We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stay here!”
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gibson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just stay here!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ideal location, easy to access with public transport, wonderfully kept and extremely friendly staff. Lovely breakfast, with a large selection to choose from, served. The only down side to my stay was a shortage of bar staff, we stayed there for a concert on in the O2 and the hotel bar was very busy with only 2 staff on. It wouldn't stop me from going back there tho!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the gorgeous room and the welcome you received from the reception team.

We can not wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,926
    1,245
    295
    90
    55
See reviews for
594
2,057
149
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a 2 night package back in October for a birthday treat. Location is good, Luas tram stop outside the door will have you in city centre in around 10 mins. Everything else about the hotel is exceptional: large room, comfy bed, excellent staff, huge breakfast, modern bright and spacious.

Definitely worth contemplating this hotel to escape the city centre noise, yet be close to the action!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Positivitycorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Positivitycorner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a trip advisor review, reviews such as yours are important to our continuous development as they highlight areas where we are performing well, and more importantly, areas which may require some improvement.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have stayed here several times before a always found it to be a fine hotel. This time far too many niggly things going on to make it worth the hassle anymore.

Having booked a double room months in advance and specially mentioning it again at check in we were duly given 2 single beds. Walked always back to reception to be informed at the hotel was full due to Rod Stewart Concert miles away in the RDS and the " only rooms left were accessible ones"

No Issue with that except that the accessible shower flooded and we had to use all the towels to stem the water flow before it reached the carpet in the main bedroom.

The wife then went to use the hair dryer only to discover that there was a single mirror in the room and it was approximately 18 feet away from the nearest electrical socket. Flex on the hair dryer was approximately 3 feet long so as the yanks would say, you do the maths.

The free morning newspaper never arrived because check in lady had forgot to change room number when she changed our room from the two singles.

Barman informed me he couldn't access coffee at 12.30am so couldn't serve a requested Bailey's Coffee

What I would congratulate the Gibson on this time is that having pointed all of the above out to the check-out lady she duly apologised 3 times saying she was really Rory before putting her hand out for the €14 overnight car park charge.

No sign of any Goodwill nor customer service there and consequently will not return or recommend if to others as we have before.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for one night only but it was my 3rd or 4th time to stay at The Gibson and I have enjoyed each & every one of them.
Whilst I agree with some of the comments made by fellow TA reviewers that for those visitors wishing to experience the city centre atmosphere, it's location may be a little off the beaten track. However with the Luas available right outside the door, you can be in O'Connell street in a jiffy....and for just €2!

We held our 30 year nurses re-union recently in The Gibson Bar/Restaurant and a number of us stayed overnight in the hotel. All of our party were really impressed with the ambience, the food, the staff and the service.
I had been involved with the arrangements and found their events manager (Ise) particularly helpful during the booking process, she even reserved our table for us and made sure that we were all well looked after. Thank you Ise.

I noticed since my last stay that they frosted/opaqued the glass between the bathroom and the bedroom which affords greater privacy......... to the non exhibitionist!

The front of house staff were so welcoming and I loved the human very personal touch of shaking the guests hand across the counter on check in. I was welcomed back like a long lost friend to the hotel again. In fact, as I observed, they did it to all of their guests and I must say it is a very nice touch... so Hats Off to The Gibson...well done! I remain a very satisified customer and look forward to my nest stay with you.
Ps. Free Jelly bean sweeties and newspaper available at reception...that may swing the deal for you!

Room Tip: I stayed in a large family room on the 5th floor which overlooked an inner garden area. Very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Palestine,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

All staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was an excellent and tasty selection. Bar food was delicious. Location was isolated but only a short bus or tram ride to airport and city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyandMarktj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear HayleyandMarktj,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here from the 28th to 30th of June. As we were celebrating an anniversary, we got an upgrade and a beautiful surprise in the room. The staff were just so friendly and helpful.
The room was super (it was a junior suite), with a balcony and great views of the city. But all the rooms have a nice view and are just great. I know some people have complained about being able to see into the bathroom from the bedroom, infairness that takes a bit of contortion and, as we have travelled as a couple, that has never bothered us before. The bathroom in the junior suite is really big with a lovely bath as well as a separate rainfall shower.
This hotel is so handy for the city as the Luas stops right outside the door. A taxi from the Temple Bar area at night would cost about €10. There is secure car parking under the hotel. Whilst it isn't cheap at €14 for 24 hours, it is still very handy and good to know you car is safe.
Whenever we are staying in Dublin, we will always choose the Gibon as our first choice.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms I've stayed in have been lovely. If you want a view of the city, specify this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Olly K,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you most recent stay at the gibson hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next concert or leisure stay.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

All I can say is superb from the time we checked in to the time we checked out and the staff were excellent, the room was fantastic a very beautiful and modern hotel the luas stops just outside the door of the hotel I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j-pow-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear j-pow-09,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor, following your recent stay at the hotel.

I have shared your comments with the entire team here at The gibson Hotel and they are extremely proud to have made your stay such a memorable one.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,434 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: The Point Village, Dublin DUBLIN 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing