We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gibson Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,998)
Filter reviews
4,998 results
Traveler rating
3,124
1,360
336
110
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,124
1,360
336
110
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelattending a concertcity centrepoint villagerelaxation areamodern hotelport tunnelluas stoptram linebar foodthird floorexecutive roomfollowing morningwould highly recommend this hotelhotel barvisiting dublino'connell street
Filter
Updating list...
4,497 - 4,502 of 4,998 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for the meat loaf concert in the o2, what a hotel, everything was excellent, from the rooms to the meals, i have stayed in many hotels around europe but this has to be the best, would highly reccomend to anyone, the 02 is right outside the front door as well as the luas tram service that can have you in the city center in 5 minutes, the meals and the service was of the highest of quality

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Mick073,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to the team. If you are making a return visit to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie if I can be of any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

The Gibson hotel is without doubt one of the best European City hotels I have stayed in. The rooms were so Large, Clean and Modern that it was like home from home. The walkin shower was a welcome event after a long journey, and the Super kingsize bed was just scrummy. It is situated right next door to the O2 and I thought this might be a bit of a problem with noise, but with the double glazed windows never heard a thing. Very easy to get to the centre of Dublin by Tram situated next to the Hotel, just 10 Mins Away.

The food in the resturant is fantastic, and in the Summer it must be nice to just sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the day go by.

I always look for something not right with a hotel, but in this case couldn't find a thing. Even the price of £340 for a 4 night stay was a bargin.

Overall top class hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear GaryEngland,

It was great to read such a positive review and I have passed your comments on to all the team. You're right about the balcony, we can't wait for the summer when our guests will be able sit on the terrace or in one of our courtyards, sipping a cocktail and enjoying the views of Dublin. Unfortunately our outdoor spaces haven't been getting much use lately with all the cold weather. You'll have to revisit us in a few months to experience the Gibson in the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel. Once again thank you for your feedback, please feel free to contact me with anytime at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Pros:
The Gibson is perfect for concerts in the O2. and Luas at your door.
Lovely reception staff, couldn't have done enough for us.
Nice rooms with everything you need
Good food (not breakfast)
Good value
Cons:
Breakfast is very over priced for what you get.
Bar staff need more training - new hotel so this will get better with time.
Window in room that you can see into the bathroom - maybe some frosted glass would be better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meluia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear Meluia,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We are currently reviewing our Breakfast offering in terms of selection and price, while we do get complemented on our breakfast buffet we listen to our all our guest's feedback and take it on board. We hope to welcome you back to the Gibson in the future. Please feel free to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie at any time if you are returning to Dublin & I would be delighted to assist you.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Nice location, clean rooms with good service. Parking is not cheap but it is safe and secure. My main crib was the Wi-Fi which I had several attempts at getting on and eventually gave up. Overall a good stay despite minor inconveniences above.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul29163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear Paul29163,

We were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback on the parking and Wi-fi. As the Gibson does not have its own car-park we have a negotiated rate with the car-park in the Point Village which is directly below the hotel. Their normal overnight rate is €30.00 but we offer our guests a rate of €14.00 for 24 hours. We endeavour to inform all of our guests of this charge at reservation stage. Apologies for the fact that you had some trouble with your wi-fi connection. Being a new building, we do have excellent connectivity with fibre optic cabling throughout, and can boast of the highest broadband speeds of any hotel in the country, my apologies again, however, that this was not the case during your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gibson Hotel in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Right on the river Liffe trams start outside the hotel, 50 yards from the Pand O port entereance, opposite the O2 center. Classy hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerramjet365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dminihane, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear Rogerramjet365,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Gibson. We pride ourselves on giving a classy product at affordable prices. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me directly at dminihane@thegibsonhotel.ie if I can be of any assistance to you. Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Donal Minihane
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews