We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Food and Beverage
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the 6th time this past week and I think that statement in itself says it all. It's perfect if you're attending a concert at the O2 but with the luas stop being right outside it's also a great place to stay in Dublin even if you're not going to the O2. The hotel is spotlessly clean as are the bedrooms, the staff have always been very nice and I don't think I've had a nicer hotel breakfast. The only fault I've ever found was once I was given a room on the 3rd floor that opened out into the courtyard as did the other rooms on the 3rd floor facing this way, I wasn't comfortable with the idea that anybody from the other rooms could wander into mine if I had the door open so I have avoided that since then but even so I have no doubt I'll stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor that open into the courtyard for privacy reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noir87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear noir87

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the gibson hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,541
    1,042
    224
    74
    37
See reviews for
498
1,744
127
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

really nice hotel, well priced for city hotel and ideal if going to a gig in the o2 arena, car parking is provided in underground carpark, also luas runs from right outside the door. spotlessly clean hotel ultra modern and sleak. nice breakfast and amazing wetroom showers in the room.great hotel for exploring dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robkmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in a twin room and it was perfect! It's easily one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in! Stylish, ultra modern rooms with a massive shower and comfy beds! The Luas tram system is right outside of the hotel and and takes you into all the bits you need to get to (Temple Bar etc). The staff were friendly, especially Niamh who was really helpful, suggesting places for us to visit and eat. The bus to the Airport stops right outside to the left of the hotel so it's in an ideal place. All in all, an amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie_W_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Hollie_W_85

Thank you very much for such positive feedback on here and I am sure all the staff here at the gibson hotel will be delighted to read your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we patiently await for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Gibson is one of the best hotels in Dublin especially if you are going to the O2 to a concert. Spotless, lovely rooms and comfy beds and they do a great breakfast stayed there 3 times highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear maria c,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a trip advisor review, reviews such as yours are important to our continuous development as they highlight areas where we are performing well, and more importantly, areas which may require some improvement.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at The Gibson last week. What a great way to end our trip!

The hotel is very modern and airy. Our room was very big and extremely clean. It had tons of electrical outlets in very convenient places, perfect for charging all of the typical travel items you bring along these days. The huge windows let in lots of light and make the room feel even bigger. The bathroom is not huge, but it was not cramped. The shower is very big and has two different shower heads (regular and rain). Even though the hotel was quite busy, we never heard any other guests either in the rooms next to us or even the hallway.

We were a little concerned about the location being so far from the city center, but there was no need to feel that way. The LUAS stop (The Pointe on the red line) is directly outside the hotel. The city center is about a 7-10 minute ride. Side note: as of last week, round trip tickets were 3.70€ and one day passes were 6.40€ per person.

Access to/from the airport could not be easier. There is a stop for both the Airlink and Aircoach bus right outside the hotel to the left. The stop is the last one before the airport, so the ride only takes 10-15 minutes. As of last week, tickets were 6 and 7€ depending on which option you choose. One comes every 30 minutes and the other ever 25 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HIltonMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear HIltonMagic,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the gibson hotel. We can not wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a business trip with an overnight stay.
Its close to the airport (20 euro max for a taxi or you could hop onto one of the 'hop on' buses for 6 euro and its a 10 minute walk from the first bus stop. Don't do this if its raining or if you don't have a brolley)
The hotel prides itself on its environmental credentials and this is evident around the hotel
The restaurant offers a good selection of food and the quality is really good
10 euro's gets you a taxi into the centre of Dublin to enjoy all that the centre of dublin offers.
Its also right next to the O2 arena so if you are attending an event here this is where you would want to stay.
Rooms are very well appointed and do not disappoint
Would I recommend this hotel - yes absolutely

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Paul K,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of the gibson hotel with the trip advisor community, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at this property for weekend in Dublin. Its a little bit out of the city centre, being in what appears to be a new residential and business area.
However the tram is right across the street providing easy access to the main points of interest.
The property itself is clean and modern with all the amenities you could need for a weekend away.
As mentioned previously a triple room consists of two twins and a camp bed and once that is down the space becomes a little bit tight.
But overall it was a comfortable and pleasant and we found it good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDrV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,837 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
2.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#18 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,009 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Property: The Gibson Hotel
Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing