We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

A comfortable find in a handy location for us. Teresa was extremely helpful in giving us recommendations and directions for local attractions and services. She arranged a taxi and an early breakfast for us on our departure. This took off stress for us meetin up with our tour early in the morning. We learnt from expereince that Dublin buses do not take notes and give change. A difficult start until coin is accumulated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussfTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    27
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
55
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Oaklodge and my brother and his wife did as well. We had a tough time finding it with the directions we brought from the AAIreland website, mostly because the streets are frequently not marked at all. Maybe a GPS would have been better, but we heard some stories about this not being true either. In any case, the local police got us pointed in the right direction and some friendly locals helped us as we walked toward St. Stephen's Green, looking at our map and probably looking confused as well. Once we parked the car, it stayed there until we left two days later. Teresa gave us good advice about local eateries, and her breakfasts were terrific. We were so grateful that she left us some breakfast on the morning of our departure when we had to be out of the B&B by 6AM. The rooms are large, with lovely high ceilings and larger bathrooms than we were used to in Ireland. The WIFI service was good as well. The only drawback is that you will have a long walk in to the town center, so unless you plan to take a cab, wear comfortable shoes and head to St. Stephen's Green to catch the hop on, hop off bus for some sightseeing. Don't miss seeing Killmainham Gaol. Take a guided tour to really appreciate the place. Trinity College also has a nice student lead tour that includes a pass to see the Book of Kells. The Guinness tour is pretty lame. It is not a brewery, but you do get some nice city views from the bar at the top.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at Teresa's B&B in May 2011 and overall we found the B&B to be just okay. It was good value for the money but there are a number of areas that Teresa could implement to improve your stay. The decor of the room that we stayed in was dated. There was too much furniture, the television was old and the carpet needed replacing. The breakfast could be improved by providing pitchers of juices that the customer could pour themselves as opposed to just giving out one small glass of juice. Also, Teresa should provide more choices for meals. Like french toast, waffles and pancakes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Dublin but a few minor improvements could greatly improve our stay and make this a first class B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Meist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
I am surprised at this review as my rooms are updated regularly and I am constantly being complimented on their decor. I only have enough furniture in them to ensure my guests comfort. I will have to agree with regard to the televisions but am replacing them at the moment. My carpets have been replaced recently. I have a varied breakfast menu and am prepared to offer a substitute if a guest cannot find anything to suit them. I will take on board the suggestion with regard to the pitchers of juice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

we stayed at oaklodge 4 days, it is a great bed and breakfast, teresa the owner is very nice, it is very charming, well situated, quiet and very clean and great breakfast too!
I highly recommend it !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here on a few occassions. What prompted me to write this is one occasion in particular which was the weekend of Take That concert in Dublin. I had stayed in a Hotel in the city centre the previous night with friends and then stayed here the night after. In comparison to the Hotel this B&B is quality. The quality of the bed linen alone was SO much better than the hotel. The breakfast was lovely as always but the fruit salad has to get a mention - it was fresh and plentiful. I hadn't stayed in a B&B in years and my experience of this one has opened my eyes. Since staying here I have learned to make sure to stay with approved B&Bs. They can be a LOT BETTER than some hotels and for me this one definitely is.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tipplady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

A lovely home in a charming neighborhood. The simple furnishings are tasteful -- not dripping with Victorian knick-knacks -- and the Oaklodge provided everything we hoped for from a good B&B. Teresa Muldoon is a gracious host and runs her establishment like a well-oiled machine.

The B&B is some distance from the city center (Trinity College, etc.) This concerned us initially because we were without a car. However, Teresa was happy to provide us with a current city bus schedule. This proved to be a very pleasant and economical way to get around town. The B&B is only a short walk to the bus stop, where we never waited more than 10 or 15 minutes to catch the next ride.

By the way, while staying at the Oaklodge, we had dinner at the nearby McClocksky' Pub. EXCELLENT food! Best we had in Ireland. We also enjoyed strolling in Herbert Park, just down the street, where we were invited by the locals to join in a game of lawn bowling. Really a friendly place.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Oaklodge B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daysandusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here as we were going to a concert in the RDS which was only 5 minutes walk away.
The room was spacious and clean.
There was a good breakfast. Be aware the breakfast is served up to half nine.
Parking only for 2 cars in the drive way. If parking on the street, be aware that permit parking is operational and to remove a clamp will cost €65 to be removed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donegalgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaMuldoon, Owner at Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments to Donegalgaa. I know you enjoyed your stay with us.
In relation to parking. While I only have two off street car spaces I can supply alternative parking. Car spaces are not often required in the city as most people prefer to use public transport and we are within walking distance of the city and all amenities. If the spaces are occupied I give complimentary parking tickets for parking on the street so no worries about clamping or expensive release from same.
Regards
Teresa (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andorra B&B
Andorra B&B
#14 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#5 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oaklodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Pembroke Park | Ballsbridge, off Clyde Road, Dublin D4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklodge is a superb Victorian residence situated in Dublin's prestigious Ballsbridge area. It is within walking distance of vibrant Stephen's Green and the famous Grafton Street. Experience the thrill of walking down Dublin's main shopping thoroughfare with it's elegant shops, tour the city's many museums and galleries or just soak up the atmosphere and charm of Ireland. No matter what you decide to do Oaklodge is the ideal place to stay for a short break in Dublin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing