italian was good:-)No atmosphere and harmony between food, service and decor. I won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matahari0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great meal Party of 9 adults + 2 Children”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a family occasion on a recent Friday night. Could not have picked a better location. Atmosphere,service ,and friendly staff made it a night to remember. The food supported the night. All ordered from their meal for 2 + wine and all thoroughly enjoyed the evening. This is our third/fourth time to eat there and it has never failed.Would most certainly return and I would list it as one of my favorite restaurants on the Northside

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueblue611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a fabulous meal here last night. The restaurant is warm and cosy. The staff were friendly and attentive. I had baked plums and mozzarella to start, wild rabbit for main - which came in a delicious rich sauce and then we shared baked plum mess for dessert which was delish! The price was very reasonable and we will definitely be back. Best meal i've had in ages in Dublin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moloughney's Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Moloughney's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing