We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple stays”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Multiple stays”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Gibson for a couple of gigs in the O2 in 2014.
Couldn't be any closer to the venue, rooms were lovely, room service great too. Really enjoyed our stay each time.
Will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear SaraH223,

I am delighted you have stayed with us on several occasions when you haven been to the o2 arena on concerts nights. I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I have shared your lovely words with the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,930
    1,247
    296
    91
    56
See reviews for
595
2,061
150
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed in the Gibson last week for one night - a girly getaway! We loved this hotel, couldn't say a bad word about it. The location is amazing the Luas stop is just outside the door! And is literally a stones throw from the O2. We ate lunch in it which was really great and breakfast is one of the best I've had. Sometimes with a buffet breakfast you find things aren't fully cooked or like they are swimming in grease, not here. The room well the whole hotel was fabulous really nice decore, and the room itself was really spacious. We had a twin room.
We will definitely return to the Gibson for our next girly trip to Dublin

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Bridann H,

I am delighted to read that your girly getaway at the gibson hotel was an enjoyable one and found all aspects of your stay to be excellent. I want to thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. Everyone here at the hotel is very appreciative of your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and we chose the hotel primarily because it is extremely close (ie. right next door) to the O2 arena, and wow what a great choice! On check-in we were told that we had a complimentary upgrade and had a huge room with a balcony, sofa and chairs, and a huge bathroom and wardrobe area. The design of the hotel is great, very modern chic and actually practical and comfy, the rooms are extremely well thought-out. We have stayed at some 'design' hotels which look great but aren't actually very functional/comfortable.

Some things we really liked:
- empty fridge in the room instead of a mini-bar (there is a vending machine in the corridor instead with alcohol and soft drinks, a can of coke etc is EUR 1.50 so not too expensive!)
- beds are huge and really comfy, we slept really well
- housekeeping staff do an excellent job - the hotel is immaculate throughout and our room was spotless
- all staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially the front desk
- mint and lime infused water at reception
- we ordered room service late on Saturday and despite the hotel being really busy, we got our food quickly and it was really tasty (we had the sweet and sour chicken and asian platter).
- location is very handy for the O2, the airport bus, and the Luas tram stops outside the hotel making it quick and easy to get into the city centre. We used a 72hr Leap Visitor Card which worked out to be good value
- fast, free and reliable Wifi

We did eat at the Coda bar on our first night and despite the lovely atmosphere, the food wasn't quite up to the mark for the price (it reminded us of TGI Friday-style). Well presented, but this was the only part of our stay which was more style over substance.

Overall, we loved it here, and we were sorry to leave! Hopefully we will be back again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CoachBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear CoachBombay,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently here at the gibson hotel and for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on tripadvisor. I am extremely happy to read that you had and enjoyable stay with us and found all the staff and the hotel facilities to your satisfaction.

I am delighted also that you enjoyed the mint and lime infused water upon arrival as well as the hotels proximity to the o2 arena and the Luas line. I have shared your lovely words with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love this place!
Every time I visit Dublin I always stay here. It's clean, modern, great value & staff who are great at recommending things! An added bonus is that the luas line is right outside - great for getting to the city center & direct to Heuston train station so no lugging around of baggage required!
It is great for children & couples.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Rooms that look down onto the bar area are brilliant! Slightly larger & waterfall shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Michelle O,

I am delighted the gibson hotel has become your home away from home whenever you are in Dublin and I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. it really is encouraging to read such positive feedback when guests always come back because of the service they receive.

I have shared your fantastic feedback with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel is directly opposite the O2, with the luas directly in front for easy access to most of Dublin. Staff very friendly and helpful, with free salty popcorn (when the machine is happily working) with drinks from the bar. Rooms very spacious, quiet and sparkly clean. A fantastic luxury hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orbitlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Orbitlover,

I am delighted to read that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and that you found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was a great hotel to start our stay in Dublin! Just close enough to the city centre, but far enough away to ensure some quiet time in the evening. Convenient with the LUAS train right outside, as well as airlink bus and regular bus routes. Taxis are on call in the morning at the front door, no waiting! Great terrace on the third floor (reception floor) attached to the bar for smoking or just taking the air! Parking garage is excellent, brand new like the rest of the hotel, easy to access, just follow the signs, and be patient if youre not used to driving there yet.
Our room was modern, effecient, and luxurious! Windows open too to get some air. A/C system also very good.
The staff were really good and prompt with the little things, for instance, after i had called down for coffee satchets 2 nights in a row(had gotten them promptly both times), they sent up about a dozen, with all the fixings within 5 minutes or so!
All in all, rated 5 by me!

Ty Gibson Hotel staff, have a great summer!

Room Tip: We had a view of one of the inner courtyards, it was wonderful to look out on the trees and flowers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear jay a,

I am happy you chose to stay with us at the start of your stay in Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience of the gibson hotel on tripadvisor. It is pleasing to read that our high standards were met throughout your stay and I have shared your lovely words with the all the team. I hope you will come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Evans Sarpong
assistant guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh,scotland
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Whilst the surrounding area is a poor dockland area, the hotel and the transportation links are great.
From airport, purchase a Leap 72 hour unlimited travel card for 19.50 euro per person - this covers coach trips to and from the airport / trams /buses and and city centre trains.
747 airlink coach drops the hotel at stop one (o2 centre) and trams outside the hotel. These are quick and convenient.
Hotel is 4 years old and rooms good / staff pleasant / breakfast good at 10 euro Book night before or it will be 15 euro)
Would think hotel would be very busy if events on at adjoining 02 arena
Recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESarpong, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear jonlam,

Thank you so much for the review you have posted about your recent stay in the gibson.

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, that you found the team here pleasant and that our location was convenient for your stay.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare McGreevy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,439 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing